The-confessions-of-an-insomniac

in #life8 years ago

I woke up in the morning, and hovered over my feed then I posted a quote

“The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him no good”.

Apprehension is the first feeling I had. When I pushed myself on thinking what just happened previous night and my behavior towards my grandmother was unaffable.


Old age gets the best of people, and it happened in my grandmother case. The sweetest grandmother is suffering from Alzheimer’s patient. Hallucination has gotten the best of her, leading her to capture the present moments of what is going on in the present. The only reliable memory she has is of her past.



When and individual, who is not a senior citizen but also suffering from ailments have more trouble. Loss of memory causes her to hallucinate that her uncle has passed away today, and the incident took place 65 prior years ago. Her brain is the key player, which lacks control and decides between past and present. Somebody who considers herself as a teenager cannot comprehend the fact even if we reveal the truth.

The distinctive nature of those who hallucinates to the past has a difficult time to make them understand the current events. The number of things grandmother recalls is of past. At a greater extent, grandmother has picked up new habits like to wake up at graveyard timings to do specific things like go out, wash dishes, wash her clothes and have a decent shower and many other new things. You read it right, and my sleep has been disturbed.


I presume most of you are already aware of the menace created by the pigeons, and I had to skip few nights to deal with them, and I haven't slept entirely for over a month or so. I won't go into the technical details, but in somnolence can do to you. Perhaps God has made up his mind of test every inch of my patience and restrained what goes around. The effects of habitual sleeplessness have increased since I have to wake up early to be at my office on time. Thus results have rapidly increased.



As I have mentioned, my grandmother has woke up at graveyard time and did what her new habits do. When an individual is frustrated by the sudden changes. The raging fury inside of me, which has been put a rest with patience has outburst, and the secluded inner feelings have burst words on my grandmother. I have yelled at her so loudly she startled, and I have realized the love and respect I have for her. Boy, I have never felt the unhealthy emotion and the guilt has an unbearable effect on me and ended up having more of insomnia.


A baby boy is going to welcome soon into the family, and my sweet grandmother desire is to invite the child to the household and hold him before anyone else. For this very reason, he woke up early and ready for cloud nine. And she took the privilege for becoming the great-grandmother. The joy of child had cheered her up to a great extent. She was confounded by the child, and I was overwhelming happy, but I have remained calm and glad to watch her come out of yesterday's commotion. I knew that I owe her an apology for my awful behavior towards her. When we head back from the hospital, I slowly neared her and said sorry, and her reply was,


“What are you talking about? I’m not following it.”


I’m so glad that she’s forgotten it. I cribbed so much about her medical condition all these days, but finally, it was the same Alzheimer’s that came to my rescue. I was out of my guilt within a second; feeling much relaxed and happy. It was a sure shot lesson to me.

I was stunned and had no words to explain further details because she had forgotten, and I didn't want to bin it away. I assume, it is wise not to make her remember the grandson I was back then. Alzheimer’s came to my rescue and I was feeling relaxed and glad. A lesson learnt that day.


"No matter how complicated your issues are, the best resolution to it lies within"


Follow and Up Vote if u like it :)

Image Credits

Pixabay!

Imgur!

Sort:  

Hello @alwayzgame,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiative.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!
~RHW~

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66