You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I miss the old people from when I was a child - they're different now

in #life7 years ago

That was a refreshing breeze from the past, we are pretty much the same age, if I remember correctly I am a year or two older, but I know just what you mean about old people back in the 70s and 80s. My "aunt" (one of those friends of the family that was called an aunt) was a great example of the kind of old woman you spoke of. Different outfits for everything, very active and warm and charming heart. She chopped her own wood into her 80s, fired the shotgun every now and then to chase off the coyotes from the the flock and was an enthusiastic collector and painter of mushrooms. (We were quite rural as you can likely imagine).

There was also a sort of dignity to old age back then that I don't see that much anymore, if at all to be honest. Maybe it is that growing old isn't something people celebrate anymore, but eschew. Perhaps the biggest change I have noticed is how old people are in public. When I was a kid old people of every stripe would pinch my cheeks and behave like they were friends of the family even when you had just met them. Today there is a social stiffness and much more selfishness, at least that is my impression. I don't ever remember old people cutting in line when I was a kid for example, but sometime in my early thirties I started noticing old people using their age as an excuse to cut in line. Just some random thoughts that dovetail with your post. Anyway, thanks for something pleasant to read today!

Sort:  

Thanks so much for that. Yes, I was going to get into the issue of "dignity" but I try to be extra careful on here not to insult anybody. But absolutely agree. With old age came respect and a certain authority. As far as I can tell, the 1960s generation decided that we needed to throw all "authorities" out the window in favor of everyone of every age being equally competent and capable in every way. Their distrust of authority is so fundamental that even people who have earned their authority through decades of experience and unique talented in a field are not given the place of honor in their fields anymore.

What they say:

"Everyone is an artist (No one is an artist.) Everyone can make music (No one can make music.) Everyone is special (No one is special.) No one artist, writer or thinker is objectively more talented than any other. We must be constantly on our guard against attributing wisdom or better judgment to older people just because they have experienced something many more times before and have been known to act with good judgment. A 80 year old deserves no more respect than a five year old. They are equal human beings."

Whereas in Japan, elderly people who have mastered their craft and become the foremost experts at them are legally considered Living National Treasures. We don't respect our elderly. "Just because you're old doesn't mean you know any more than I do!"

It's true that now many older people behave just as childishly as young people. I suppose to a generation who said "Don't trust anyone over 30" when they became old they didn't take themselves seriously.

Those are all good points. I understand not being here to insult people. That doesn't mean however an honest opinion isn't allowed to sting once in a while. You've read some of my posts, so I think you know what I mean.

I agree the hippy generation has bequeathed us with a more challenging world in many ways. I can't my finger on it exactly, but the rise of relativism in the states went hand in hand with the late boomers and early GenXrs where everybody was worthy of respect regardless of if they earned it or not, and those who worked hard at making themselves masters of things weren't worth respect because they largely operated within the system and hey, the got money instead of respect. They also voted themselves massive government entitlements that are bankrupting the country today (and guaranteeing a lower standard of living for future generations) and don't seem to realize the corrupt establishment is comprised of people they voted into power some 30 years ago and that are still there. It's a crazy world.

For a more lighthearted read (in keeping with my recent thematic suite), you might like my recent post. Look forward to your future posts. Cheers - CZ

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54