๐Ÿ‘ Total Recall #1 ๐Ÿ’” Asbestos ๐Ÿ“ฃ Wonderful life-saving product gone wrong โ“ How & Why โ“ Let's take a look ๐Ÿ‘€

in #life โ€ข 6 years ago

How many popular products in life have gone from Fame to Infamy in my short life? I will attempt a series of blogs to describe what I have lived through personally. Warning bells were sounded by " concerned citizens now called conspiracy theorists " long before anything was done about it or even discussed by wonderful lawmakers we trust to keep us safe.

total recall.jpg

Asbestos is a great start and very personal to me as my Father worked on major construction jobs using Asbestos as fireproofing. All Schools, Hospitals and large office or apartment buildings were covered in Asbestos. installing this wonderful fireproofing material by mandate to protect innocent lives in case of fire.

As you may have guessed already my Father died a slow and painful death by cancer that invaded just about every area of his body years later. All studies and research have pointed to Asbestos as a key factor.

Years later I worked on large scale excavation and building sites in Canada that were shut down when even a little Asbestos turned up while moving earth. Thousands of dollars per hour in men and equipment stopped until trained Hazmat workers came to the site to remove the offending material and be on there way.

When was Asbestos suspected of causing illness the first time? How about (61-112 AD)
1858 Birth of Asbestos in U.S. Industry.
1918 U.S. Government Recognizes Asbestos Risk.
1930 Discovery of Asbestosis

The timelines can be found here -->The History of Asbestos

After many warnings over the years and restrictions put in place along comes...
1991 U.S. Court Overturns EPA Asbestos Ban!

๐Ÿ’• It's Heartwarming to know Governments keep us safe and sound with whatever power we hand over to them.

So lets take a look at Government funded with your money research from www.cancer.gov :
Asbestos Exposure and Cancer Risk

Pretty heavy reading that lawmakers funded again with your money just didn't bother to study or if they did ignored?

I'll leave you with a small section from more recent history - Go back to work the air is safe!

www.cancer.gov WTC.jpg

Time permitting I will continue on my total recall posts, our children and Grandchildren will write there own about today's problems. Here is My latest post on 5G let's hope history and governments are kinder to them and their fathers.

A couple future ideas I'm concidering: Lead, DDT, Speed Radar guns the list is endless really. Did you know my Grandmother started smoking on her Doctors recomendation? ooops

codydivisor.png

My Signature Post ---> Potential Followers Please Click HERE to get started

Life is Good @ steemit.com

Sort: ย 

It's a funny thing, asbestos is alive and well, and I had this incorrect conclusion in my mind that it was outlawed. I thought it might have been one of those Mandela effects.

Then I looked into it more closely. Firstly, they banned some asbestos products, but not all. So those products that were banned, could have simply been re-manufactured under a different label.

Also, there was another outright ban, but I think that was overturned by the supreme court. I think they kept the overturning of that ban hush-hush, or didn't focus on it as much in the media, as they did the ban itself.

In some areas, some kinds of asbestos is regulated, and that's about the best we got, even know we know damn well we shouldn't be using the shit at all. I'm really sorry to hear about your father man.

Probably a few factors involved considering so many buildings are full of it. The twin towers were a great example but turned out great for Lucky larry! Leased, cleaned up and paid Billions in insurance all in just a couple months time.
Since when can you lease a building and collect the insurance if it is destroyed? that is like renting a large expensive house, insuring it for fire, and collecting full value of house when it burns down, screw the owner....LOL
So many others that need fixing or dismantling. I'm surprised someone in government hasn't opened a hazmat company with the only license to deal with asbestos then make it mandatory to clean it up.
I don't think it is widely used anymore because of the known dangers.
Cigarettes should probably be blog #2 because of that. Universally accepted as a killer product but not banned anywhere? Tobacco is 1 thing but the chemical soup it is drenched in is not ever discussed? But people go to jail for smoking pot because it is banned. Upside down world when we let others call the shots!
Cheers

If you ask me, it's one or the other.

That my friend is how we are supposed to see things and the system works very hard at keeping us scratching our heads at the least, scared to death is better for them.
So many questions that they can't answer so they want us in self-defense mode always. The most anyone ever does if anything is to ask the problem makers to fix the problems they created. LOL
We either step up to plate and solve our issues together outside of their scrutiny or they continue un-checked until we feel so distant from each-other we never can. Even small groups have corrected big problems. United we stand, divided we fall.
Cheers

Grand-Ma got to train those lungs, Cody :) no better way than cigarettes.
Shit, i never thought about towers being filled with asbestos. And i thought that it's bad for my health to replace my old asbestos roof outdoors with no dust. This shit has some digferent levels...
Did you know, that doctors prescribed some kind of worms to the ladies, which wanted to loose weight? :) I saw some kind of old add a few years back :D

I do know 9 out of 10 Doctors recommend smoking camels LOL, Used to anyway :-) probably be my next installment of total recall.
Cheers

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

Time permitting I will continue on my total recall posts, our children and Grandchildren will write there own about today's problems.
It should be their own instead of there own.

Good post friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62