Have the Models Eaten?

in #life7 years ago

A short woman with delicate features and neon orange hair pointed to me and asked, “Did you get your lunch? Did you eat all of it?”

I was surprised at the urgency of her question, but I shook my head and she immediately fetched a lunchbox from the nearby catering table. “Eat this,” she directed me, “and if you’re still hungry, get one of the protein bars. And make sure to drink enough water.”

I couldn’t remember the last time I had been monitored like this, and I was surprised that, of all places, it would happen at my first professional modeling event. It was a hair show, but still, weren’t they concerned about us fitting into our assigned wardrobe?

IMG_5443.JPG

Actually, weight gain wasn’t a concern over the course of the weekend, but faint models were. By hiring professional models, the stylists had apparently had trouble before with girls passing out while on stage getting their hair worked on.

I was watching my waistline, but I still ate the full lunch. It’s what I do. Later, I went on stage and stood for almost an hour at a time under hot lights in 6-inch heels while my hair was styled within an inch of its life, but I was fine.

IMG_1543.JPG
Backstage at that very hair show

As a model, I’ve seen my fair share of weird eating habits. I’ve read articles about size 2 models getting fired for being “too fat” and about France trying to ban the employment of models that aren’t a healthy weight. I’ve been told that as a size 4, I have to choose between losing weight to reach sample size, or gaining weight to reach size 6, which is the runway’s plus-size.

I’ve watched girls I’ve worked with go through an entire day of promotions without a lunch break because they “weren’t hungry” and seen a size 0 girl eat barbecue, hot dogs, tacos, kettle corn, collard greens, chips, and funnel cake all in one afternoon, laughing about how she’s lucky to have a fast metabolism. I’ve watched friends get thinner and thinner, vertebrae and ribs protruding, and been too afraid to say anything until they end up in the hospital.

I always maintained a healthy weight, mostly due to activity. I never came close to wasting away, so I never thought that I could have an eating disorder.

IMG_4371.JPG
That's me on the right, looking super thin, backstage at a Belk fashion show, 2014

It started the summer between 10th and 11th grade, when I decided to pursue professional acting and modeling, and signed on with my first agency. Though I was a normal size, I was deemed too large to do any type of swimsuit or lingerie modeling (yes, I was a size 4 at the time), so I decided I should slim down a little. I made it a goal to lose between 15 and 20 lbs, and did just that over the summer through exercise and calorie counting.

I didn’t lose the weight in an unhealthy way, but went down to a size 2 and became hyper-focused on my body and eating habits. Everything had to be healthy, but I’m only human, and the guilt I felt if I cheated was crushing. The stress of counting the calories, making measurements and estimates, and saying no to the treats I had previously enjoyed was more than I had expected. Then, as summer ended, I started school and faced even more stressors - college prep classes, play rehearsals, long bus rides with heavy homework burdens to follow, and the fact that I transferred from one school to another that fall.

IMG_5243.JPG
School and stress: a tougher balancing act than this attempt at yoga

Stress became a part of my daily life, even on days that I had leisure time. Suddenly, counting calories became a stress trigger because I lost my ability to control the numbers. How was I supposed to know how many calories were in this plate of pot roast my mom made for dinner? I began only counting the calories from the prepackaged foods I ate at breakfast and lunch, and told myself that if I kept that number low enough, then I could eat a home-cooked dinner and not have to worry about counting.

As structured as the beginning of my day was, I lost control every night. “Not worrying about counting” turned into “eating as much as I could” because I would be so hungry from how much I had restricted my calories earlier in the day. I fell into a pattern of restriction and bingeing, where every meal that I told myself not to worry about led to crushing guilt afterward.

IMG_0514.JPG
One of many critical photos I took of myself in high school

This wasn’t anorexia, because I was still eating a lot. This wasn’t bulimia, because I wasn’t purging. This was, as I was just diagnosed this year, Binge Eating Disorder caused by Generalized Anxiety Disorder, with a side of chronic Major Depression. Food had become my biggest stressor and my biggest relief, switching from one to the other in an instant and occupying my thoughts much more than it should have.

