Creating A Basic Medicine Pouch

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Basic Medicine Pouch


unnamed.jpg

Click on the image to view full screen!


Many people ask me about my medicine pouch, and most of the time it is unheard of in the First Nation culture for someone to ask such a question. It is considered bad manners, but I can understand the curiosity so I have decided to write a post about one of my medicine pouches. Let me also say that this is not a hard and fast rule, there are some tribal people who are willing to share their perspective on what a pouch contains and its basic meaning.

When I did some research on the internet as to what people felt was included within a medicine pouch I found quite a bit of plagiarism. Most people are copying from each other the very same words and contents. Some of the information was accurate and some of it was not. What I write is from verbal teachings and those from a long line of medicine people.

I will not share what is in my the medicine pouch that was gifted to me nor its contents, these are considered private and for my own personal life journey. I will be sharing what I have personally made for myself and how you can make one too. For those of you who have never had the experience of seeing a medicine pouch then allow me to show you what the significance of a basic medicine pouch entails.

Basic medicine pouch explained

The medicine pouch is a small Native American pouch typically made of hide from a variety of different animals. I have even seen one made out of a turtle shell. Some people will choose a spirit animal shell or hide to bring the animal spirit medicine closer to them on their life journey. The pouch could be plain or decorated with beads, shells, bones, or crystals.

Traditionally, the pouch was plain in appearance and small so it would carry a person's small treasures. For a Native American, the pouch represents inner strength or Mashkawisen, personal harmony with a physical, spiritual, and supernatural way of life. A person can place whatever they would like inside their pouch, that is the beauty of making one's own bag too. It is not uncommon to place herbs, stones, animal hair or an animal’s tooth inside of a basic medicine pouch.

Historical spiritual beliefs about the medicine pouch

HIstorically, medicine pouches carried tobacco, cedar, and sweetgrass in order to give back to Mother Earth. This was a symbol and connection to the Creator. There might also be a small momento of a family member placed inside the pouch. It is believed that the medicine pouch holds supernatural powers and items are added related to a person's spiritual journey. To name a few items, there might be a stone one finds as they are walking in a desert on a peyote journey, a small idol that was carved and given as a gift, a bone from a lifelong animal friend such as a wolf, fur, healing roots, leaves from a favorite tree, or a feather from an eagle.

Whatever a person chose to place in the medicine pouch was commemorated with a ceremony. If you know any of my writing, then you know everything is about ceremony. There is usually a fast that takes place, along with several days of prayer and drumming. The location is usually remote and away from people, and the intention was to ensure a spiritual connection to reach a maximum potential. The custom tells us that the spirits would help each person to obtain items that would help a person grow in knowledge and growth.

There are those that believe a medicine pouch would help with every day tasks such as hunting, fighting, healing, protection, or altering weather. We have all heard of the Native American rain dance and some may have heard of the Moon Dance. In either case, the medicine pouch was believed to hold sacred powers and used in all matters of protection and prayer for all members of the tribe.

Page Break STEEM.png


unnamed-1.jpg

Click on the image to view full screen!


Basic items to add to your medicine pouch

As we discussed, we can put whatever we want inside of our pouch and because I tend to change out what I use at different times during my life journey I am willing to share some of my choices with you. My personal choices have usually stayed with some of the basic raw stones shown above.

From left to right is black tourmaline is said to bring protection, grounding, electrical, and energized the chakras to remain aligned. The second stone is a quartz from Tibet and the energy aligns with the physical body bringing healing and connecting the physical with the spiritual self. The third stone is a Kyanite and this stone helps with psychic ability, enhances telepathic communication, helps with lucid dreaming. The fourth stone is Amazonite that filters out stress, heals trauma, is a soothing energy, brings personal truth while communicating that to others. The fifth stone is Selenite and is called the "angel stone," and calls on the protection from the angelic realm, good luck, the stone clears, opens, and activates all seven chakras immediately from the crown to the root, and is excellent in all healing work.

