Happy Thanksgiving Steemians!

in #life7 years ago

Today is Canadian Thanksgiving! My family did our dinner last night, right on the heels of my neice's first birthday party.

Charlotte, my first and currently only neice, is officialy one today. The first time I saw her, I almost cried, she was so beautiful. According to my brother, she looked like the baby on Ice Age.

FB_IMG_1507484134964.jpg

She is still the most beautiful little human I've ever seen. I may not have a clue what I'm doing, but I am so in love with that little bundle of energy!

20171007_220049.jpg

She didnt quite know what to do with her giant cupcake smash cake but she was all smiles when she saw it. It hadn't made her too happy to sit in her highchair watching all the adults eat adult cake. It was finally her turn!

20171007_221040.jpg

Once we put her on the floor (drop sheet pre-installed), she figured out what to do with that gooey goodness.

20171007_163718.jpg

Now for the turkey dinner! Except we did roast beef, my favourite!

20171007_192823.jpg

We have a tradition in our family. Every Thanksgiving dinner, we go around the table taking turns to say what we're thankful for this year. To my surprise, brother started us going but insisted on going counter-clockwise, making him last. Turns out, he and his wife had a special announcement to make, but since it's still technically a secret, all I can say is it rhymes with gravy! Any guesses??

While you're guessing, I just have to say how thankful I am for my parents. It's not considered cool, but they're my best friends. With them, I am completely un-self-conscious, completely convinced that they care about me, and they don't generally mind my sometimes inane conversation/monologues. What's more, they freely offer their time, energy, wisdom, conversation, affection, and food, without hesitation. They are all in.

20171007_192447.jpg
(Nana and Grampie enjoying their grandbaby. Don't they just look like the most wonderful people? @ramseyman and @karenmakescakes)

That's what I'm thankful for this year. I could never have made the changes I have without their support--verging on counselling--and their understanding to get me through the rough patches.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! May you all be as abundantly blessed!

Sort:  

Happy Thanksgiving to you too @allyoop! I am so thankful for your friendship, even if it's not cool. ;) What a great weekend we had with family and the exciting announcement last night. Great post! Loved the pics.

Awesome post Squeeshy; keep it up

Congratulations @allyoop! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87