A Transwoman's thoughts: "Operation Anti Moral Illness" and effects here on Steemit

in #lgbt6 years ago (edited)

A couple days ago in Indonesia, police raided
some salons, detaining transwomen.

Police cut their hair, made then wear male clothes and making them attend "Morailty Classes."

"BANDA ACEH, Indonesia: Indonesian police forcibly cut the hair of a group of transgender women and made them wear male clothing, authorities said on Monday (Jan 29), amid a crackdown on the LGBT community in the world's biggest Muslim-majority nation.

The incident happened after police raided several beauty salons in conservative Aceh province on Sunday and rounded up a dozen transgender employees over claims they had teased a group of boys."

-Channel News Asia

You can read more about all over the internet now, but to make it easy you can click Here for Channel Asia News or Here for Newsweek.


I'm sure that it's not a huge shock for anybody that me, a transwoman in the middle of the USA, is not a fan of what's occurring in Aceh. Obviously I believe that LGBT+ members have to right to decide what is best for their own lives. You can even read my really old Introduction Post with some of my background if you'd like a little on an idea. Or if you're really not sure...there was THIS POST on the battle for LGBT protections in Springfield, Missouri, USA.

With all of this said...I can absolutely voice how wrong I think these actions are, get into details as to why...just like those who completely disagree with my point of view. We both believe we are 'right' in the matter....and I really don't expect to magically change their mind by writing a post.

HOWEVER....

I also believe in things like

  • Non-Aggression
  • People should be able to voice their opinion without fear of retribution from other Steemians
  • and that here on Steemit, only flagging things that fall under my subjective definition of abuse
    • I.E. I don't flag posts simply because I disagree with them. But I DO consider relentless personal attacks and threats to be abuse.

My Concern...here on Steemit

For a while now I've been working to organize, build and provide visibility for the LGBT+ community on here...and things are growing and coming together as I launch different pieces each week. We've also had a large number of people who have joined Steemit from Indonesia and Aceh. Personally, I want to be able to see both communities grow and successfully find their places in our "on-line society."

But with this latest news story, which had been making headlines across the world, I'm a little concerned with what can (and to slight degree, is) happen when these two communities come into contact with each other. On the one hand, I want both sides to be free to post about their opinions without fear of being flagged. On the other hand, I don't want to see threats thrown around such as the "destruction of an entire group of people."

However, I'm assume that not every single person in Aceh or Indonesia agree's with whats happening there and could have a problem when someone from across the world lumps them all together as 'being evil.' I have no doubt that many of us here in America would be appalled if somebody started labeling us all as being members of the Ku Klux Klan extremist group. Now, yes I know it's a bit different when there is government backing involved...which can make what some of us see as 'extremists' more at ease to loudly communicate their message. However, I still feel the general point here holds.

I want there to be some common understanding between these groups...at least enough to "live and let live" in some fashion.

I've personally found this to be a little bit of a tricky situation when mixing the "anarcho-libertarian-whatever" ideals the Steemit community tries to adhere to...with a a view based in rather conservative religion. As usual...I'm not really here to tell YOU what to do, but rather what I expect to do.

Things you can Expect...

Again...I am NOT here to tell you what do to...that is up to YOU! BUT...I can also choose to do what I want to do...and having a slightly higher stake in Steemit, I feel it also carries certain responsibilities. Even though I've been doing some of the LGBT+ organizing on here, I am by no means the sole voice for the entire group. I speak for me...I choose for me...and I'll give my opinions to advice the best I can and let them make their decisions.

Flagging is NOT something I enjoy doing...so I have a very good reason to use one or more. Yes, there is some subjectivity involved in defining what is abuse and what is a dissenting opinion...however, there are MANY things that are clearly over the line for me. On the flip of this, I don't exactly enjoy using my upvotes solely to Off-set flags. Yes there are times that I do when I see somebody receiving them for a very bad reason. (and yes..this to is admittedly subjective.)

So..I wanted to give both the LGBT and the Indonesian communities an idea of what they might expect from me. It's worth repeating here that I truly want BOTH groups to be able to exist here while maintaining the principles I listed above.

What the LGBT community can expect from me?

  • I am in no way going to stop you from posting what you want...how you want. But you must also accept with this that certain things can have consequences.
  • I won't upvote posts that are inflammatory nor attempt to offset flags. Generally it's easy for me to see when something could be taken by the opposing group as "being over the line" in their eyes. Even though I may not agree with them, it's within the principles listed above for them to flag things they find subjectively to be abuse.
  • I will NOT flag posts simply because I disagree with their opinion, view point, etc. This is better served via actual conversation if I wish to debate.
  • I very well MAY flag things that fall under my definition of abuse.