EarthAnimalMineralPersonal
SageLock of HairStoneKey
SweetgrassBoneGemPhoto
CornClawCrystalCoin
SeedsToothArrowheadBullet

If you are debating the size to choose for your medicine pouch, it all depends on what you feel you want to put inside. The size can range anywhere from one inch by once inch or as large as 30 inches in length. There are no restrictions as to how to wear your medicine pouch, it can be work around the neck, placed in your pocket, backpack, work bag, or purse. By keeping the medicine pouch close to the heart is said to be in connection with your higher self and bring healing.

People like myself have a different medicine pouch or bag for different reasons. One can be for everyday, one for medicine work, one for protection, one to relieve stress, or one made for happiness. These are just a few examples. Get inspired and create what is right for you.

Page Break STEEM.png


unnamed.jpg

Click on the image to view full screen!


Basic herbs to add to your pouch

There are the basic First Nations herbs to add to any ceremony and these are a few. Sage, Palo Santo, Sweetgrass, Lavender, and Tobacco. The other herbs shown are a South American medicine man mix I was gifted, a tobacco Mix I call Eagle Spirit's special tobacco mix, and sage herb bundle that was gifted to me by a Native American medicine man. I use a variety of other raw incense too. Depending on the pouch I am making the mix varies.

Page Break STEEM.png

A few things to keep in mind is that the medicine pouch is a way to connect to our spiritual self and can be very powerful. Wearing it close to the heart is ideal and when creating our pouch we want to ensure we are in a positive mood and putting good vibes into the pouch during the opening and closing ceremony. If we are walking in nature or notice something that is calling our name, these are items that we may want to place in our medicine pouch. These items are a part of our energy that may help to empower us, heal, guide, or protect us and others.

If you have positive or constructive comments in regards to the basic medicine pouch please leave a comment below. I’d be happy to help answer your questions and/or assist you in making your very own medicine pouch. Peace.

All photos are the property of @eaglespirit, do not use without permission.


@EagleSpiritCommentUpvoteResteem.png

UP COM FOLL BORDER.png

Sort:  

thehearthcomment.jpg

Wow @eaglespirit, thank you for sharing this special information with us! What a gift you've given us. Personally I have made a medicine pouch and found that I made it very similarly to how you've described. I think it's important for people to have an idea of the way so that they can work with the energies discovered by people so long ago that are still alive and vibrant today, though many have forgotten. We've resteemed this @the-hearth, @mountainjewel's earth-centered curation page. We'd like to feature you in our weekly post; would it be okay to use one of your photos in that post with full attribution and links to you and this post? Thanks again so much! <3

Yay I got a @the-hearth! Than You so much, I love your tag and am so happy I got one :)

It’s the small things.

Ps. These are just that basics that I’ve shared, there Is much More to the process in Natuve American culture but its a good thing IMO to have one. Thank you so much for reading and commenting.

Blessings,

Eagle
xx

<3 yes of course! if you share more beautiful, practical posts like these, please tag us in the comments :) also, not sure if you saw, but can we use one of your photos in our compilation post this Sunday? (complete referral to your page & this post) :) thanks again for sharing this beauty with us. we honor that it's not the whole story, but it's such a good starting point :D! blessings to you too <3

Yay! I will definitely tag you as I do many posts like these, or have more to come. Yes you are free to use my photo for your compilation on Sunday. Thank you again for seeing me and coming by. Much happiness to you. xx

I have seen medicine pouches but never knew what was inside. I never asked. I think they do provide powerful medicine to those that wear them. I have learned much from your post. Thank you for sharing.

Yes it sounds better not to ask as it’s personal. Now you have better idea of what they mean. Yes they are very powerful. Thank you for stopping by and reading and commenting. Blessings.

I received a medicine pouch from a close friend after the loss of my firstborn. I knew it was an important gift, but reading this makes it all the more sweeter and heartfelt. ❤️

That is very kind of you to share such an Intimate experience and I honor you. Was your friend NA? If you place the pouch close to your heart, you will obtain healing. Blessings.

