Galaxies of Hope /// Original art for @holoz0r's Lauralemons tribute award /// Round 2

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Project hope layers 2-02-01.jpeg

For round two of this contest the theme is HOPE. I struggled with this theme for some time, it sounds quite pessimistic but my art tends to skew towards expressing my darker emotions. I had to think for a long time about what gives me hope. Some of the topics that came to mind were family, friends, knowledge, and art itself.

Concept

Since it had to be a visual representation I was a little stumped in how to convey these things in a non cliché way. The final concepts I settled on were friendship/support and infinity. To represent my friendships and support network I used the symbolism of balloons lifting me up. The woman in the image is a quasi self portrait. The galaxy/space imagery represents the infinite support networks we all have access to when we are in need of a hand (or should). There's also something freeing about the idea of floating in space so I worked all these ides together to create this final surreal and dreamlike composition.

I've made a gif to show the various iterations of this image I went through before settling on the final product.

hopesmall.gif

Final Image

Project hope layers 2-02.jpeg

Thank you @holoz0r for holding this challenging contest: https://steemit.com/contest/@holoz0r/who-made-it-through-to-the-second-round-of-the-lauralemons-tribute-find-out-here

Sort:  

Hope floats, hope for a better tomorrow

Yes we should always hope for a better tomorrow :)

Thanks for your entry and your continued efforts for the contest. :)

My pleasure, it's been on my to do list all month :)

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @lovejuice courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-lovebot courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Great entry, Julia :)

Thank you Matt!

Thank you Kaylin ❤️

Congratulations, @juliakponsford, you're in the next round! Find your next artistic challenge here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58544.56
ETH 2629.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44