7 things I learnt this week

in #learnandearn5 years ago (edited)
As part of this prompt by @brittandjosie you have to think of and share whatever useful you learnt in a week's time, you can also check and participate here

D3ADBE65-4A3B-4822-8E85-64C16B60668A.jpeg

Here I tell you 7 interesting facts that I learnt in past week.

Body Sugar levels measured from left hand and right hand at the same time give different results

Oh this was a shocking one I discovered yesterday. So my Mother has been telling me that her friends' say she should measure her body sugar level using left hand as it would give less numbers. Whereas she has been telling me doctor always check from right hand. By left and right hand - I mean the blood sample is from left hand or right hand. My mother is a diabetic, yesterday I measured her glucose level using a glucose meter. This time we decided to see this left, right logic ourselves. Her left hand blood sample gave 302 as results and right hand gave 330. We were just surprised, not sure how can this be possible biologically.

Japanese Black pine and Juniper are toughest plants to grow.

The other day I read a post from a steemian in which he showed the process of growing his black pine, it was quite a process - very tough I must say. Then while talking to the steemian, I got to know, Juniper and Japanise Black pine are hardest-to-grow plants.

Cowboys take care of Cows not horses.

The way they show cowboys in hollywood movies is - They are cool guys with boots and hats riding horses. But in reality they take care of cows and for running errands they used to ride horses. This is weird, surprising at the same time, but also enlightened me to the reality. I am happy that I know correct information about Cowboys now.

You can never force someone to like a third person

My sister has been trying to make my mother like her husband and vice-versa. Th whole thing is a headache for me - a real bad headache. I kept thinking for a very long time and realized she cannot force someone to like a third person. It has to come from within and this is what I told her. The whole episode has been quite a lesson for me as well. The lesson is you can never ask someone to like a third person - it always has to be from within, otherwise you are just suffocating people.

Greece and Florida has house lizards as that of India.

Recently I shared a post on not-so-famous Indian house lizards here .I got to know from other steemians that similar kind of Lizards exists in Florida and Greece as well. Also Africa has Gecko creature as well which looks similar to Lizards.

What is a Dog marsh?

Marsh is a kind of grass and since people sometimes take their dogs for a walk on marsh ground, it is then named as Dog Marsh.

What is Hollow Earth Conspiracy?

Hollow Earth is an old concept which suggests that Earth is hollow, it has not been proven yet. But this is a ming boggling thing i got to know about from a story i read


Keep Calm and Steem On

The good times are back :)


Connect with me on Instragram



Communities I am part of

And Remember always

Sort:  

I love learning new things, and you taught me a couple of new things in this post (the blood sugar difference in left & right hands, and the lizards in Florida being like those you have in India). I think learning makes life much more fun! Thanks for sharing! 😃

yeah learning makes life fun. Happy that you found some of my sharing useful :)

This is what the contest was designed for, different levels of learning curves in life LOVE IT Thanx dor entering. I never knew that those two plants are the hardest i already have problems with flowers.
And that Earth conspiricy is a thing i read on steemit about and ever since i wonder .....
Again thanks for entering and i Will tell who won sunday after 22h
B

Yeah different curves of learning. Glad you liked it Britt :):)
I have one question for you. Your name Britt and Josie is one name or two names?

Two names first and middle hahahah

hehe Ok now I am happy that I have no confusion on the name :P thanks for responding to my weird question :)

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Great stuff that you have learnt here Vibi.
Good luck in the contest my friend!
Blessings!

Thank you Zac :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Ah I love this... amazing things to learn! The cowboys one made me giggle.

In northern Australia and in SE Asia they have house lizards too, called geckos... because they make a sound that sounds like GECK-OH, GECK-OH

Posted using Partiko Android

haha Geck-oh, geck-oh. Good to know some other regions also have house lizards.

First one might be time difference. They should be taken same second. And, on the other note, glucose level always vary so there is probably difference in different parts of the blood. Depending how much it is released at certain place.

I think its because of difference in different parts. Because i did almost a few seconds later, hmmmm.

There are some really interesting points there...

Yup JoeLai :)

Thanks so much for sharing these seven things you learned this week - that is a cool initiative!
Funny when speak about cowboys, I always took that as common place knowledge for I have relatives who are ranchers/cowboys plus it sounds like it is more prevalent to have real life cowboys here in Canada as to India.
That is so true that you can't make someone like someone as much as we truly would love to be able to do this it just doesn't work that way.
And that is so weird that you get different readings from one hand than the other. Makes you wonder how reliable those test are.

Yeah its a really cool initiative, chance to think and sum up the learnings. For Indian, cowboys are noone but someone we see in hollywood movies - stylish, riding horses and saving the world from aliens and weird creatures :P

Yeah the glucose reading one is quite shocking, I further search about it on google and found out that body parts has different glucose levels after someone suggested this in comments here. :)

Lol, the only thing I knew was the one about the cowboys. 😂
So that's six new things in 2 minutes. Now I only have to find the time to write a post 😉

hehehe yes, think about what you learned and write it, interesting exercise. :P

I used to drop by the original contest and left three things in the comments.
Truth is, I learn so many things every day, but I also have a very bad memory. 😂
So I should keep a notebook with me to write down everything I learn. But then again, it would have to be a very thick and heavy one, or it will be filled within a couple of days... and if i would do that, would have even less time to write posts...

(Excuses, excuses... I always have them, I'm aware of that 😉)

hehehe yeah maybe just put 7 interesting things out of those bundles of knowledge, easy peasy and write them down. :):)

Just wrote down a couple 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64