Too much of anything is never good and that includes positivity (so please, fucking cut it out!)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Yeah I am just gonna say it: Sometimes, for some of us, we don't want the positivity.

We really don't.

Yes that said, we don't want to be happy, not at this time at least.

So please... all you bloggers, writers, life coaches, speakers, entrepreneurs or whatever, take your shit down a notch, and listen up:

1) Sometimes we don't believe in you and your methods

You can't just say, "This worked for me and therefore it will work for you." It doesn't work like that.

Just because it's worked for you doesn't mean it'd work for us. Just because it's something generally positive doesn't mean we give a shit.

Each of us are unique and different. 

You don't know us, and you don't know the things we carry.

There is an extremely specific solution out there for each of us and it's our job to find it. Stop preaching as if your solution is the end all and be all. That's arrogant.

2) Sometimes we're just not ready

Need I say more?

Would you attend a wake of a friend's mom and start preaching shit?

That's a morbid example, but you know what I mean.

In short, give us time. Just because you're happy and choked up with positivity doesn't mean that you're right.

3) You need to let us make our own mistakes

At least, for the things that are not drastically life-changing.

You can't coddle us. You shouldn't be overprotective. And most definitely, please don't smother us.

Shoving your positive lessons down our throats isn't going to help. 

That's how you raise millenials today who end up growing up to become extremely self-entitled.

And ever heard of blessings in disguise? Think big picture man.

4) Some of us just want to be unhappy and I think that's perfectly fine

That sounds weird. That sounds crazy even. Hearing that would go way over our heads.

But who the fuck really perfectly understands ourselves?

We're just human. Give us a break. 

We feel what we feel and we have that right. 

That right is called self-love.

That is acknowledging how we feel and that is the START to healing and recovery.

So many positive people today try to preach their shit to the point that they practically force people in pain to deny how they feel and that's not good. It's only going to resurface later.

So please... give us a break. We are not on the same page yet, but we will get there. 

5) Sometimes the solution is as simple as having a beer

Ever thought that all you positive, life-loving hippies are blowing things out of proportion?

Ever thought that you guys are the one with the problem as you think EVERY wrong needs to be righted when sometimes, you can just let shit go and not complain instead?

Ever thought that... you're one who's actually unhappy and your crusade for world positivity is a reflection of your own insecurities as you can't grasp why others don't follow your ways? (And then you get mad. I've encountered many of you before. You guys seriously need to get off your high horses. So much for positivity.)

Phew! Okay. Somewhat of a rant over.

I believe in this shit though.

Too much of anything is never good. You can't deny that.

Peace,

Alden

www.Alden-Tan.com

Here's a free book by me that isn't choked up with stupid cheesy advice: 12 Things Happy People Don't Give a Fuck About!

Sort:  

True, but your alittle on the extreem side.
Being positive is good in many ways, the biggest one is that it keeps you trying to better yourself.
If everyone walked around misserable and gave up after a tiny failure the world would have already killed itself by now.
Thinking positive makes people believe that overall, most people are good.
Although i have had times where all i want to do is listen to depressing music and relish in my self pity, in the end, its my positive thinking that gets me back up and doing life.
Without positivity, suicide would be the answer to most of lifes problems. In fact suicide is a big problem already and im sure there is correlation between the lack of positive influences and personal self-worth.
Anyways, nice rant but i would suggest for you to take a step back and realize the world is already full of negativity. Its much easier to be mad and negative than to brush it off and stay positive.

Suicide is also extreme. Being negative is also extreme.

So my article was extreme to be extreme and get heard. PEACE

I personally try to have the outward appearance of being positive because I'm constantly fighting the dark place. Yes. Sometimes I like to sit in the dark place because it's easy and I hate fighting it all the time. But I won't be fake about happiness. I think there's a very good reason why I have resting bitch face most of the time. But I can and will smile if that's part of my job (working retail). And I am not a happy baker - though some people may believe I am. I bake because I get the pound the shit out of something...which makes EVERYBODY happy. LOL
So, while I do advocate positivity - it's never with a tank of helium up my ass either. ;)

I have an RBF too! Yay!

Haha. At least you're honest!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

I actually agree with all of that. I do wonder if I've been a bit strong on the positivity side recently. Perhaps that's why I've taken to writing on a deeper level.

For me there needs to be a balance. We're human, we feel, we get sad. It's OK to feel sad. My Auntie died a few months ago, I cried a river! She was like a mother to me.

I think though, if there was no-one to preach shit then no-one would get the help they need. I mean I wouldn't have made the steps to turn my life around if I hadn't read a book that changed my entire perspective on life and 'forced' me to get the help I need.

I guess also what we need to consider is the filtration of information - if we don't need it right now then we either say, "fuck yeah, I agree with this shit" or just scroll past and ignore it.

It's helpful to those that need it, others, not so much - but it's there, and that's the main thing :)

I enjoy your writing regardless of what i think of positivity; a little bit of happiness is always needed. Mostly I admire your smart choice of using your beliefs as a niche, it has done well here and keeps steemit active.

Thank you! Probably the most uplifting comment I've read all day on anywhere I write. You just put a bounce in my step. And, it's comments like these that works wonders with people! :) Positivity done right! :)

True true.

I guess where I mostly come from is from the wretched state of the industry where money is involved. That's why all your self-helpers are being the way they are.

Money just fucks it all up and makes things tricky.

oh p.s. I'd take the 's' off your "https://" when you link to your ebook - I'm getting a security error.

Oh shit thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68