The Power of Fear (An Original Poem)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I had to unburden myself by reaching into my inner spirit to bring out this poem. I feel a lot better and I hope it makes someone's day.


Image credit: Eyes-wide-open life

Fear, that grand old task master,
Making slaves of men, mortal men
Keeping them in cages without walls, without bars
A slippery enemy enshackling without chains
A skillful master of human illusions

Open the door slightly, and he is in.
He comes in, and my mind becomes more powerful
Powerful enough to suspend my intellect and ability to show composure,
Placing my imaginations on steroids
Making me a prisoner of my thoughts; my very own thoughts!

image

I cringe and cringe under these thoughts of what might be.
I get buried and lost under the heavy weight of the ensuing uncertainty
I freeze in the thick darkness of emotional despair
With my heart totally out of sync with my mind
Wallowing in the thoughts of “what if?”

Fear gives you wings to fly
To fly into the contemptuous space of cowardice
To jump off the bridge of faith, leaping from the edge of stability
Into a certain unknown, a world of facades wrapped in torture
But I never ask why, I never get to asking “why?”

Snap! Snap! I need to snap!
Snap out of this dangerous abase of wild thoughts.
Yes, thoughts... That's all it is
That is all you are, without body, without form
So I choose to rule, and rule over you, I will, fear!

Kindly make your comments below. Upvotes will be appreciated.

If you want to, you can please follow me @delphia16

Happy Steeming!

Sort:  

It's a great pleasure @robinhoodwhale. Thank you very much!

Great! This deserves the exposure.

Thank you @beanz for the great comment. It really inspires me to keep posting contents here even when it appears a times as if some of them just go under the pile.

Mine do too. Never be discouraged. Your writing is brilliant

Thank you, you are so kind!

When I read the next article and I like the new article i'follow you bro I promise you

@roiroi, thanks for your comment. OK sir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62