And there you have it, in a split second it was almost game over.

in #life6 years ago

20150620_123245.jpg


Almost 2 years I had left this in storage.


I gave it a service in the week, and decided it needed a run out this year, so I set off this morning with nowhere in particular in mind to arrive at. It was not even a particularly nice day when I set off, and verging on cold for this time of the year.

I remember it doing around 130 mph the last time I rode it, so took it out on a Sunday to remember it again. I had been riding for a few hours and had visited a fuel station twice already, it sure is a thirsty beast at full throttle! Somehow it felt a lot tamer than last I remember, mainly due to me spending a lot of time riding 900cc bikes this year I suppose, though it was incredibly agile around the bendy bits we call corners.
It was the last fuel stop that got me to thinking it was time to head home, the England world cup game was coming up, and my daughter wanted to watch the game with me, and she did, just, and only just by the skin of my pants you see.
I set off for home, or the bank where I store some of my bikes under more like, and came across a stretch of road I know very well. It is straight for around 2 miles, with not a single turn on or off the road, no drives and no chance anyone can pull out in front of me, so I wound the throttle on hard, wailing through the gears, I hit 6th gear and tucked my head under the fairing to avoid the headwind, 110 then 120 then almost 130 and there it was, my worst nightmare flashed right in front of me, from right to left - a wild deer. I missed it by about 1/10th of a second.


fantasy-3232570__340.jpg


Pack creatures.

I let off the throttle and started to brake hard, I know where you see one deer you see 8, and when one is spooked you can guarantee the rest are also, and not far behind, sure enough another 4 or 5 came darting out in front of me, I had this covered with my slowing down, or so I thought.
I had not noticed or paid any attention to a car coming the other direction as he was at the time, not on my side of the road, that was about to change though. One of the deer had run across the front of this car and smashed the windscreen leaving the driver panicking and head on to me, I was left with 2 choices, hit him head on, or take to a field, I chose the field.

I never expected to be ripping it up through a disgruntled farmers field, and by the time I managed to stop, he sure let me know I was not welcome, I made my broken Polish apologies and left my mark on his patch as I tried to ride out.
The car driver did not do so well, he hit lamppost head on and wrote off his car, he was fine though & that is all that matters.

I sat on our rocking chair with my daughter to watch England win 6.1 and loved every minute of it, not the football, just sitting there with my little girl, each of us taking it in turns to rock the chair, I was truly happy for that 1 hour and 50 ish minutes of quality time, that I almost never had ever again.


judge-2831353__340.png

Deliberators verdict = Live every day like your last, as it may well just be.


Have a superbly splendid week, I will make sure I do.


giphy.gif


upvote follow resteem.png


Images CC0 Pixabay.

Sort:  

Wow...What a 'sleek' bike. Happy to see you're still with us Brudda.

Cheers broskie, the bike is designed from racing bikes of the 1990's.

Hows life in the USA this week?

Life is somewhat as crazy as ever here in the States...I've got to make it back into the woods soon, or I'll go nuts.

That is exactly where I will be all afternoon, in my orchards, making paths to make it easier to get to the apples, for my autumn and winter cider brewing. Yummy yum yum.

Sounds like a bit of a hard lesson, glad you're still with us!

Close call bro, been through worse though, and hardly got a bruise on me.

You really must live far into the country, don't see deer round my town, nevermind a pack.

They eat in our orchards and fields also, and yes, I live pretty much in the middle of nowhere, I love it.

Well, the thing is, if you were doing any bit more than 35 (MPH, cause I am in the states), the same scenario rolls out. I am glad that you knew what was up in an instance, and changed plans quickly.

The people what don't make are those that... don't think.
They have done this on this road so many times.

Like a guy who loved to drive really fast on mountain corners. Had a dozen near misses with people on that road, and never changed. Well, he smashed someone into the hospital for 6 months.

With this type, it is just a matter of time.

The speed limit was 90, though at the weekend here heavy goods vehicles are banned from travelling, and the speed is raised, so you can more or less do any speed you want.

I never expected the deer though, I will from now on though.
Have a superb week.

And there but for the blink of an eye. Life can change that fast, we take what we can and enjoy. At least you did not hit the lamppost, or one of the deer.

Close call bro, very close, just a few bruises on the legs and 1 hand, so I got off very light, someone was looking down on me again, thankfully.

Ah man .. really glad you're ok, we still have those beers to catch up on! :D It really pays to have quick reactions and to be aware of all possibilities. Stay safe my friend and wow what a bike!!

Cheers my friend, the bike is the last of the affordable 2 stroke twins, if you want one now they are extremely hard to get and over 30k£.
The beers are on me.

WOW!! So glad you were OK, and that the other driver wasn't hurt either. So glad you also had that special time with your daughter.

Beautiful bike, btw...

Thanks for the kind words, the bike is pearl white, so it changes shades of colour in the sunlight, a bit of a one off paint job.
Have a superb week my friend.

Very cool. I guess you need to see it in person to get the full impact. How did the golfing go, btw...?

Course is finished, just waiting for my mother and stepfather to arrive in 2 weeks time, then will put up plenty of photos for you my friend.

Ah! Good. For some reason I thought they had arrived this weekend already...

Soon, not quite yet though.

Glad everyone survived Ok that is the important thing. You must have really enjoyed the time with your daughter even more after that. Safe travels mate :)

I did enjoy it, the football seemed almost irrelevant, which in the grand scheme of things it is.

True that mate. Have a great day.

That was lucky - it's a popular pastime!

LOL that was funny and for all the wrong reasons, still better than a jb video though.

That's for sure...JB video about a BJ...

I always thought that 'auto fellatio' was a high priced imported sports car...???

lol, when my old friend Reginald Hunter arrive in the UK from Atlanta Georgia, he kept hearing people saying fuckoff, he thought it was a Russian author he jested. He has gone on to be a top comedian in the UK on tv and all.

Congratulations @deliberator! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Yeah thats a nice bike man!

Cheers my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67015.44
ETH 3247.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64