What the Indonesian community can expect from me?

  • I am in no way going to stop you from posting what you want...how you want
  • I won't upvote posts that are inflammatory nor attempt to offset flags. Generally it's easy for me to see when something could be taken by the opposing group as "being over the line" in their eyes. Even though I may not agree with them, it's within the principles listed above for them to flag things they find subjectively to be abuse.
  • I will NOT flag posts simply because I disagree with their opinion, view point, etc. This is better served via actual conversation if I wish to debate.
  • I very well MAY flag things that fall under my definition of abuse.

Yes...I know I have the same thing listed for both groups...but it makes sense doesn't it? It's true my time, energy and votes is more spent with the LGBT+ community (and others I'm a part of)...but that's only natural. I expect the same from those who have acquired some "responsibility" from holding some Steem Power.

All I ask is that we look for a way that BOTH communities are able to exist on here without fear of a giant Flag War!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you found this Helpful.


Click HERE for a list of All my Guides!

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Image Sources:
Cutting Hair

Sort:  

As I am in the forefront on this lately I will add my voice to this. I posted a small rebuttal post to some of the hateful posts tagged LGBT. Note I did not call anyone out, I did not @ anyone I gave my opinion about the government and police of that town only, so as not to blanket everyone in my statement. I did not down vote or comment on any post not LGBT labeled and hateful.
That is, in my view 100% in keeping with live and let live. Totally in line with the non-aggreshion principal and anarchic theory, I am not religious so that played no role.

When my post was attacked I responded by asking for help up voting that's it not retaliation. I also was attacked on several of my regular post bearing no inflamitory or derogatory speech they where just post about me, after that I again reached out for support but I did not ask nor did I down vote anyone that's a matter of record anyone can see.

I have been saying coexist from the beginning and asking only for solidarity and for them to not bait by using our tags, as I have shown the respect of not using their tags. @sykochica I am totally on this same wave length as I believe my actions have shown.

I did @ someone. Which is not to say that anyone else should have done so; just to say that in my experience, thugs only respect your ability to defend yourself. If they are willing to commit violence, they will do so whether or not I'm sitting around holding hands singing "Kumbaya". And at that point, experience has also taught me that intent is 90% of victory in combat. If someone wants to forcibly cut my hair, and I want to cut their throat, I have a far greater chance of survival than they do. I don't have a dimmer switch. It's on or off. I'd rather we all leave each other alone as the default position, but if I'm forced into a conflict, I can usually guarantee I'm willing to go farther than my enemies. Sure, this has made me a pariah in the LGBT community, who only want me around when they need someone to take bullets for them, but the haters out there better have no fucking doubt that I've taken bullets for them.

CDuV15RUIAAsF0d.jpg

I think by now you understand that I am the same way just a bit longer in the tooth and military trained. I don't dim nor do I back down and don't for a second think I was calling you out in my post. I was not, I got your back regardless of your play 100%

Again the non-aggression principal is not about no violence, when shots are fired you best believe i clap back loud.

I was purposefully doing what i did to show our strength, my post was inflammatory I don't back away from that one bit, but it was posted on my tags, my front yard, my property, not one tag was on there "turf" the point of the endeavor was to show that if you attack me on my lawn when i've caused you no harm you the attacker are wrong. I expected support and received it, now we move forward. Shots fired, gloves off. @ancapbarbie as you put it, we are already at war.

Agreed. I am never seeking to change someone, or even change their mind, because by the time we are school-age we are pretty much set in our ways. I didn't take your comment as directed at me in any way, I just wanted to make it clear that it was me, so any retaliation for it is at least directed at me and deflected from those who weren't responsible for it. I'm perfectly willing to be the attack dog, if it's necessary.

You raise a good point, perhaps THE point: Why don't they just stop using the #LGBT tag? I for one wouldn't have seen any of those posts, or gotten involved in this. It's a first-world problem, of course. We have the luxury to care about our online blogs. LGBT people in the real world are disowned, abused, harassed, tortured, raped, murdered ... at rates that would alarm polite society if it was almost any other demographic. That's what concerns me. That's why I fight. Because not everyone can, or will, and I hope to change the world so they don't have to.

I was trained by the military but was not in the military. I got a 1470 on my SAT and a 99 on the ASVAB in 1990, but every single recruiter who came to my house with their mouths foaming said (one of them verbatim), "We don't take your kind."

