Something I don't understand: people who don't want to retire 'cause they wouldn't know what to do...

in #life7 years ago

rat-race-2395779__480.jpg.

Everyone knows someone like this. The kind of person who works. A lot. And works hard.

They seem to have enough money - they have been working their whole life after all.

But when you chat to them about the next stage in life, they're all "I could never retire. I'd be dead from boredom within a month."

These are people who don't even love their job. It's a job. It's what they do. But it's hardly a calling - and they're hardly Stan Lee of Marvel fame, or Jim Henson, or J.R.R. Tolkien. Or Miles Davis.

These people are office workers, often complaining just as loud as everyone else about work after coming back from holidays.

I don't understand.

How can people be like that?

Are you like that? Maybe you can explain it to me.

For me, I have soooo many creative projects on the go, and more on the back-burner that I never have the time to get to, because so many of my days and the precious hours in them are taken up by work. And the remaining hours are devoted to home-life - nurturing Ms 8 and supporting my wife in her professional and personal life, and packing the dishwasher and cooking etc. And she (my wonderful wife) works just as hard for us.

The weekends we spend trying to live the lives we miss during the week at work.

Australians apparently work an average of 1693 hours a year (https://www.hcamag.com/hr-news/hours-worked-per-year--where-does-australia-rank-187713.aspx). That's a significant proportion of the 8000 odd hours we get every year. And many of us take work home with us, or stress about it when we're not there.

I almost envy those people who can't think of anything better to do with their time than business they don't like (to paraphrase Ian Dury's Sex and Drugs and Rock'n'Roll).

One day, I hope to retire to a life-style where I am fully engaged in the creative projects I so long to immerse myself in. Writing fiction. Writing music. Creating games. Singing and playing guitar. Living.

And I want to learn and practice Tai Chi - and become adept at it.

How can you be bored, not working?

I just don't understand.

✨ ✨ ✨

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

I don't really understand those people either XD I mean it would make total sense if they loved their jobs and it was their thing that they want to spend the rest of their lives doing.

I don't know how many people like that you might find on here though :D

goatsig

True that - steemit seems to be a seriously creative place :-)

Nice topic friend... Keeping yourself busy is the best possible way to avoid boredom.. And if someone keeps working he will definitely rise.. If one stops, it's like he is going back... Nice post. I am not getting good response in steemit... Yet I am trying.. Hope one day I succeed.

Hang in there! I really like your artwork!

Worker ants for the BANKSTERS

Couldnt agree more, tbh I don't even understand why people work. I mean I get that people want money, but money is meaningless. the world is so much prettier than anything you could ever buy. Jobs are soul crushing to me. And I have never understood the constant loop we put ourselves in. Working to live in a home we only sleep in before and after work. why?

There's the big question!
I guess I do it because I have a daughter - she's 8 - and she's the most precious thing in the world to me. I want her to be happy and safe and warm and all the good stuff, you know?
🌞

I can completely understand that. Once you have kids, you've gotta join the loop for their sake and often sacrifice your own dreams to support theirs, and I'll bet it's worth it. She's very lucky to have a father who loves her enough to endure soul crushing things to keep her childhood pure. I know everyone works, but for the artist's mind, work is often miserable unless its creative-based; which makes your sacrifice that much more meaningful.

Great topic mate. I'm as stumped as you and when you say "The weekends we spend trying to live the lives we miss during the week at work" you precisely describe how I feel about working life. Nothing against work, so long as it is on my terms.

I'd be so busy with my own projects in retirement that's for sure. Raising chickens, rising horses, new skills.... I'm making myself jealous of the retired version of myself! Hope you're on the mend & keep up the great work.

I have never worked in my entire life, so I don't really get it either.

I have never not worked in my entire life, so I don't get it either.

There is poem in there somewhere...

I cannot imagine retirement, because I haven't had a 'job' - for a couple of decades (and they were only temp jobs, while waiting for something).

I can't imagine anyone doing a lifetime job in an office without loving it (as bizarre as that sounds to me, personally).

I have never really been in the 'work place' (as I see it,) all seems a bit bizarre.

Living and working has been the same thing for me. (the concept of weekends is totally weird to me, for example).

If fact, I'll stop here.

I am probably the most unqualified person ever to talk on this post! 😂

Hahahaha 👍
It works for me.

It does seem to be exactly like that for certain people, I've met a few myself. The lack of personal ambitions definitely play a part I think.

Like you I too have countless projects on the go and so boredom is unlikely to be an issue (if anything frustration will be the biggest issue at the lack of available time each day lol) Having a committed Work life is fine, as long as it doesn't overwhelm your personal life; because what happens when the job is gone?

Good point :)
I hear stories of people who are dead within a few years of retirement because they just felt so lost.

Took the words right out of my mouth! Lol I have thought about this quite a bit as well. I have many creative projects/ideas on the back burner myself. My dream future is me being able to do all these things leisurely and not have to spend so much time paying the bills and such.

Good luck!
The challenge is to make time anyway - the bummer is that it's harder than it sounds!

Greetings, good subject you raise, many do not stop doing what they do not like for resistance to change, the fear of reinventing and automatisms. the key is to risk ourselves because doing what we like is not a job is a dream that can be real.

I think you nailed it there. Thanks for engaging!

Great, that's a good i dea how to spent rest of life after retirement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34