[ENGLISH] "Well... This Is Me...!!" [Part 7]

in #life8 years ago (edited)



In this 7th part I will speak a little about the literary prize I received and a couple of other things related to the topic.


To introduce you a little on the subject I must tell you that although I always liked to write and felt the need to express in writing things poetically, etc, never dared to externalize it and take it seriously until about 1 year.

Certificate of 1st prize love letter that you can read here

     


I was always a pretty introverted and insecure person and I imagine that fear of writing was given by that. However, I never lost that love for literature thanks to my best and most loyal friends: the books. I threw whole summers reading without leaving home while the boys of my age came out to play.

My very humble library which I appreciate the same like that Alexandria's famous one.


As I said, one day a year ago I started to write and to introduce me to all kinds of literary contests, especially in Spain but also some abroad where were spanish speaking. And one night, at dinner's time, I received a call from the secretary of the City of Bailen's town hall announcing that my work had won the contest. Few weeks after that I presented at the Museum of the Battle of Bailen, which was to take place the awards ceremony.

Outside the Museum of the Battle of Bailen

  

Inside Museum of the Battle of Bailén (1)

Inside Museum of he Battle of Bailén (2)


As an anecdote, tell you that when I parked in the village and headed on foot to the museum, a group of 3 people of mixed ethnicity tried, with a refined system and much ex prison picaresque, to rob me. After a firm attitude and talking convincingly to them, we just shake hands "as friends", but not until I have paid a "toll" of 4 € in total.

Inside the ceremony's room with the other winners, family, etc...

Delivery of my prize from the Councillor for Education and Culture of Bailen.


There at the lectern I proceeded to read my work, barely containing the excitement that came over me before the attentive audience. They clapped and jurors of that competition edition came to congratulate me and offer me to be part of the jury for the next competition this year, to which I agreed, feeling honored. Minutes later they made me 2 short radio interviews, which if I don't remember bad were M80-Bailen and OndaCero Jaen. I told them I was going to donate the euros prize to an environmental association from their land, because I thought that was fair. And I did.

Environmental association emails thanking me the donation and informing me about the project to which funds were allocated and sent me some photos of the project also.

     

      

Herrerillo's image (left)and Carbonero's image (right), which they are two bird species that naturally control the processionary as they feed directly from it.

     


I think these are the things of wich I feel prouder in my life. Following this I was selected in a contest to edit along with the other selected, an anthology in honor of the great Miguel de Cervantes.

Published book where my text appears in the page 81.

     


As a curious fact and perhaps a writer's eccentricity, I'm starting a typewriters collection.

Olivetti Studio 46 and Olivetti Lettera 12

     


Do what ever you like no matter what others think, because there will always be people willing to criticize.


Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6


Follow @dresden

Visit my Facebook's author page HERE


Sort:  

Nice work. Love the ending quote. It kind of reminds me of one of my favorite lines from a kid cudi song " hater's shake my hand, but i keep the sanitizer on deck"

followed!

Thanks man! I'm glad you do like it.
Following back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67