They have ties, but I don’t know to which tribe. Honestly never occurred to me to ask! I was so very touched by the gift. It was over four years ago, now, and it remains a treasured possession. And I have been very blessed, indeed; I have two beautiful rainbow children and so much that was ‘wrong’ in my life at the time was made right. ❤️

B6FB0BDA-89FE-41D2-8EC3-4F9C4C55BDDA.jpeg

Joan absolutely lovely and special. When you are feeling sad wear this around you’re neck. Thank you so much for sharing this very sacred item.

Great to see a fellow native on here.
I am from fort peck but I live on the Saginaw Chippewa Rez with my wife.
Will be checking out your posts

Hello brother! Yay my first fellow N8ve since getting on here 3 months ago! Now I’ll know I better make sure to speak right. LoL
That that I don’t. I always make sure to say just enough but not all our stories. It’s our way.
I’m 1/4 Hopi & 1/4 Apache. Living in Colorado and close with the Ute tribe, mostly the Sundance Chief.
Many blessings to you and I look forward to reading your blog. Steem on!

Every tribes is a little different with the traditional ways. I got a cousin that lives down that way. He’s Sioux/Assiniboine like me but married to a Navajo, anyways his daughters “the Martin sisters “ are pretty popular in the 4 cornersA5630BFB-1ADF-418D-9F45-8BDD7DA226CE.jpeg

It’s nice to meet you and keep up the good work.

Wow so beautiful! Thank you for sharing, this made my soul and heart so very happy.

I’ve also noticed you area very new person, a fine and loving name we call Noob. I have learned quite a bit while being on Steemit and would be happy to share what I know. Id like to bring you into a group that will help you’re account grow and you will gain exposure. Are you on Discord?

@minnowbootcamp this is a fellow brother in spirit of mine and id like to bring him to MBC.

I am on Discord, I am alway willing to learn. I am in a few groups on discord and I’m kind of feeling out the territory.
2F6D11C7-181B-4C46-84E3-A83112DE115E.jpeg

I can’t find you! Yes we all test out groups and stay or leave. Trust me when I say this one is golden. Look for me as Eaglespirit.

056E55E7-91F1-485C-B93E-C17B40E3669C.jpeg

Your post has been featured in this week's earth-centered curation @the-hearth.

Thanks for writing such fantastic and inspiring content!

Yay! This is so beautiful, and I thank you so much.

Blessings

This was very informative for me, I had no idea about medicine pouch before now. Also surprising to findout your deep knowledge about these things I thought it was an African thing with traditional medicine and belives. Now I know courtesy you. Thank you

Hello! No, most indigenous tribes have these similar traits and path. I have met plenty of indigenous people worldwide that share the same thoughts and feelings. Tibetans, Africans, Thai, South American, etc.
Thank you for reading and commenting, you are so kind.

Lovely post! You struck a good balance, I think, between explaining the topic without revealing too much. I have such a pouch, too, made from deerhide which I've had for 15-20 years and is one of my treasured items. Your post also gave me an idea of something I should add to it! 😊

Thanks Kitty regarding explaining but not revealing too much. LOL
Glad you have a pouch, when you reach the anxiety points place that around your neck near your heart and maybe wear it when you go out. It will keep you safe and give you comfort. Glad you will add something too. :)

Whoa, great idea post! Happy seeing your pouch, and learning your perspective. Somehow, I've managed to hold onto one for years, and nobody told me what it was for, but I innately knew. I've always worn it with sacreds inside, to feel a sense of security, entering a Journey.

This Is one of my pouches. :)
I have many, I use a totally different one for the medicine sessions and everyday as well as for different ceremonies.
Interesting you never opened yours pouci. Was it a gift? You only wear it when you go to journey? That makes total sense. Yeah sad to say ive lost two and they were beauties. I will Be gifted one next month at a sweat I go to every month. I will never open that one. The ones I’m
Gifted with I never open.
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and glad to have another person share their story. A’oo

This post has received a 7.38 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @eaglespirit.

Thanks for sharing this information—it was really interesting and wonderful to read. I have a small pouch a friend made me for protection during a difficult time, and I carry it with me when I'm feeling scared or uncertain.

Hey thanks for stopping by and enjoying my post. Glad you enjoyed the read. If your pouch is a comfort for you then that is a good thing. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43