I miss the old people from when I was a child - they're different now

in #life7 years ago

This may sound strange, but I miss the kind of old people we had when I was a child. I don't mean that I miss specific old people that I knew, like my grandparents. I miss them terribly, but that is not what I mean. I do also miss my long term babysitter who came here from Austria with her husband in the 1930s. Her name was Ottilie "Ottie" Oldenbusch, believe or not, and she was 65 when she started babysitting me. She had just retired from working at Bell Labs and did something to do with Physics. Why she wanted to work as a babysitter after that will forever elude me. Nor do I know what her husband, Heinrich "Henry," another wonderful soul whom I shall remember for the rest of my life and I'm almost tempted to say, beyond that. What do I mean? I don't know.

But that is not what I mean. I mean that the old people of my childhood, the kind you saw in line at the store or walking along the sidewalk, waiting for a train, buying a newspaper, seem so different now from the swinging seniors of our era. Of course that only follows because old people are only older versions of the people whose lives, characters, habits, beliefs and preferences were formed in a particular era, and as our culture continues to change rapidly and drastically each generation when it ages will become a distinct type of senior citizen. Some of the Boomers are still aging hippies or perhaps aging hipsters, people who still want to keep up with the times, be active, not give up any of the things they did when they were younger. Why should they? If they are still healthy and they have the free time and the free will they can do whatever they want, still learning and growing and rocking (thinking Mick Jagger and The Crypt Keeper/Keith Richards.) It has gone out of style in our society to grow old. You don't have start wearing baggy cardigans and glasses on a chain around your neck. You can do yoga, wear tight jeans, ride a motorcycle, play the electric guitar, blah blah blah.

So this isn't to knock anyone over 65 today. But I feel a terrible sadness and nostalgia sometimes for that generation who were my introduction to "The Elderly" in the 1970s. The men wore topcoats in winter, and formal hats year round - homburgs, fedoras, Scottish golfing caps, dress shirts and slacks, jackets, black dress socks and shiny black or brown leather round toe shoes which they still had shined at shoeshines which could be found around town or at the bus station. Old men often carried a newspaper under one arm and quite a few of them smoked pipes. That's one thing you never see anymore! Thought it will probably come back with the hipster 1800s hair-and-beard trend. If you can vape, you can smoke a pipe. You don't have to tell me the dangers of tobacco. I've been hearing it longer than you! I used to hide my mother's Carltons when she still smoked. Luckily, she gave up when I was 11. And I have known since I was 4 that I would never smoke. BUT...I still have nostalgia for cigarette smoke. It was everywhere back then. Older people smoked even more than young. And I still find it distinguished and a bit rakish when I see an old photo of a man smoking a pipe (usually standing out on the moors or somewhere.)

Elderly women had their hair done "at the beauty parlor" which consisted of setting it in multiple curlers around the head after dampening it with smelly lotions, then sitting under a giant space-age hair dryer for a long time. The hair came out defying gravity. These ladies always wore lipstick and were not ashamed to fresh their lipstick at the table after eating a nice meal in a restaurant. They wore heels and made sure their jewelry matched - earrings, necklace, rings. The purse had to go with the shoes. These women were prepared for anything, hauling around an entire pharmacy, lockpicking kit and sundry other gadgets and secret information in their giant handbags. They drove automatic cars and had different outfits for different activities. Much of that was true for me as well as a child. I had one set of clothes for school, another for play, and then a couple of fancy outfits for parties. You had to dress up for other children's birthday parties in your best dress and tights, and usually a pair of Mary-Janes.

Elderly women believed that babies needed fresh air and walking every day - people wheeled their babies to the park in giant old carriages. No jogging wheels for these! Maternity clothes were discreet, not fashionable. Meals were formal, eaten together at the table and no one I knew had a microwave.

