LIFE HACK: TIL How To Keep Birds From Messing Up The Car...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Here's today's life-hack.

We have some foolish birds in the yard... They have discovered the side mirrors on the car, and have developed a very bad and utterly futile habit.

Angry Birds? No, Angry People.

Angry Birds? No, Angry People.
Photo courtesy of Janko Ferlic and http://unsplash.com

A bird comes and preens in front of the mirror.

Unfortunately, seeing himself, he thinks there is another bird "in the mirror." He proceeds to peck at his reflection, sitting on the window ledge or on the top of the mirror. Inevitably, the mirror and the car door become coated with bird poop.

Cleaned Up Car Mirror

Cleaned Up Car Mirror - Photo by @creatr

This bad bird behavior is, of course, very annoying and frustrating. We constantly have to clean the mirrors and car doors. You'd think that birds would be able to find something better to do, wouldn't you?

Inspired one day, I went to the Dollar Store.

There, I bought a couple of shower caps with elastic edges. At only a dollar each, I think they are a bargain in saved frustration and mirror cleaning.

Elastic Shower Cap

Elastic Shower Cap - Photo by @creatr

Problem solved!

The shower caps cover the mirrors nicely. The birds are no longer tempted by their own reflections.

The Caps Cover The Mirrors Nicely

The Caps Cover The Mirrors Nicely - Photo by @creatr

Our mirrors now stay clean.

We are back to quietly enjoying a clean car.

Oh, well, one night I did go out to pick up some fast food, and I forgot the caps were there... They blew off, and I had to replace them. But I'm getting better about that!

It's a simple, cheap life-hack that you may want to try.


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Good idea. Can't you move the side mirrors so the birds cant get near to it?

We park outside, and so the birds that live nearby always have access... and the mirrors won't fold close enough to the car.

Ah that's a shame, we have a problem with birds, we live next to the beach so we get alot of bird poop lol I am sure they do it on purpose

Hi My Friend, seeing since you raised the subject here thought you might enjoy this:-https://steemit.com/funny/@awgbibb/pterodactyl-s-still-exist

LOL!

Excellent existence proof! :) ;)


Hi @creatr, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

My friend @shadowspub! What a delightful surprise! :)

Thank you so very much for noticing and mentioning my post to your following. What you are doing there is now ever so much more important in these days of HF17 and HF18, when the voting window is a week long.

THANK YOU AGAIN! You rock! :)

😄😇😄

@creatr

thank you @creatr, it is nice having a larger window to be able to share posts that can still be voted on.

I used supermarket carrier bags, but I like your idea too 😁

Thanks!

Yeah, we used grocery bags before, but you have to tie them on with the handles or something... The elastic shower caps really make it fast and easy! ;)

I appreciate your visit and comment, @katdvine!

Excellent story dear friend @creatr, very funny, the solution for luck was not very expensive, thank you very much for sharing, have a beautiful day

Friend @jlufer! Thanks so much for stopping by! Yes, it was an inexpensive fix! :)

Best regards to you and your family. :)

That's really smart. I love a good dollar store hack. I myself somehow ended up with 5 cats. The bird population of my yard has been significantly reduced because they cats climb trees and get on the roof scaring them off. Unfortunately we have paw prints all over the hood instead of bird mess.

LOL! Trading bird poop for paw prints!

Well, cats are very interesting creatures. I didn't used to like them much, until I met a very curious one:

"How I Was Captured by a Surprisingly Unusual Cat"

Thank you, @marxrab, for stopping by and telling your interesting story. :) :D

Have a look at "N Z Kea" and see how minor your problem is. They do this naturally, no training required, and no insurance cover either.

Wow! Seriously? Birds eating cars?

I guess we do have it easy here... :D

Thanks for the interesting clue... ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

So, how do I do better? Hmmm?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53991.35
ETH 2418.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16