Why I Am Proud To Be An Introvert

in #life8 years ago

 No, I don’t actually live under a rock, but I’d say I’m pretty close. Throughout a typical day I interact with more than a few people. Whether it is people involving my job, family or friends, I have regular communication with people every single day. However, when I go home my communication with people dwindles to a cool zero. I find comfort in being alone in a room decorated with tapestries and Bonnaroo posters. I enjoy lighting all my candles and listening to the silence (or Pandora radio). I find happiness in sitting at my desk with a hot cup of coffee while silently working through my assignments. I adore lying in bed with the covers draped over my head while my cat is sprawled out next to me, purring. I am sure some of these things seem boring to the extroverts reading this and that is just fine. Truth is, I wouldn’t have it any other way. So here are a few things I believe that are some of the best things about being an introvert. 

1. You aren't stuck in everyone else's drama

I can’t begin to explain how annoying it is to be caught up in someone else’s drama that has nothing to do with me. One of the best things honestly is that you “fly under the radar” and stay to yourself. In some situations, it’s even fun to just sit back and watch people create chaos while you eat popcorn and sit in a lawn chair.

2. People don’t bother you with unnecessary gossip

If you have been an introvert for as long as I have, people already know that you don’t care to entertain gossip. In fact, most people know that you need a certain amount of time alone to function successfully throughout the day so they typically leave you alone anyways. Which is just fine. 

3. You are typically more in tune with animals than most people

Personally, I enjoy animals more than I do people. When I see a dog, cat, iguana, caterpillar or any other animal, I kind of freak out on the inside. I can’t explain why I love animals more but there’s just an unspoken connection that is irreplaceable. 

4. It gives you the time and space to truly get to know yourself

This takes lots and lots of time. If you are lucky enough to have enough time for yourself to truly find whom you are, then congratulations. It is often difficult to separate who you really are from what you do. So for example, my occupation is coach/student, but I am Courtney, lover of alone time, coffee, sarcasm and the Grateful Dead. See the difference? 

5. It provides you the energy and time to focus on things that truly matter

Having ample alone time helps you put time and effort into the things in life that are worth it. Case closed.

6. Being an introvert helps you relax

It is extremely relaxing to just sit and breathe. Life can be hectic and absolutely crazy at times and it really helps to be able to just unwind. It is essential to most introverts’ mental health and happiness. 

Being an introvert does not mean that you hate people, it simply means that you are not as social and are just fine with that. Many introverts like to sit back and watch, listen and observe. The fact is, the world needs BOTH introverts and extroverts. Our society is based on a mixture of everyone. So keep on being you, you space-needing-non-socializing-animal-loving introvert!

Image Credit: Wikia

Sort:  

We get our energy being alone as our opposite the extrovert gets their energy and relaxes interacting with people. Introverts take in all the details and the big picture when they socialize. That's why we get exhausted after 2 hours socializing. Also we can understand extroverts, but extraverts have a very hard time understand us introverts. I like your articals points, I do all of them. Most people don't understand we aren't shy, in fact we are very good at socializing and networking because we have to be smart utilizing our energy!

Though you can be shy AND an introvert. I used to be both, though am much better now.

I've never been shy, I can only imagine how exhausting that must be, congratulations for walking away from being shy!

Introverts make the world go around, extroverts just tell folks about it.

Thanks for the post. I am also an introvert and love it to get lost in my own thoughts :)
The only thing I would like to change is to be more comfortable with other people and especially strangers. Memories in life are made out of interactions with other people and I would love to build these memories easier.


Hi @ashlyns, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

I'm proud of my introversion. Wouldn't have it any other way. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39