Conversations With Sam

in #life6 years ago

What do you mean you don't talk to your dog? Does he not like you?

Sam 416-1.jpg

Just generally speaking, this is how Sam reacts when we are having a conversation. He knows that when I'm talking to him it is really important so he gives me his undivided attention. Sometimes. Well, once.

When he's not looking at something more interesting or rolled over on his back looking for a belly rub. I have never once rubbed Sam's belly but he is a persistent cuss, and will roll over on his back at least a couple of times a day thinking this might be the time.

SamSleeping-1.JPG

We typically do not have meaningful conversations when he is in this posture, he's sound asleep. Part of having meaningful conversations with any dog is watching body language because basically they have no real way to respond so you have to judge his reactions on the fly. The tail wagging is easy, he likes what I'm saying. Sam basically is wagging his tail when he's not sleeping so it takes a little more observation with him.

Eye contact is a serious part of doggy conversation. When he's looking right at me like the top photo I have his undivided attention. It's a good idea to talk fast or he'll be looking at the door or towards his food bowl or searching for flies.

Sad Sam_0093-1.JPG

This is an OK posture for conversational purposes. He's pouting about something, possibly photons. He's in charge of counting photons every morning before we go for our walk. Even in the brutal heat of summer we can't leave too early. Part of our walk cycle is 'off the lead' time in the desert. Sam may be able to smell the snakes and avoid them but I have to see them, so we have to wait until there are enough photons in the air to see snakes. Sam understands this perfectly.

SamPest-1.JPG

So I've had a couple of small health issues lately, and I knew it was time that Sam and I had the talk. Not that talk, he got tutored before he left the pound to come live with me. Even though he's a full flegged adolescent I am thankfully out of THAT talk.

I told Sam that he needs to look out for me a little better. I mean it is of critical importance to him. He needs to be hyper vigilant with my health because, as I told him yesterday, if he doesn't I could die.

Not that would be a big deal in the overall scope of things, but Sam would have to hope the door was open because his discouraging lack of thumbs prevents him from going outside by himself. If the door were closed when I expired it would have huge consequences. There's quite a lot of food available most of the time, so that probably wouldn't be a problem but water. Once his bowl got empty he'd have to go to the toilete and well, he doesn't even know that is potentially drinkable. And lacking thumbs and operational knowledge of that device he'd get thirsty long before he got hungry enough to chomp on my decaying carcass.

And the poop. He's such a good boy he wouldn't go in the house until he was ready to explode. Literally.

Most important: We keep his dog treats on top of the refrigerator and I don't think there is any way he could get them himself.

Sam this morning-1.JPG

So I watched his body language intently, knowing that this is potentially devestating news for Sam. Fortunately, he seemed to accept it just fine and started looking at the door, probably to go poop just in case the end was nearer than he thought.

So this is Sam in his normal spot and attitude for this time of day. It looks like I probably didn't scar him for life with our talk of yesterday. I'm glad, he really is a good boy.

Yes, that is dog hair in front of the couch. Sam is supposed to vaccum but I guess I'll probably have to do it for him. Again.

All words and photos in this post are mine. For better or worse.

The STEEM Engine

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

I am sorry to hear about your health issues. This post was so adorable and made me laugh and smile. 😊 I love Sam’s expression in the first photo when he was “listening” to you. 😄 I think it’s quite precious when people have conversations with their pets. I hope he steps up to the challenge to watch over you more.

Ahhh, thanks. It's really nothing serious, just the crap that happens at my age. Of course, Friday I had a headache and I was pretty sure it was a brain tumor and I had a week to get my affairs in order :)

He's a really good boy, he'll take his responsibilities seriously, I'm sure. Long as I have begging strips on top of the fridge at least...

I’m glad to hear it’s not serious. I get bad headaches where it’s hard to function.

Haaa I hope you have a nice supply of those!

You had better not be checking out anytime soon on us. We still have a lot of talking to do you know.
Dogs most definitely know what their owners are saying, at least I know our dogs do. I am also pretty good at reading the body language on our little schnauzer mutt we have, he has been with us five years. The boxer dog I haven't got her figured out yet, she is only a year and half old right now but there are a couple tell tale signs I have noticed.
Sam seems like the perfect dog, except for the shedding, but that is a small price to pay for such a great companion.

The dog hair struggle is real for sure so you get no judgement from me. My dog has a lot of the same behaviors as Sam. She is a wild child though and I seriously think she has some deep underlying trauma from being a rescue dog. I tell everyone she is special needs because she seriously has some anxiety issues. She gets nothing but love from us though!

I think we need to get Sam on Discord, or at least Whatsapp. He needs to know who to call if something goes wrong.

It's that discouraging lack of thumbs again. I suppose we could put him on discord and teach him push to talk, but he doesn't talk, either. He's the strong silent type, don't you know...

He has Erv and Nancy. If Erv doesn't see Sam for a few days he'd come check. He'd be careful stepping over my body but Sam will be well cared for.

no man! stop this talk. you are making worried.

I'm glad you have people to look after you 💜

I have never had a dog, but have thought about it from time to time and this post makes me seriously think about getting one when I retire and will have time to take it for walks

I walked some prior to Sam. In the last 10 months we have missed 4 days because of just unavoidable conflicts. I can't believe how much Sam SHOWS me on those walks.

I can only imagine, I walk a lot so that would e ejust another excuse to walk, the problem is over winter I leave home and get home during the dark hours so having a dog now is not a good idea

LOL... Long live Sam! Ohhh, and you too, of course... 😬

Now I have two rooting for me to stick around. You and Sam :)

Hahaha... Yayyyy!

how handsome, so relaxed and calm
Happy day

He really is a wonderful dog. Most of the time. :)

haha I am a woman of cats, but dogs are my favorites, because of time problems are the cats the kings of my house

you're post makes me miss my dogs ...those that already pass away and those are still there...

I was 10 years with out having a dog, for one reason or another. Until I got Sam last December. I'm not sure just how I got by...

i feel you friend ...not all of us can handle the feeling when death make us apart ...
well i think i already use to it cause i regularly adopt stray dogs...so normally they are quite age when i adopt them...well at least i can provide them the happiest memories in their life

Me and Penny are glad to see Sam has you to train!

He's getting me pretty well organized. Good to see you and Penny!

cute and smart Sam :)

Posted using Partiko Android

He really is, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45