At the hair show, as I said, I finished my lunch because that’s what I do. I cleaned my plate at every meal for the past four years, no matter how satisfied my stomach actually was before I finished. I constantly switched from obsessively controlling my food intake to losing control entirely.

fullsizeoutput_59d.jpeg

One day this past spring, I went to the buffet-style dining hall on campus with my roommate, and predictably, ate much more than I should have. I had been diagnosed and been on medication for the anxiety and depression for several weeks, so they were actually starting to work in my body. The antidepressant could reduce appetite as a side effect, and this had begun to affect me. Still, that day I ignored the signs that my stomach was full and afterward, my meal came back up. I ate myself sick. I was in a state. That was awful! Did this make me bulimic? Why did I do this?

It was awful because I had mistreated my body. I was not bulimic, because vomiting was my body’s response to my overeating, despite my mind willing it not to happen. I did this because I had a problem. Embarrassing as hell, I didn’t know how to stop eating. Even my cats know when to stop, but somehow I couldn’t get up to their level.


Not my cat, but still. Photo credit: my Dad's Facebook page

Since that day, I have been to exactly one buffet, where my mom’s influence (she lost a lot of weight years ago and has since been the queen of healthy eating) kept me from going back for plate after plate. Almost everything I eat now is pre-packed, either with wrappers, tupperware from my meal prep, or naturally in a peel (hello bananas and oranges). I’m slowly teaching myself to listen to my body again. It’s okay to clean a plate if I’ve already portioned out an appropriate amount of food for that meal. I almost always do, but last Friday, I brought home leftovers from a restaurant.

It’s a slow process, and the medication is helping ease the stress of food and control, but I can feel myself getting better at it. I can enjoy beautiful food photography without getting outrageous cravings, and I’ve practiced eating slowly and mindfully enough to enjoy what I’m tasting and register when I’m satisfied. I pay attention to eating healthy foods, but the number of calories isn’t the determining factor anymore.

IMG_4939.JPG
Confession: I wrote this 2 weeks ago and have been working up the nerve to post it.

Tomorrow, I’ll be modeling at another promotion. I’ll be among other models who may be skinnier than me, may eat more than me, or may eat less. As team lead, I’ll give them breaks and encourage them to get food to keep their energy levels up. Most of all, I’ll be mindful of what disordered eating is, since we need to put our health first. It’s a question that the fashion industry often forgets to ask of it’s most physically active members: Have the models eaten?

xo,

Cecilia

Sort:  

Thank you so much for posting this, even though it was vulnerable and scary. That took a lot of courage! I think more people need to know 1) about eating disorders in general, and 2) how the fashion industry ends up pushing people into eating disorders. I was just last week teaching my 8-year-old son about eating disorders so he can be aware and watch out for that kind of stuff with friends. I've been fascinated my modeling, sort of a secret romanticized fantasy of being a model one day (I'm 38, so that's not going to happen....), but I've heard so many stories like this where ladies wind up with eating disorders or starving themselves and making themselves so unhealthy just to be skinny enough to work. So sad :( I'm so glad you're doing better and getting a handle on your eating so you can be healthy....both physically and mentally. Keep fighting! Your health is worth it!

I really appreciate you being supportive! I think a lot of people recognize that eating disorders can be a problem in the fashion industry, but don't know what to do about it. After all, no one ever told me I had to lose weight; I decided that I had to in order to be more competitive. How do you approach that in such a competitive industry? The industry itself is changing some, but too slowly.

Also, good for you, teaching your son about it. I had a friend in high school who had anorexia, and though I noticed that she seemed unhealthy, I never said anything about it. She ended up in the hospital and almost died, and I always thought that one of us should have done something about it. She's been doing better in the years since, but teaching your kids to watch out for their friends is a wonderful thing to do.

Thank you for having the courage to post this. It is a very powerful and moving story and I can relate to your struggle and pain. I am much older than you and it took me decades to get a better understanding of my emotions and food. I still eat sometimes when I am not hungry but now I ask myself what is the emotional trigger and then just forgive myself.....those pesky emotions!!!!

Forgiving yourself is a great philosophy! You wouldn't expect food to be such an emotional response, right? I'm glad you read the post, and it makes me feel a little better to know that other people have gone though similar challenges.

Have you ever read "Wasted" by Marya Hornbacher? It's an excellent book on the topic and is also a fascinating read. Her ED is very severe. It can be very triggering, so don't read it if you aren't in a good place. Take care of yourself girl!

