You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Progressive Relaxation by Charlie Shrem: Mindfulness Meditation in Prison & Everyday Life

in #life8 years ago (edited)

@charlieshrem I am a fan of deep breathing/meditative techniques myself. I once remember getting so into it, I went into sleep paralyses. I was pretty young at the time, and I remember totally freaking out. I had the usual feeling of 'something' sitting on the end of my bed, a definite weight, or presence, of some sort. This coupled with complete paralyses. I remember trying to scream, I couldn't even scream. It was honestly one of the scarier moments in my young life.

@charlieshrem have you, or anyone else here perhaps experienced something similar during your meditation/deep breathing exercises? Sleep paralyses is totally bizarre. Apparently, the chemical that kicks in when you are asleep (responsible for you not making movements in your dreams) is available, but you are awake. Totally nuts.

p.s - meditation in general is usually a very peaceful experience for me. I have never had this happen to me before, or since this incident.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33