6 hours more and the first missing piece - Landrover Defender Lego Build: Four

in #lego5 years ago

My Lego build is coming along well. Another stage is complete and now only stage four of the build stands between me and a competed Lego Landrover Defender.

Stage three went for 6 hours which surprised me to be honest as I didn't think it was going to be that technical - But it was. It came together well though and the build is now looking like an actual vehicle.

I had my first missing piece on this build during this stage which was annoying as it was right at the very end, a piece that goes into the door-window-frame section. It looked like the build would come to a standstill until I had a brainwave to pilfer the piece from one of the bags of pieces set aside for stage 4. I took a look and fortunately found the required piece and the build continued. I have already hit up the Lego site to order the piece which will take about 5-6 days to get here.

This is what the vehicle looks like right now, at the end of stage 3. As you can see the roof, doors, rear panels and door are now in place.

It started off looking a little like the Flintstones car initially as I built the framework for the roof however came together quickly. The rear door was a little technical as it has opening mechanisms to put into place however it all works well and as intended.

Above is the start of the build as the roof frame started to come together. It's obviously essential to make sure connectors and parts are all located in exactly the right spot as things won't line up later if they are wrong. I had to back-track a couple of times - No one's perfect.

The rear door is pretty cool as it opens and closes by way of a series of cogs and a latch. Eventually it will be operated by twisting the spare wheel mounted on the door however for now a little twist of the grey shaft sticking out of the door operates it - Luckily it works perfectly. Once the vehicle is complete it will a cool model with some tricky working parts, the door included.

Below you can see a closer view of the inner-workings of the rear door mechanism and the above image shows it closed up.

To date the build has now taken 16 hours and looking at the stage 4 parts I would say there's probably at least 6 hours left to go. I estimated this build would take me 24 hours all up so I think I won't be too far away from that guess.

I'm getting a lot quicker as I work through the build and have reorganised the way I present the parts to myself as I build too - I guess like everything the more it's done the more efficient one get's at it. I'm not trying to rush though as that will probably mean errors. I've made a few small ones that were easily fixed by a little back-tracking however I don't want to tempt fate. I've only had to dismantle one assembly and start from scratch so far - Lesson learned.

The next time you see this vehicle it will be complete. I'm planning to photograph it outside, in its natural environment off the blacktop and off-roading. It should be cool. I also have some plans to do a bit of video of it off-roading probably using my GoPro which I think will be a lot of fun. We'll see though - If it looks shit I won't show you, the video I mean.

For now I'm taking a couple days off from Lego-building to recharge my batteries. I have been suffering with a bit of Lego-fatigue in my back and neck from hours building plus I realised there's another injury caused by building Lego - Lego thumb! It comes from pushing pieces in with the thumb you see...Lego pieces...That's why it's called Lego thumb. Pretty obvious really. 😃

Have a great week ahead y'all, and don't forget to leave a comment here if you feel inclined.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

2 missing pieces from 2 sets is pretty rare. Could be worth double checking the corners of the bags to make 100% nothing is hiding and stuck. I've found this can happen fairly frequently.

Ah ok, I'll do so with the next stage of the build. I've been extra careful un-bagging the pieces though. Will pay extra attention. Cheers.

I love how Technics have got working parts XD Couple of days off is probably a good idea, it sounds pretty tiring. Maybe you need lower chair or higher workbench if you're hunching over it too much? ;D

It's definitely the work-space...Dining table. Just not at the right height. I'm relocating to my home office for the next stage. I'm over this Lego-fatigue and lego thumb issue. #1stworldproblems

Yeh dining table only works for LEGO builds if you’re a child then it’s about the right height 🤣

I'll have to build a Lego-building table out of Lego.

That’s beautiful 🤩🤣

Mmmmm this is one way to get hubby a Landover defender for Christmas? 🤔 And cheaper than a real life one I dare say.. 😂

He had one back in SA but we sold it due to moving. He's longing for one again though we won't buy in Mauritius as cars are hectically expensive here.

Well done on finding the missing piece. It is frustrating when one is busy with a project and that happens. Looking forward to seeing the end result!

Posted using Partiko Android

Way cheaper than a real one. I'm still taking it off-roading though. 😳

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Grazie mille.

It looks very complicated :)

The folks that put everything together, that imagined this set, are geniuses.

Good that you've found the missing piece.

Yes, it's engineered very well indeed. Quite ingenious.

It's coming together pretty nicely.

Yep, will be finished soon, maybe this weekend. Looking forward to off-roading it. 😊

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Simply amazing sir galenkp! How big is that thing anyway? I can't tell the scale of it. And how much does it cost?

Big. 45cm long, 22cm high and 20cm wide. When it's all done I'll take a pic of me with it for scale. One doesn't hold it in one hand though. Too big, too heavy. I'll include stats in the final post.

Cost? Cost me $270AUD. ($182USD)

Wow that's an expensive...I don't want to call it a toy! lol. If it's a toy it's an awful sophisticated one!

Haha, I love it. Big thing, but is like a dream to drive. 4.5L twin turbo V8...Just purrs along. I'd have a RAM 1500, 2500 or 3500 over it though. When I can afford one.

You have great taste in trucks!

Thanks...Saw one yesterday...(they are not common here) and fell in love again. To be honest I think a Ram 1500 would be sufficient for my needs. Said to Faith..."I'd ditch the LC200 for that." She agreed.

She's a truck girl. She commandeered my 1982 F100 a while back...Started calling it hers too. Cheeky bugger! 🤣 I should never have sold that truck. Loved it.

lol! You sold it to her?

No, of course not. We sold it to someone else and I regret it. She drove it all the time though and I had to get in early if I wanted to take it. She loved it. (We don't have separate stuff, only our stuff.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63