I haven't read it, but I've read some other books and articles on eating disorders. I'll have to check it out sometime... and thanks for reading it. It was nerve-wracking to post, even though I'm doing better!

I bet this wasn't easy to share. You said as much. That's why I love it...it's real and honest and vulnerable. Really proud of you for this post for your openness! Upvoted ✌🏾

Thank you! Most of my stories are much lighter and easier to post, but this was something that I felt I had to share. I appreciate you being kind and supportive about it.

Yes, but your other posts don't have "you" really in them. They are just lovely updates and "how to" posts... THIS one though, was the real deal. Love. ❤️

Thank you. That really means a lot :)

touching story <3

Thank you for reading :)

Thank you for revealing a piece of yourself and giving a glimpse into the stressful world of modeling. It's incredible how a career can have such an impact on your health and decisions.

Of course I write this as I fight a migraine from too much screen time because I choose to write for my living...

Thank you for taking the time to read it! Also, take care of yourself and listen to your body. You'll feel better :)

The industry is super tough. The constant struggle to fit an ideal that most of us come no where near and the advancement in technology that helps to point out all of our "flaws" can really be a stressful thing. I'm glad to hear that you seem to be looking for healthy ways to maintain a safe and healthy weight for you while remembering that weight does not determine who we are or how good we are. Rock on Cecilia. Take care of yourself and don't let the weight struggle keep you down. There are tons of us struggling with weight issues. You are not alone and you are amazing!

Thank you so much! I think that, though personally I was never at an unhealthy weight, my fixation on how much I lost or gained and how I got there was not good for me. At any weight, I'll see my flaws, just like how even the most beautiful or successful people have insecurities. I guess it's part of our society and part of what makes us human. Thank you for being kind and uplifting :)

Thank you so much for sharing about your struggles with an eating disorder and anxiety. I admire your courage and vulnerability, and I am confident that your story will positively impact readers with similar experiences.

Have you ever read any material related to "Intuitive Eating"? Here is a link to a post I read a couple weeks ago that I found encouraging and liberating: http://www.hummusapien.com/eating-intuitively-helped-live-intuitively/

I struggled with an eating disorder a few years back, and like you, much of my battle stemmed from an overarching anxiety disorder. Over time I have slowly transformed my relationship with food by adjusting my mindset and rejecting feelings of shame associated with food. I can't imagine how difficult recovery would have been if I was working in the fashion industry at the time. I admire your resolve to prioritize your health, and I am sure you will be a light to many other women in the industry who face similar struggles.

Thank you so much for sharing that post with me. I love her line, "Living without extremes is a beautiful way to be!" The mindset is a tricky thing, especially because we get such mixed messages from everywhere. I always had a healthy appreciation for food, not just eating but also cooking and nutrition, but my mindset about it got totally warped. I'm glad that you were able to relate, and I do hope to be a light like you said :)

I'm really happy you enjoyed the article! I love that line about living without extremes too. I'm someone who tends to go all-in or all-out with everything I do, so I'm still learning to live with balance. I think we all are. :) I look forward to reading future posts about your journey to overcome the craziness of the fashion industry!

Thanks! A lot of the stuff I do is more commercial or promotional, so I don't face as much craziness as some models do, but I come across some good stories and cool people. So the journey goes!

How is this article truly related to fitness?

From my perspective, Cecilia's post is definitely fitness-related because it touches on multiple facets of fitness- physical health, dieting, weight-loss, exercise, mental health, etc. These areas are all offshoots of fitness, and her piece explores their interconnectedness. I really like how she emphasizes that dieting and exercising are only healthy in the proper context and that physical fitness can actually be harmful if it wreaks havoc on your mental health.

Fair enough, I didnt see it from that perspective thank you!

I suppose it's not fitness advice or information, but it was through diet and exercise that I lost weight before it developed into an eating disorder. Then, the eating disorder affected my fitness level, though I still worked out. Now, recovering from the eating disorder has taken effort, and a lot of it is the same effort that people use when trying to become more fit (i.e. meal prep and portion control, like I mentioned in the story), though I was hoping to convey a theme that as models (or as people in general), we can lose sight of what true health and/or fitness really is.

I think it's extreme gymnastics ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46