When the ignorance of people take the spotlight.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1498915495356.jpg
My niece Mia, who is finally in remission from high risk B cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia, was out with her family yesterday. They were having a nice family day in a public area when the ignorance of humans showed its ugly head.

FB_IMG_1498611466597.jpg

Mia and her mom over heard a few older women talking about Mia. She is finally starting to grow her beautiful hair back since the chemo took it. It wasn't "looking at the strong and brave little girl" or "Aww, look at this happy family out enjoying the day". These older women said that it is a disgrace that this mother is making her son wear a dress. Mia heard this and was very upset.

First off, what some one decides to wear in relation to their gender is none of these women's business. Second, don't ever judge a book by its cover. You never know what someone is going through. Most of the time you'll end up looking like an ignorant fool.

How has it come to be that we live in a world where people pull others down instead of helping to lift them up? These kinds of actions baffle me. The world needs to follow the example of the Steemit community where people help people.

Thank you you for reading and for your support.

You can read Mia's journey here and you can meet Mia's biggest support, her brother, here.
#minnowsupportproject #minnowsupport

Sort:  

Wear all the dresses, whatever makes you feel the most free.

RAGE.

I am trying to win a contest in which most votes wins 33 whaleshares, proceeds will go to my niece. She's the only reason I'm blatantly asking for a vote. If would be interested in supporting, we sure you appreciate your vote. Thank you.
This link will bring you to the contest page and have my comment highlighted.
https://steemit.com/contest/@gmuxx/contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post#@bronxb17/re-gmuxx-contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post-20170706t000342898z

All the best wishes to your niece. I went through the painful experience when one of my family was diagnosed of stomach cancer. He fought so hard and still couldn't make it. As a family, the pain was unbearable. It's such a good thing that you've done for your niece. Resteemed!

I'm sorry to hear that. Thank you for support.

I am trying to win a contest in which most votes wins 38 whaleshares, proceeds will go to my niece. She's the only reason I'm blatantly asking for a vote. If would be interested in supporting, we sure you appreciate your vote. Thank you.
This link will bring you to the contest page and have my comment highlighted.
https://steemit.com/contest/@gmuxx/contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post#@bronxb17/re-gmuxx-contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post-20170706t000342898z

I've sent a donation from the Giving Steem initiative for Mia and Eli to share. Please could you make sure they receive it? I hope it makes beautiful Mia smile and Eli too. Take care.

GivingSteemSmall1.jpg

I will make sure the receive it. Thank you for your support.

Maybe it will help to understand that people who make judgments and comments like this are doing so from a position of weakness, not strength.

Inside, they suffer from self-doubt and feelings of inadequacy and need to bring others down in order to make themselves feel less worthless.

Your niece is a bright, shiny star in the universe and stars care not for the petty attacks made by insignificant people living in the darkness that they bring light to.

That is very inspiring. Thank you. I will pass it along to them.

I am trying to win a contest in which most votes wins 33 whaleshares, proceeds will go to my niece. She's the only reason I'm blatantly asking for a vote. If would be interested in supporting, we sure you appreciate your vote. Thank you.
This link will bring you to the contest page and have my comment highlighted.
https://steemit.com/contest/@gmuxx/contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post#@bronxb17/re-gmuxx-contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post-20170706t000342898z

you've got my upvote.

Good luck.

It's appreciated.

Sent randowhale along. Please buy your niece something nice

Will do, thank you for your generosity!

That's disgusting! How dare they. People can be so cruel.

Resteemed and gave you a rare @gmuxx 100% - sorry it's not worth more

I'm with muxxy 100% Upvote and a Resteem!

Good man

Thank man, it is really appreciated. I used this post for the GG Giveaway contest. I messed up on the time frame for the post payout. It pays out in 2 days. Will I be DQed or should I change my url? Regardless, I can't thank you enough for the support!

The competition has changed due to higher prizes. The winners will win whaleshares to spend as they like

OK. Thank you.

Upvoted & resteemed to raise awareness. Thank you for sharing & no, people should never judge by appearance. Bless her!

Thank you so much for your support.

I am trying to win a contest in which most votes wins 33 whaleshares, proceeds will go to my niece. She's the only reason I'm blatantly asking for a vote. If would be interested in supporting, we sure you appreciate your vote. Thank you.
This link will bring you to the contest page and have my comment highlighted.
https://steemit.com/contest/@gmuxx/contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post#@bronxb17/re-gmuxx-contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post-20170706t000342898z

For me the worst part about this is the fact that they were over heard. It wouldn't be cool or fair for her to hear this. That doesn't change the point that it is shameful to have that view at all. People are sick. For many reasons. Times are changing too and you think about 20 or so years ago the topic was different. Before it was racism and over generations it started to change. Now the difference in opinions is gender and the sort. I am still wishing your niece the best and am happy that she is doing well. I am sure these are hard time for your whole family and I am still keeping you and your in my mind and heart. :)

She will be a very strong girl and women yet!
Promoted and Resteemed

Thank you. Your generosity is greatly appreciated.

I am trying to win a contest in which most votes wins 33 whaleshares, proceeds will go to my niece. She's the only reason I'm blatantly asking for a vote. If would be interested in supporting, we sure you appreciate your vote. Thank you.
This link will bring you to the contest page and have my comment highlighted.
https://steemit.com/contest/@gmuxx/contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post#@bronxb17/re-gmuxx-contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post-20170706t000342898z

What in the actual f*ck? I hope they made those women feel horrible. I would've. I would've told them all about what my daughter, in her dress, had been through. People are so so so dumb sometimes! !!! Ugh! !!

My sister wanted to but Mia was upset so it was easier to just leave, unfortunately. Thank you for your support.

I am trying to win a contest in which most votes wins 33 whaleshares, proceeds will go to my niece. She's the only reason I'm blatantly asking for a vote. If would be interested in supporting, we sure you appreciate your vote. Thank you.
This link will bring you to the contest page and have my comment highlighted.
https://steemit.com/contest/@gmuxx/contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post#@bronxb17/re-gmuxx-contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post-20170706t000342898z

Mia looks a really happy girl! It has a laugh so cute in the last photo, transmits the joy. It made me smile without me wanting it just by imagining how happy she must have been at that moment. But these women could not see that, they are what I would call a really "poor human being" and I am not talking about money ... "for foolish words I have deaf ears" as we say in Cuba in this case.
I'm sure Mia is going to be a very strong and beautiful woman in the future. :)

Thank you for your kind words.

I am trying to win a contest in which most votes wins 33 whaleshares, proceeds will go to my niece. She's the only reason I'm blatantly asking for a vote. If would be interested in supporting, we sure you appreciate your vote. Thank you.
This link will bring you to the contest page and have my comment highlighted.
https://steemit.com/contest/@gmuxx/contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post#@bronxb17/re-gmuxx-contest-gag-giveaway-3-x-5-whaleshares-on-your-post-20170706t000342898z

Look, some people Cant understand situations like that, because they havent lived it ,or because they dont have the values ​​and common sense, to understand ...
As we say in my country:
To foolish words, deaf ears.
A palabras necias, oídos sordos; in spanish.
No one has the duty to understand the other.
Just be grateful with who can understand ...
Give thanks to God, because your beautiful girl, and her family passed that proof so difficult, and be happy...
Greetings from Venezuela.
God blees you!

We greatly appreciate your kind works and support. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39