Sort:  

Congratulations! This excellent post was chosen by the new curation initiative of the @postpromoter content promotion service to receive a free upvote!

This post exemplifies the type of great content that we at @postpromoter enjoy reading and would love to see more of on the Steem platform. Keep up the good work!

Wow,
thank you so much for your support.
Your effort motivates me a lot to carry on and work even more on my writing. Thank you again!

What a miracle!! Even after all the signpost you missed, you still ended up being reunited with them.

It is just so sad that your Aunt's children didn't receive the care they deserved while they were young. I believe it wouldn't have been so hard for them to locate their family then. I wonder why they had to do that.

I am glad you were able to find them, and I believe that has brought healing to them in a tremendous way.

Yes, since that time I try to observe better, what is happening around me to see the signposts. Still missing many I guess.

quote:
"It is just so sad that your Aunt's children didn't receive the care they deserved while they were young. I believe it wouldn't have been so hard for them to locate their family then. I wonder why they had to do that." end of quote

This is a very good question, I have asked myself the same question over and over again ... for what reason did "they" separate the children? For what reason, did "they" cut and block all connection to the other side of the family? I believe that there must have been a reason. I mean sure times were different in the 50s, but there must be any reason for this. I have been searching for an answer to that since 20 years and have come across some bits of information here and there concerning this, but still missing a big puzzle piece.

Yes, finally getting in contact again started a process of connecting again as well with the three children. I am happy that, at the end the healing process could finally start.

Well, we can't keep track of all the signpost but by paying a little bit more attention to the little details, we lose less of them.

Hopefully, you will someday get the answers to all of your questions. And if you don't, you will still be happy because you have found them now. I can only imagine how fulfilling that must be!!

Yes, definitely. Would be great to have a class in school learning about these signposts or at least learning a little bit more about how life works.
xx

It really will be!

Do you know... I've thought of the same thing! (of course we've had the same thoughts!)

I once thought of tellin a tale. there are these little things that I love - Russian Tea glasses - they're called podstakannik.

here is a pic

and the fancy ones are expensive... but I love the more common, worn ones. and i imagined.... they are the ones that were used more often! had seen more fun things... been involved in a lot more celebrations!

The other fancy ones? Probably locked behind glass on a shelf.

Who would tell the better stories? hehehehe I thought about telling a story from both of their perspectives! :)

so... yes - i see that beautiful bathtub and think - ohhhhhhhhhhhh so lovely! and what that tub must have seen! hehehehe

and i was giggling at the thought of you in your robe! asking the man about Ellendale! LOLOLOL

as for your family... it is unforgivable that they took those children away withouth seeking their German family! They were put into foster care and separated?!?!?! that makes me so angry!!!! And not just foster care - but foster care of people who didn't like Germans! What do people think??? these are CHILDREN!!!

but... the whole story. i'm so glad that you found your family! and brought healing!

i always look forward to more :)

This is definitely the reason why I love old artefacts and findings !!! When I feel into old things, that makes them so special.

What a beautiful tea glass this is.

I like also using old cutlery and plates as well. Actually not many things I have around are new, and if ... they are put together by me from old stuff and antique furniture, that I have painted and reused.

Yes, the bathrobe ... I was laughing when I returned to the room, I think I barely realised that I went down with the bathrobe on, in this situation .... hahaha

I cannot understand ... until today .... I don't understand why they did that. This is so unbelievable. Imagine just a day after your parents have died this way, they even separated the three children and then to select these people for them. How can anyone be so without a heart without any feelings and make such a decision?
Since they were put into the foster care until some weeks before that day in 1999, they have not been together again.

xx

Heartbreaking. I really do not understand the reasoning. I can't. I don't have that kind of mind.

It confuses and angers me that someone would traumatize those children even more - and to this day, to see the legacy of suffering. wow.

the tea glass - that one is just a picture from the internet hehehehe Mine is different. I packed it up in the move, so I'll get it out soon (and actually look for a new one to buy too!)

and your bathrobe. LOLOLOL soooooooooooo funny!!!!!! but that's what happens sometimes, right? just - the mind takes over and all sense of "normal etiquette" goes right out the window! LOLOL plus - it was a cruise ;) I'm sure your bathrobe was better than some of the bathing suits that people wear on deck! heheheheheh

Yes, this confuses and angers me until today and I think this will anger me also until the end of days.
Maybe I just have no mind to think like that, too. I could never ever do anything like that, this would simply break my heart and I would never recover.

You got a 13.97% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @postcurator!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Thank you so much for your upvote, this truly means a lot to me. Thank you from my heart!

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

Thank you very much for your upvote!!

Congratulations @anutu! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your post has been sent to the promoted section of Steemit.
Thanks for participating in our Followers Appreciation Promotion

Thank you very much for supporting my work!

Welcome to Steem, @anutu!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3271 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

If you go on like that, someone should film this story!

Hihi, yes, I think that life itself creates some of the best stories. Would be a cool idea to have a movie made from it. So many lessons I have learned through this story and so much lovely little stories come with it. Maybe ... more people would love to hear it.

yessssssss @ravijojla!!!! this is totally something from a movie!!!! It's so amazing... it just keeps twisting and turning and leading you deeper into the revelation of beauty, hope, joy, and love <3

Oh yeahh @ravijojla @dreemsteem ... I would love to see my story one day in form of a movie ... I guess this will never happen,
ohhh ... this is what I thought about finding my family when I was sitting in front of the picture at grandma's sofa.
I should never say ... never ... lol

Thank you so much @dreemsteem <3

Just beautiful Anutu. I can't wait to continue to read this amazing story. It's so incredibly sad that the children were separated and were brought up in such tough circumstances, but also so amazing that you found each other all these long years later.

E x

Thank you so much <3 there are still many puzzle pieces missing to fully understand why the separation happened and for what reason. I mean there must have been a reason for this. The separation really was one more huge trauma after the trauma.

When I started to write about it, I wan't sure if anybody would like to read it. What I felt is, that I have to write it down also for me in a sense. Felt like I had to put it on paper ... screen I mean :)
xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75