Progressive Relaxation by Charlie Shrem: Mindfulness Meditation in Prison & Everyday Life

in #life8 years ago (edited)

1166859162-500x500.jpg

I had the good fortune of making friends with long bid inmates who had taught me how to deal with my anxiety in prison. One of the first books that was recommended to me was "Wherever You Go There You Are" by by Jon Kabat-Zinn

This book is about staying mindful in our every day life. Anxiety is just fear of the future and for me this book helped me understand if I focus on the now I wont be afraid of the future.

A while back I had a lot of anxiety when I was asked to go for a random urine test. I know I did nothing wrong but I was suffering from assumed guilt. I was worried about the future and the unknown. I started awfulizing which is when I assume a catastrophic outcome in every situation.

I was recommended by an inmate and the book to try meditation. The first thing that came to mind was sitting on the floor and entering some spiritual realm that I could never achieve. I was wrong.

When we speak of meditation, it is important for you to know that this is not some weird cryptic activity, as our popular culture might have it. It does not involve becoming some kind of zombie, vegetable, self-absorbed narcissist, navel gazer, “space cadet,” cultist, devotee, mystic, or Eastern philosopher. Meditation is simply about being yourself and knowing something about who that is. It is about coming to realize that you are on a path whether you like it or not, namely, the path that is your life. Meditation may help us see that this path we call our life has direction; that it is always unfolding, moment by moment; and that what happens now, in this moment, influences what happens next.

Meditation means learning how to get out of this current, sit by its bank and listen to it, learn from it, and then use its energies to guide us rather than to tyrannize us. This process doesn’t magically happen by itself. It takes energy. We call the effort to cultivate our ability to be in the present moment “practice” or “meditation practice.”

So how can you start practicing basic meditation? I like to call this method Progressive Relaxation:

Get in a comfortable position, close your eyes and begin feeling the sense of relaxation.

Take in a big breath and bring your shoulders up towards your ears.

Now drop your shoulders and release your breathe.

Breath fresh air into your lungs, squeeze your shoulders up towards your ears and hold.... Now let your shoulders drop and relax as you release your breathe. Let the tension dissolve away.

Now clench your right fist, tighter and tighter, studying the tension as you do so. Notice the tension in your fist hand and forearm.

Relax... Let go of the tension. Feel the looseness in your hand, and forearm, and noticed the contrast with the tension. You are relaxed.

Now clench your right fist, Tighter and Tighter, studying the attention as you do so notice the tension in your face, hand, and forearm.

Relax... Let go of the tension. Feel the looseness in your hand, and forearm, and noticed the contrast with the tension. You are relaxed.

Photo on 9-7-16 at 10.38 AM #2.jpg

Another meditation I like to practice is deep breathing.

Although this exercise can be practiced in a variety of poses, the following is recommended: lie down on the blanket or rug on the floor. Bend your knees and move your feet about 8 inches apart, with your toes turn slightly outward. Make sure your spine is straight.

Scan your body for tension.

Place one hand on your abdomen and one hand on your chest.

Inhale slowly and deeply through your nose into your abdomen to push up your hand as much as it feels comfortable. Your chest should move only a little and only with your abdomen.

When you feel at ease with step 4, smile slightly and inhale through your nose and exhale through your mouth, make me a quiet, relaxing, watching sound like the wind as you gently blow out . Your mouth, tongue, and jaw will be relaxed. Take long, though, you press that raise and lower your abdomen. Focus on the sound and feeling of breathing as you become more and more relaxed.

Continue deep breathing for about 5 or 10 minutes out of time, once or twice a day for a couple of weeks. Then if you like, extended to 20 minutes.

1

One of my favorite chapters in this book taught me that we can't stop the waves of life, but we can learn to surf. There are many things in life over which we have little or no control stress is part of life, part of being human. That does not mean we have to be victims. We can learn to work with them, understanding them, find meaning in them and make critical choices. We can use them to grow up strength wisdom and compassion.