So I've fought for my country, for the principles it claims to uphold, often directly opposed by this country's governments.

So we are clear I take zero pride in the fact that i served, it was torture on every level for me, i try to make up for the fact that i took part in such awfulness daily. It is still true that i was trained there, and it mstters in how i present myself, it helps people understand my mentality i suppose, but i have no pride in the experiance. I survived it, thats all.

I think we are eye to eye on our approach and our goals. 100% WTF right? first world problem or not but stop using the tag and solve all the problems, you shit in my yard then burn my house down for yelling at you for shitting in my yard and im the asshole? People be backwards as fuck sometimes.

It breaks my heart to see how much discrimination against the LGBT+ community still exists in so many countries and I hope this platform helps spread awareness and support for those who are suffering. But I totally agree that a flag war is not the answer. I really appreciate your diplomacy in this. It is important that our voices are heard loud and clear and that we stand up for the oppressed but it’s just as important that we do it in a tactful, respectful way that gains the respect of others and allows those of differing opinions to really hear what we have to say.

I agree with your assessment here, even if we don’t agree with someone doesn’t mean we should flag them. I read a story on Steemit a couple days ago about this situation in Aceh and all the comments were in support of it. At first I was incredulous and a little upset by people being okay with strangers being forced to change in such a way, but then I read their comments again and it seemed they thought the actions of the police were good for the transwomen and the community together. It’s a tricky situation and one I’m not remotely prepared to discuss so I let it alone and decided not to dwell on the negative.

I am not surprised because I know that in such conservative areas like Aceh, it will take a very long time to change the head of governments and also people’s minds.
I am sad to see this!!

Terima kasih @sykochica atas infonya.semoga saya @rahmadzaini dapat belajar banyak dari anda .trims

Wow, that is pretty awful stuff happening in Aceh. I can't imagine going through that. You are a good soul and that fact that you are explaining what people can expect from you is pretty telling about who you are. I like what you are doing here and it will hopefully empower a lot of people to find their voice.

Yea...it definitely was shocking for me, to say the least. My 'reality tunnel' is so vastly different it really is hard to even imagine being in the general norms there.

I had to think on how I wanted to even approach this for a couple days, even having to just talk it all out with @scaredycatguide last night. But this is the root of what came out of that and I'm rather comfortable with what I wrote here. :)

well I'm glad you posted this.

Thank you! :D

People should be who they want to be with no threats or intimidation.

I think it is really important to segregate individuals fro their country as long as they are not spouting state dictated propaganda. Those poor girls who's hair they shaved off are Indonesian as well as the aggressors. Here in the U.S we have our own conversion camps and the climate is changing to the worse here to since the Orange leader took over office. We are best served by taking everyone on an individual basis. That being said I am not sure how downvoting works here yet or if it is the same as flagging. I do not think a post should be banned from sight but I would think it prudent to have some system where downvotes would have some sort of influence be it a sicker on the bottom showing how often it was disliked just so there is a visual cue for the author showing him/her that people oppose what has been said. In the end commenting on such posts and discussing the subject in their comment section is a good means of debating and also taking a stand .

since the Orange leader took over office.

Hahahaha! Sorry..that really did make me laugh! (I'm not exactly a fan either)

While some segregation my not be ideal in the end, we do somewhat have that already simply because of the language barrier (unless we choose to use a translator or happen to know both languages.) Personally I don't really have a desire be be getting up 'in their business'...having better things to do. BUT...this specific headline seemed to bring more contact between the two groups (with both using the indonesia and lgbt tags). Though it very well may be a short lived thing on here. I at least wanted to put my stance out there...ideally mitigating what I can.

And yes..flags are the same as downvotes here. When you flag somebody, it can reduce their payout, their reputation and if the flag has enough weight behind it, same grey out and 'hide' a post (you'd have to click a button or two to have it display.)

This is perfectly put and ideally is something we can all agree on:

We are best served by taking everyone on an individual basis.

Im Indonesian and this is so wrong. My oldest son has long hair (shoulder length) and he doesnt want to cut his hair. He is a boy that dresses like a boy, play soccer and play with toys that are meant for boys. So if someone would just chop off his hair because that person believes boys should have short hair, i would be very pissed. I live in the Netherlands and even here, many Dutch people believe boys should have short hair. But forcing someone to dress as they think they should is really wrong in my eyes.

I have yet to meet a person who enjoys being told what they can, or cannot, do. It boggles my mind how so many people are unable to grasp the simple concept of: "LIVE, AND LET LIVE."

Yes, I 100% agree!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46