A Special Cemetery Visit

in #life6 years ago

Evidently, I did a bit too much the last couple of weeks and it caught up to me. Physically and mentally wore me out but was totally worth it and would do it again. I have a few good posts (I think) to go up soon starting with today. In my last POST, I mentioned that I was riding with my husband and sister to visit a cemetery. It was actually the second cemetery in the last couple of weeks. I’ll write about the earlier cemetery visit soon. The cemetery we visited most recently is where my parents are interred and I haven’t been there since my mother’s funeral. The cemetery is known as Lake View Memorial Park & Mausoleum. It is located in Carroll County, Maryland.

lakeview1.jpg

This is the view driving into the Park. This first monument is known as Sermon On The Mount and is the area that we are looking for.
lakeview2.jpg

lakeview6.jpg

It was a beautiful day and the scenery was breathtaking!
lakeview3.jpg

lakeview4.jpg

lakeview5.jpg

The cemetery only allows headstones known as Flat Markers which lay flat on the ground and flush with the grass. They do have monuments in each of the different areas of the cemetery as well. This is the Marker we were looking for. I did block out some of the info for privacy and other reasons.
lakeview11ok.jpg

Some views from the gravesite ..
lakeview7.jpg

lakeview8.jpg

lakeview9.jpg

The birds were singing and it just added to an already beautiful day! I took a short video where you can hear the birds singing. You may have to turn the volume up.

Directly across from the gravesite was a big tree that was quite stately looking.
lakeview16.jpg

lakeview17.jpg

A few more views...
lakeview10.jpg

lakeview13.jpg

lakeview12.jpg

lakeview14.jpg

lakeview20.jpg

We found these Buttercups growing and it brought back memories from childhood and our mother.
lakeview15buttercups.jpg

On our way out we had a family of geese walk by and it was a joy to see.
lakeview19geese.jpg

This photo was taken from a distance.
lakeview18.jpg

Here is a closer shot of the monument for the Sermon On The Mount area.
lakeview21.jpg

As we were leaving the cemetery I saw this piece of ironwork at the entrance/exit and wondered if it lights up at night. I think it would be even more beautiful if it does!
lakeview22.jpg

So that was my second special cemetery visit. I’m glad I got to visit even though I know it’s just a resting place for the body and their Souls are in a more beautiful place! Love you Mom and Dad!! ❤

steemusadeerjay.png

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Such a beautiful thing and thank you for sharing such an intimate time and place @deerjay. I know how special that must be for you and your Family.

What a beautiful resting place and the weather looked nice and sunny for your visit. Lovely statues and trees on the grounds. Birds singing and geese with babies to make you smile. Thanks for sharing Dee. I hope you are feeling better soon. xoxo ❤️

Thank you @redheadpei! I don't think it could have been more perfect! xoxo

Lovely! I'm sure those flat markers make it easier to mow, but they are also harder to find the one you are looking for. Thanks for sharing this!

Thank you Melinda!! I think so also. Luckily, I lined up the one I was looking for with the trees and bushes which made it much easier to find. You're very welcome and I love the tag!! ❤

That's how I remember where things are in cemeteries, too. My brothers grave is in the back section, in the row with the cedar tree beside the drive, then about half way along the row! Need to go there soon with some Memorial Day flowers.

That's how I remember where things are in cemeteries, too. My brothers grave is in the back section, in the row with the cedar tree beside the drive, then about half way along the row! Need to go there soon with some Memorial Day flowers.

Beautiful photos and a beautiful resting place

LOL! Awesome shots, and I see why you'd think I'd get a kick outta it!

Thanks @traciyork!! I just had to laugh when I read that card meaning. Couldn't have fit any more than it did!! ;)

BIG time! LOL! And you're very welcome, @deerjay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73