The Barman is Brown Bread

in #life5 years ago

vnjsfiba7l.png

My wife made me take up drinking again. I am way better fun to be around and I am not so stressed out about work. Also she was mad to watch Greys Anatomy so she kicks me out. (And before anyone incinuates in the comments, I'm too big of a catch to have an affair on!). I used to drink quite alot. Unlike my uncles I was never an alchy. My uncle was such an alcoholic that he would spend all his wages on drink at the weekend. To combat this he began posting £20 to himself on Friday so he would receive it in the post on Monday. He could then eat for the rest of the week. Acutely aware of my genes I never drink at home apart from wine with my meal. Whenever I drink I go to the pub with a couple of friends and it is more the social aspect of getting out and having a laugh. I can never have 1 or 2. If I am out , I am out and I drink until they kick me out. While I was in Germany the bars did not close until 5am so I did drink alot more while I was there.
The nights out in Frankfurt would begin at 8pm in the Anglo irish in Sachsenhausen, a great pub that I really recommend if you visit the city. This would close at 5am. We then would walk down the road to a club called the Cave. Noone really knew of this. It was a strange strange place. The club was a quirky 60's nightclub and everyone would be dressed in Austin Powers gearlike rainbow shirts and brown flares giving it loads to the flower power music. This would close at 7am. Barbarossa (the early house) which was run by an elderly German gentlemen well into his 80's called Paul would open at 7.30 am and we would go in to have our last drink before Macdonalds opened at 8am. We would then head there to get a Mcmuffin breakfast. Everywhere is closed in Germany on Sunday so I would retire to the bed and wake up around 3pm.

bhfhdkxkl0.png
img
Barbarossa was an interesting establishment. Paul ran his pub strictly and never served anyone that was too drunk. But the irony was that Paul opened at 7.30am in the morning. Who wasn't slaughtered at that stage?? So you had to pretend you were fine which was hilarious. If you passed the test Paul would then put two shots on the counter. Always sambucha. He would have one and I would have one. But the mad thing was that he would do this with everyone. I looked around 1 morning and there was well over 30 people in the pub. Paul could bearly stand he was so drunk. The other barmen used to go there after work so they would help Paul out if the pub was too full after his 20 something shots of Sambucha. They loved Paul and made sure he was always alright and not taken advantage of. His wife was always around as well to lock up at 10am so it was always a nice atmosphere compared to other early houses I have been to in the past.
tzr0vx1zb8.jpg
All the Gang in the Anglo

We did this schedule every Saturday for around two years. It was brilliant and I have so many great memories in these 3 places. We lived for the Saturday night in Frankfurt and it was always an adventure. I was coming to the end of my time in Frankfurt. Myself and my friend Carmel were outside Barbarossa waiting the half an hour for Barbarossa to open its doors at 7:30am. As usual Paul opened the doors to around 15 of us waiting outside. I got a drink and as per usual I received my shot off Paul. He drank his and his usual saying:

Hau vec die scheiss which translated to Down the shit

Carmel's boyfriend Styx walked in around 8am. He too asked for a drink and got a sambucha first as usual. Paul poured his and drank it. He fell back like a tree falling. Everyone giggled and the regulars went in behind the bar to pick him up. Happened alot. The only thing was ... Paul was brown bread. There was no pulse and an ambulance was called and confirmed our fears. This is the first and last time someone died in my vicinity. The thousands of shots of Sambucha finally caught up with Paul. ThE regular barmen ensured the pub was closed but that was the end of Barbarossa. It was the end of an era.
A year later one of the guys in my local took it over and it is now called Drinksmiths bar and they are doing well by all accounts under Zach who is from South Africa. Lovely chap and you should pop in.
sd5js2621e.png
My night in the new Drinksmiths

Apart from a barman dying beside me I have always had a positive time with alcohol and a good night out can be great for the mind. I don't drink at all anymore because a hangover with a 2 year old is hell on earth and unfair on her. But a shove out the door once in a while is very welcome.

I will leave you with a quote from old blue eyes Frank Sinatra:
“I feel sorry for people that don't drink because when they wake up in the morning, that is the best they're going to feel all day.”

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Lolz. It may not be not unencouraged, but you know too anything is not good. Paul's case is a beautiful example.

To big of a catch huh? Keep telling yourself that ....

😂😂😂. I’m some bird.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh my... The barman next to you died? Seriously? Due to alcohol poisoning?

It was a heart attack actually but the shot probably lead to it . Yeah it was mad . We ended up in the bar on our own and no one behind the counter while he went in the ambulance.

Thank you for your reply! Sorry to hear about the barman. My condolence.

I'm a lightweight in denial too;
"If I am out , I am out and I drink until they kick me out."
Gotta love your honesty about it though.

Oh, and sorry to hear about the barman.

Thanks for the condolences . He was a fine barman . He died while doing the job he loved 😀

Lovely post! Sounds as though you had such a great time!! Wow those bars are open late! I'm in the wrong place 😂 the cave sounds pretty cool! :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @blanchy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.237 which ranks you at #8174 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 101 places in the last three days (old rank 8275).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 257 contributions, your post is ranked at #191.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 49.03% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blanchy!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD or the respective amount in Steem. Vote value is 150% of the bid.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

what the?? sir blanchy! so you still drink or you don't drink? I read conflicting reports on the status of your drinking habits sir blanchy? Were you drinking when you wrote this fluff?

Rarely nowadays ! Fluff?? Thank you very much for the kind comment!

Posted using Partiko iOS

lol! sir blanchy! I decided that I'm been entirely too nice to people lately, it's ruining my reputation!

Well this --fluff -- just got curied again. One mans rubbish is another mans treasure!😜

haha! congratulations sir blanchy but you misunderstand me! fluff is not rubbish, in fact it would normally be a compliment for posts, it means light and playful in the American connotation or should I say redneck connotation!

It means the same here and It’s far from a complement ! But that’s OK because I’m heading over now reading your fluff ! 😂😂

haha! well it depends on what kind of post you're doing, it could be a great compliment but if it's a serious post no. Isn't it a little more interesting when people tease you? Maybe I'm daft or something though.

I love a bit of abuse @janton. Its the old catholic guilt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61269.43
ETH 2982.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70