When it was cold or rainy or windy at all, elderly women of my childhood always wore scarves around their hair to keep it from getting messed up. If it were rain, some would wear translucent plastic headscarves. When they went on trips they took guided tours and bought matching luggage, all in medium blue leather or garish 1970s tartan. This was when there were a lot more plane crashes than now and also it wasn't unexpected that the airline lost your luggage. I grew up thinking that you were simply rolling the dice if you checked a bag, and I turned into the kind of adult who only travels with a carry on if possible. One dressed up for air travel, in a dress and heels, as one did for the theater.

When I think of the ultimate 1970s "old man" I immediately picture Art Carney in Harry and Tonto (1974), one of my favorite movies of all time. Harry was feisty, spirited, didn't let people push him around, but he also always wore a tie and had old fashioned manners, and a certain stoicism in the face of hardships. He was also very funny. And although she was hardly the archetype of a "little old lady" I remember the "funny, classy broads" like Ruth Gordon, who was always dressed to the nines, wearing her jewels, hair done, smoking a cigarette in a holder, and also boozy and loud and completely outrageous!

When I watch old footage of 1970s street scenes or the poignantly named British Pathé film "Old People" (1970) I feel a terrible stab of loss when I watch an old woman in her proper coat and head scarf feeding the pigeons at the park, an old gentleman walking along the pavement with the aid of a carved wooden cane. That whole world is gone forever.

Well, not sure where I was headed with this. This is my first attempt at a still inchoate feeling-memory. I will probably have to rewrite it and crisp up the details, maybe eventually coming to the point, or any point. But thanks for listening.

Sort:  

Memories of the past will always be remembered all the time. There are sad and some are happy.

true @clemdane old fashion people were harder workers and more commited. Here in Spain the generation of my parents now (70-80 yo) are the ones that rise the country after the Civil War (1936-39)..the suffer the famine and lack of free education as early child, the severity and restrictions of the dictatorship throughout their lifes, having to emigrate to get a better living and when democracy and prosperity came back they were already 50 something and the train in a certain way had pass for them. They had no sense of "leisure time" as are people that only conceived working hard to pay the mortgage, bills, sustain their family and never be poor or in need again. Now they see how the world has changed around as and younger people don´t stand to their same values...

That is very sad. That makes sense, though. It must hard for them to have had to live that way and then to adapt to seeing young people be able to do everything without much of a struggle. It must seem quite frivolous to them.

My parents were both poor until a certain point in their teens when their parents rose in status and income, but the mentality is still that of a child who grew up in the Depression. They never want to waste anything, and my father doesn't believe in paying other people to do any jobs, even if they are difficult ones, because he will teach himself to do it himself. So he painted our house, built things, repaired everything around the house and on the car, did some plumbing and electricity, setup antennas on our roof and he even built our television himself from a kit! This was in the old days when you could do that.

This post has received a 6.10 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @buildawhale.

Old memories can never be forgetable

That was a refreshing breeze from the past, we are pretty much the same age, if I remember correctly I am a year or two older, but I know just what you mean about old people back in the 70s and 80s. My "aunt" (one of those friends of the family that was called an aunt) was a great example of the kind of old woman you spoke of. Different outfits for everything, very active and warm and charming heart. She chopped her own wood into her 80s, fired the shotgun every now and then to chase off the coyotes from the the flock and was an enthusiastic collector and painter of mushrooms. (We were quite rural as you can likely imagine).

There was also a sort of dignity to old age back then that I don't see that much anymore, if at all to be honest. Maybe it is that growing old isn't something people celebrate anymore, but eschew. Perhaps the biggest change I have noticed is how old people are in public. When I was a kid old people of every stripe would pinch my cheeks and behave like they were friends of the family even when you had just met them. Today there is a social stiffness and much more selfishness, at least that is my impression. I don't ever remember old people cutting in line when I was a kid for example, but sometime in my early thirties I started noticing old people using their age as an excuse to cut in line. Just some random thoughts that dovetail with your post. Anyway, thanks for something pleasant to read today!

