The Two Bit Arcade!

in #life5 years ago

95cy5dxefm.jpg

Took a break last night from The Tear and family for a little fun filled adventure to downtown Los Angeles and the Two Bit Arcade!

It’s a rare moment that I get to visit an arcade. Adulting doesn’t leave much time for frivolous gameplay like this, but I needed a little fun time to relax my mind for a bit and to be able to celebrate my friend’s birthday with him.

The scene was punctuated with 1980’s pop music, neon, dancing LED’s and high riding denim shorts. It felt like a consciously retro experience even though I think the vibe was actually quite emergent. With the rise of 1980ms nostalgia and synthwave, my childhood is back, baby!

Arcades have made dramatic changes since I was a kid. Back then the hot games were Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat. Today, physical interactivity, team play and virtual reality are all the rage.

Two Bit Circus had all of these kinds of games in spades.

s6ltp500np.jpg

g33u2hlqni.jpg

I only had the chance to play two rounds of VR, one was called The Ledge, which simulates you stepping off a 500 foot tall building with floor panels that shift beneath your feet, which did feel a little scary. Others who did the ride seemed to have a harder time remembering that it was all just a simulation.

The other game was a zombie shoot’em up with four simultaneous players. It was AMAZING. We each carried a rifle and could fire in 360 degrees. The headsets were very well maintained and sharp. The downside was it cost $12 for 5 minutes of play time. In total, I spent $19 for two games. That is far too expensive in my opinion, but I’m glad I got to experience it.

nu0ru7os2q.jpg

What a site!

mc592s5t8z.jpg

I also managed to squeeze in a little old school gaming on an original Street Fighter standup machine.

What a time to be alive.

Sort:  

We don't have VR place yet but that one looks darn cool! I love playing in game sites and I wish we could have one like that soon in Indonesia.

I bet it would be a hit! Makes me want to open an arcade!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh man, that must've felt good! Wish I had that kind of fun in my city to bring me back to childhood. Looks really amazing.

Great post man!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I had only just discovered it because my friend invited me. I wish I could go back soon but that place would make me BROKE if I went too often. It’s not like the days of quarters. These machines take dollars!

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi guys, we have not met for a long time, I hope everything is fine with you, I ran here a couple of minutes to tell you how I earn $ 5,000 in exactly one month https://l7.trade/?r=589163156

What a time to be alive, indeed. I have plans I never follow through on to go to Dave and Buster's on a half price Wednesday. We should meet for games there someday!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

@distantsignal You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66899.66
ETH 3464.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80