Sort:  

Lol, thanks. I wasn't sure if you meant I should see an old movie or be in an old movie! Yes, I do love old movies. I think of "old" as maybe before 1955, which is not far off.

Well, i will be 75 next week. Having a large movie collection, i was thinking that old movies are where you can find the things you wrote about. I have a few between 1899 & 1910.

Wow! Was it Edison who made that turn of the century film of someone turning a gun at the audience and shooting and audiences would scream and run away?

I guess a lot of early 1960s films do seem old, especially the British black and white ones. I'd rather think of films like The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner, King and Country and Victim as part of my era, even though they came out before I was born.

I recently said to someone at work something about old movies, and he said, "You mean like from the 1980s?" Gimme a break!

The earliest film Ive heard of was in 1893 or 94. While looking back through older movies, you discover some movies have been remade more often than you might think. Most people remember the Kirk Douglas movie from the 1950's "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea", but did you know there were two previous versions?

Which "King Kong" verson do you recall? The first, and to my mind, the best, was from 1933.

Yes, I'm a "no remake" purist and I have caught myself many times being hypocritical about it! Because the film I think is the original was actually the first remake, and I'm complaining about the 2nd, 3rd or 4th remake. I do notice that from time to time. So I'm trying to be a bit more consistent.

I didn't know the Kirk Douglas 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea was a remake, but I've discovered quite a few others like that that I didn't know about. Trying to think of an example, but my brain just doesn't retain stuff like that anymore.

I've only seen (part of) the 1933 King Kong. It came on TV when I was a child and I got too scared and didn't make it through! I was 7 when the 1976 one came out and my parents wouldn't have taken me to that anyway.

I am on the Steemit chat if you have a request.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54