So Thinking for Myself Makes me an ANARCHIST?

in #life7 years ago

Maybe I'm just an arrogant bastard, but sometimes I'm truly amazed by the stuff that comes out of some people's mouths.

RedFlower
Red desert flower

Because one of the things my wife and I do (as part of our "patchwork economics" lifestyle) is own and operate a small alternative art gallery, I end up talking to quite a few people who come wandering through.

Today, I found myself in conversation with a visitor who-- on discovering our rather unusual and self-made independent lifestyle-- remarked that I must be "some kind of anarchist."

I typically don't take comments like that too seriously, although I am curious about how people arrive at their conclusions... and I find myself wondering if they even understand the true meaning of the words they use.

To be honest, I've never thought of myself as much of an "-ist" of any kind. 

I was never a religionist, not was I an atheist. I really haven't been a leftist or a rightist... if such things exist. I'm sort of a pacifist, but not entirely. And I certainly don't consider myself an anarchist... although anarchism-- if you want to get technical about it-- really covers a pretty broad spectrum of ideas.

DesertFlower
The California desert in bloom

Anyway, this fellow's comment made me ponder the way so many seem to find it necessary to stuff people they meet into neat little boxes that somehow support their sense of reality. I could tell by his demeanor that he was using the term "anarchist" not purely as a descriptive term, but as a slight jab at someone he perceived to be "living outside the rules."

Part of me couldn't help but think my visitor saw me as "one of those people" who dresses in black, wears a hood and throws bottles at shop windows during demonstrations. 

I'm not that kind of "-ist," either.

It's funny how "independent thinking;" that is, going about your life according to your own inner moral compass and your own set of ideas and ideals, is threatening to some folks' sense of reality. Somehow, I'm almost dangerous because I don't follow some pre-packaged doctrine or set of ideas. 

How about YOU? Have you been called strange things that left you scratching our head?

(As always, all images and text by the author; original content created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

If they truly knew what the word "anarchist" meant then it was a compliment. If they instead were using it as mainstream media uses it today it was an insult.

The base of that word simply means no rulers. No one that can force you to act a certain way besides yourself.

You can still have leaders who are people you can choose to follow, and choose not to follow.

If it is coupled with the Non-Aggression Principle it is actually a beautiful thing.

However, the modern hijacked interpretation is synonymous with chaos, violence, wild west, Road Warrior, Mad Max, etc. If that is what they meant then yeah it was an insult.

True Anarchism though is about as independent in thinking as one can get. It's a good thing. :)

The ANTIFA people and anarchists destroying things in the news. They only know the modern word.

But if you didn't know the history of the word... you can mess with their minds next time they try to insult you with such a beautiful word. :P

Thanks for the comment! In this case it was a mildly derisive commentary made by a person (ex military or ex law enforcement, I'd guess) who seemed uncomfortable with the idea that we don't follow a "predictable herd." I would normally take it as a compliment IF I thought the person actually knew what they were talking about... in this case, not so much.

Oh, the horror of nonconformity! Best to adhere to the stagnation of the status quo lest you actually improve yourself and learn things!

I certainly lead a "different" lifestyle to that of the "herd" and so I can at least begin to understand and relate to you.

Being different often means being looked down on by many but I assure you that I look up to you! I really enjoy your style of writing and self analysis and reflection. Keep it coming!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

@kus-knee, thank you for your kind words. I'm really pretty used to it as I have been seen as "a little off-center" by most people I meet, since quite a young age. These days, people's reactions mostly offer amusement... but also an invitation to "self-check."

The guy better get used to it for the future is changing and there are more and more people like your good self taking control of their own lives and finding better way than living as a mere slave.
I agree with @dwinblood, if the guy understood the term then it was a compliment - youve surely heard of Jeff Berwick @thedollarvigilante - he would have turned around and agreed with guy lol!
Well if you are anarchist my friend then we are both anarchists and they can line us up against the wall together.
Enjoyed the read.

@arthuradamson, thanks-- names and "-isms" don't really matter much to me, as much as anything they amuse me... that said, sometimes "labels" can be handy starting points for dialogue, so I don't really begrudge anyone using them, if it helps shape their reality. AS LONG AS the are willing to take time to actually understand what lies behind the label.

In the loosest sense of the term, the mere fact that we're doing something "other than Facebook" probably makes us "anarchists." Yes, I've heard of Jeff Berwick... pretty mixed bag, I must admit... but there's little doubt he is "charting his own course."

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Nice photos!


Hi @denmarkguy, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97