Be BLUER than GreensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

1 Bluer.png

I want to be BLUER.

My hope is that my children will want to be BLUER as well.

God willing, the desire to be BLUER will not stop with them but will continue far beyond 7 generations. This hope is not only for my posterity, but also for my fellow man.

Sadly, I have not always thought this way.

Like most, I lived a life that was very short sighted, very myopic in my day to day activities. I wouldn’t have considered myself to be greedy or materialistic, but in truth, I was just that. Without realizing it, I made my pursuit of happiness all about making money.

Do not wear yourself out to get rich; do not trust your own cleverness. Cast but a glance at riches, and they are gone, for they will surely sprout wings and fly off to the sky like an eagle. Proverbs 23:4-5 NIV

Whether this notion was a result of effective corporate marketing or simply ingrained in my psyche through societal observation the result was the same: I believed that having money, more money , always MORE money, was the root of all happiness. Since money is what I thought could make me happy I chased whatever opportunities presented themselves that would bring me the biggest ROI. I was wrong! This was an empty and vain pursuit.

MONEY-HAAPY-ANIMATION (1).gif

A major part of my problem was that I had no vision. Not as in "20/20", but as in "forward thinking."

I was like a rudderless ship sailing from one money making venture to the next with no clear plan on how to build the kind of life that would bring true happiness. You see, I didn’t know then what I know now. The secret to true happiness isn’t money or the “stuff” that money can buy.

The secret to true happiness is building wealth!


“Wait a minute!” You may protest, “I thought you just said that money couldn’t buy you happiness?”

You’re right, young grasshopper, I did say that, and no it can’t.

Please, do not, I repeat, DO NOT confuse money with wealth.

Sure, money can help you create wealth, but it is not wealth in and of itself. Money is just one tool out of many that can be used to build real wealth. Wealth is so much more than just material possessions. It can’t be merely measured on a balance sheet or in a portfolio of investments.

I've come to know and believe that true wealth is found in the acronym B.L.U.E.R. Building Legacies Utilizing Earth’s Resources. I believe that all wealth is derived from land, which ultimately comes from the LORD.

I don’t know where I heard that originally. I’ve been searching for the source of this sentiment, but haven’t had any luck tracking it down. So, if any of you are aware of its origin and can make it known to me, I would greatly appreciate it.

Think about it. Our food, our fuel, our building materials, our habitations, our industry all come from natural resources which come from land. Gold and silver come from land. Oil and coal come from land. Timber and water come from land. Everything tangible comes from land!

In upcoming posts I will unwrap the nuances of what being BLUER is and what it looks like in everyday life.

Thanks for reading. If you found this post inspiring or amusing, be sure to follow or upvote. Much appreciated!

As always,

Bluer is Better!

Bluer is Greener!

Be Bluer than Green!

Sort:  

It seems you equate happiness with the pursuit of abundance or the pursuit of value.

To that I say, "Let's just barely get bye, I don't even try." -Beck

I found that just barely getting by isn't generally a state that people want to be in for long because it is very stressful. And where there is a lot of stress there generally isn't a lot of happiness. Now contentment in that situation is truly something to be admired and strive for. If you are talking about living a minimalist lifestyle then yes that can be quite rewarding and Blissful in and of itself. Not being encumbered by the trappings of this modern world can lead to a lot less stress if your basic needs are met.

I am absolutely talking about minimalism. Simple is bliss.

I agree as long as your basic needs of food, water, shelter, energy, security and relationships is met. If I grow my own food and husband my own animals, draw clean drinking water, provide my own energy needs and have meaningful relationships with family and friends then I am living simply and abundantly. It doesn't matter if that's on 1/4 acre or 1000 acres. Abundance and minimalism can be rather subjective, don't you think?

Money may not buy happiness, but neither does being broke!

In my opinion, money makes a good person better, and a bad person worse!

Or perhaps comparing it to manure... Pile it up, and stinks to high heaven! Spread it around and you can fertilize an entire field and create so much life!

Creating life is very much creating true wealth. Good analogy.

Good stuff. For years I worked multiple jobs trying to make a little more money. Finally I realized how much I was missing out on. How absolutely stressed I was. How that all affected my family and marriage. I'd rather stay at home with my family, work one job (until I don't have to anymore) and do what I can to grow and raise quality food to offset the cost a little. Still learning that part, but learning indeed. I believe that with this platform I can eventually do more to reach others and help them. I'm looking forward to more on being bluer.

Sounds like we have walked and are continuing to walk the same path my friend. No wonder I like your posts!

This is strange in my opinion :|

The post in general or something in particular?

Funny money

We will soon learn how you got your "Ferris Bluer's Day Off".

That's great! If I do make a witty post about that I'll give you 20% of my rewards.

As a wall plaque in our camper states...... "It's not about getting what you want, it's about wanting what you've got". Not sure of the origin of that statement, but I have found that relationships are far more important than stuff. Also, more stuff does not mean more happiness. Congrats on purchasing your land.

Thanks @grandpa-pepper! Family and friends are indeed the most important ingredient to true wealth.

Wealth = Legacy

If my family tree grows from rotting land,
that doesn't mean I can't spread and sow a different seed on fertile land.

Wealth is legacy.
Riches can mean different things for so many different people but life is cyclical. The same way you created riches can be the same way the next generation shall squander their fortune.

The Roosevelt's will forever remain in history because of 'State parks'
Just as Ned and Dan shall forever be famous for...
Well let's see what more they have to offer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3358.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49