Thanks so much for that. Yes, I was going to get into the issue of "dignity" but I try to be extra careful on here not to insult anybody. But absolutely agree. With old age came respect and a certain authority. As far as I can tell, the 1960s generation decided that we needed to throw all "authorities" out the window in favor of everyone of every age being equally competent and capable in every way. Their distrust of authority is so fundamental that even people who have earned their authority through decades of experience and unique talented in a field are not given the place of honor in their fields anymore.

What they say:

"Everyone is an artist (No one is an artist.) Everyone can make music (No one can make music.) Everyone is special (No one is special.) No one artist, writer or thinker is objectively more talented than any other. We must be constantly on our guard against attributing wisdom or better judgment to older people just because they have experienced something many more times before and have been known to act with good judgment. A 80 year old deserves no more respect than a five year old. They are equal human beings."

Whereas in Japan, elderly people who have mastered their craft and become the foremost experts at them are legally considered Living National Treasures. We don't respect our elderly. "Just because you're old doesn't mean you know any more than I do!"

It's true that now many older people behave just as childishly as young people. I suppose to a generation who said "Don't trust anyone over 30" when they became old they didn't take themselves seriously.

Those are all good points. I understand not being here to insult people. That doesn't mean however an honest opinion isn't allowed to sting once in a while. You've read some of my posts, so I think you know what I mean.

I agree the hippy generation has bequeathed us with a more challenging world in many ways. I can't my finger on it exactly, but the rise of relativism in the states went hand in hand with the late boomers and early GenXrs where everybody was worthy of respect regardless of if they earned it or not, and those who worked hard at making themselves masters of things weren't worth respect because they largely operated within the system and hey, the got money instead of respect. They also voted themselves massive government entitlements that are bankrupting the country today (and guaranteeing a lower standard of living for future generations) and don't seem to realize the corrupt establishment is comprised of people they voted into power some 30 years ago and that are still there. It's a crazy world.

For a more lighthearted read (in keeping with my recent thematic suite), you might like my recent post. Look forward to your future posts. Cheers - CZ

I am also miss my grandparents.... Upvoted your post....

You sound like a good candidate for an old movie. In my movie collection, "old" is anything before 1965.

Lol, thanks. I wasn't sure if you meant I should see an old movie or be in an old movie! Yes, I do love old movies. I think of "old" as maybe before 1955, which is not far off.

Well, i will be 75 next week. Having a large movie collection, i was thinking that old movies are where you can find the things you wrote about. I have a few between 1899 & 1910.

Wow! Was it Edison who made that turn of the century film of someone turning a gun at the audience and shooting and audiences would scream and run away?

I guess a lot of early 1960s films do seem old, especially the British black and white ones. I'd rather think of films like The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner, King and Country and Victim as part of my era, even though they came out before I was born.

I recently said to someone at work something about old movies, and he said, "You mean like from the 1980s?" Gimme a break!

The earliest film Ive heard of was in 1893 or 94. While looking back through older movies, you discover some movies have been remade more often than you might think. Most people remember the Kirk Douglas movie from the 1950's "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea", but did you know there were two previous versions?

Which "King Kong" verson do you recall? The first, and to my mind, the best, was from 1933.

Yes, I'm a "no remake" purist and I have caught myself many times being hypocritical about it! Because the film I think is the original was actually the first remake, and I'm complaining about the 2nd, 3rd or 4th remake. I do notice that from time to time. So I'm trying to be a bit more consistent.

I didn't know the Kirk Douglas 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea was a remake, but I've discovered quite a few others like that that I didn't know about. Trying to think of an example, but my brain just doesn't retain stuff like that anymore.

I've only seen (part of) the 1933 King Kong. It came on TV when I was a child and I got too scared and didn't make it through! I was 7 when the 1976 one came out and my parents wouldn't have taken me to that anyway.

I am on the Steemit chat if you have a request.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55