Imagine our minds as the surface of a lake or ocean. There are always waves on the water . Waves come from wind which range and intensity. Just as the Winds of stress and change cause waves in our minds. We can't fight the waves , but we can learn how to surf on them.

What are your thoughts? How do you deal with stress and anxiety? Do you awfulize situations?

-Charlie

Sort:  

That clenching meditation sounds awesome. I love hearing about new tools to help access to the present moment. As humans, it seems like we constantly need to be finding these new tools to remind ourselves to stay present: Breathing, a new position, binaural beats, a mantra, clenching, etc...

Obviously none of these tools are "presence" in and of themselves, but rather tools to help us become present.

My journey has lead me to believe that you can never have enough of these "presence tools". And if you become complacent in your search for new tools, then spiritual growth stagnates.

Today I will try the hand clenching!

Charlie. Please let me leave my computer.... So much good content! Starting too turn my eyes square ;) maybe its all this blockchain talk also? :D I believe people need to fight the waves as it were and take far more control over their own minds and emotions. Take a deep breath and fight no matter what the fight as long as its right and moral. (depending on ones view of what is moral) The most general view of what is moral and right i am talking about

Blockchain technology will dominate the generation after ours. I can not wait. Just need people too wake up too the mass corruption that exists in these centralised systems!

I just have so much to say!

I agree on the last part. We need to keep building infrastructure and people will come!

I agree. How about this for some infrastructure?

what is your opinion on the future of bitcoin and speaking honestly? for instance the confirmation times are not good for certain business's and it's one if it's major down falls in my opinion. I love bitcoin but i always say that talking about an issue is a step towards solving it. Is there a solution to this issue for bitcoin or will it require something new? Steem maybe ;) ;)

I believe people need to fight the waves as it were and take far more control over their own minds and emotions.

I must respectfully disagree with this. Although this may be a strong technique for you, it may not be the best for others. What charlie is doing is self hypnosis, and it is a very powerful technique, not to be seen as a weakness. It brings the user to there subconscious mind, going beyond time and space. This is why charlie is able to center and calm himself so well when hes worried about the future.

This book literally changed my life! Mindfulness release us ALL from prison! You might enjoy this piece too. Thanks for sharing!

We can't stop the waves of life, but we can learn to surf. Perfect.

I had a counselor talk to me about mindfullness, it can literally change your life by keeping your thoughts on productive things rather than things that offer no benefits...

I try to get close to Nature as much as possible when in need of peace.

That is my strategy in my "life sentence" ))

All anxiety comes from within your own head. Mindfullness is about getting out of your head, away from the anxiety, and into the moment. It's changed my life.

My mom once told me ...

"The only thing that worrying does is makes you worried."

There is no benefit. When I get stressed or anxious, I reflect on everything that is good.

Try Mindful Geek, it's an amazing secular window into meditation and mindfulness. Sounds like you're in a good place right now :)

@charlieshrem I am a fan of deep breathing/meditative techniques myself. I once remember getting so into it, I went into sleep paralyses. I was pretty young at the time, and I remember totally freaking out. I had the usual feeling of 'something' sitting on the end of my bed, a definite weight, or presence, of some sort. This coupled with complete paralyses. I remember trying to scream, I couldn't even scream. It was honestly one of the scarier moments in my young life.

@charlieshrem have you, or anyone else here perhaps experienced something similar during your meditation/deep breathing exercises? Sleep paralyses is totally bizarre. Apparently, the chemical that kicks in when you are asleep (responsible for you not making movements in your dreams) is available, but you are awake. Totally nuts.

p.s - meditation in general is usually a very peaceful experience for me. I have never had this happen to me before, or since this incident.

Victim Mentality Sure Do Suck For Sure
I Am Going To Upvote This
Everyday Starts Fresh
And Is The First Day Of The Rest Of My Life
Keep On Steemin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32