Re-cord your records from the cords of your accordance!

in #language6 years ago

Okay so check this out. I stumbled on a neat new etymology find the other night!

RECORD.. As part of its meaning it's believed to essentially mean memory and heart.

Re = restore and cord = heart.

"record (v.)
c. 1200, "to repeat, reiterate, recite; rehearse, get by heart," from Old French recorder "tell, relate, repeat, recite, report, make known" (12c.) and directly from Latin recordari "remember, call to mind, think over, be mindful of," from re- "restore" (see re-) + cor (genitive cordis) "heart" (as the metaphoric seat of memory, as in learn by heart), from PIE root *kerd- "heart." Meaning "set down in writing" first attested mid-14c.; that of "put sound or pictures on disks, tape, etc." is from 1892. Related: Recorded; recording."

"According" to that.. It sorta tells me that the word record.. Means we are focusing on something that's important enough to remember it.

Whether it's a photography, a movie, or words on a piece of paper or social media page.

That's cool to know as someone who has been heavily involved in photography movie making and writing!! Whenever I record something.. It's essentially coming from the heart and something I consider important enough to be remembered.

Also accord.

"early 12c., "come into agreement," also "agree, be in harmony," from Old French acorder "agree, be in harmony" (12c.), from Vulgar Latin *accordare "make agree," literally "be of one heart, bring heart to heart," from Latin ad "to" (see ad-) + cor (genitive cordis) "heart" (used figuratively for "soul, mind"), from PIE root *kerd- "heart." Compare concord, discord. Related: Accorded; according."

Which further moves into the word "accordance" which is a word used a lot by a lot of secret society members!

So that takes on a new meaning as well.. Pretty fascinating stuff.. I keep learning more and more new and interesting things about language. I love it. :D

Oh and one more before I go.
The word.. "terrific", lol.. It's used in a positive context these days! Like when something good happens.. But.. it comes from the word "terror" essentially.

"1660s, "frightening," from Latin terrificus "causing terror or fear, frightful," from terrere "fill with fear" (see terrible) + combining form of facere "to make" (from PIE root *dhe- "to set, put"). Weakened sensed of "very great, severe" (as in terrific headache) appeared 1809; inverted colloquial sense of "excellent" began 1888. Related: Terrifically."

So maybe next time someone says "terrific!" to you, you can joking respondl in a startled way and be like.. "What?! What's wrong?!". :D

It's crazy how some words have virtually reversed meanings like that! Another one that's reversed meaning significantly is "nice".. Now it means a positive thing, but it used to mean foolish!

"nice (adj.)
late 13c., "foolish, stupid, senseless," from Old French nice (12c.) "careless, clumsy; weak; poor, needy; simple, stupid, silly, foolish," from Latin nescius "ignorant, unaware," literally "not-knowing," from ne- "not" (from PIE root *ne- "not") + stem of scire "to know" (see science). "The sense development has been extraordinary, even for an adj." [Weekley] -- from "timid" (pre-1300); to "fussy, fastidious" (late 14c.); to "dainty, delicate" (c. 1400); to "precise, careful" (1500s, preserved in such terms as a nice distinction and nice and early); to "agreeable, delightful" (1769); to "kind, thoughtful" (1830)."

So likewise next time someone says you're nice, you can be like.. What the heck? No.. I'm not stupid, you're stupid! Lol.
Just kidding. I advise you prolly just go with the flow and not strictly adhere to more ancient meanings.

Language changes over time and as much as I try to remember and respect ancient meanings, I realize things change and people make new meanings.

Anyways.. I think that's it for now, it's been a while since I did an etymology post and that was a fun one. :D Hope you're all doing well out there! Bye until next time.

DQmRbrebCFZ5sNyiWRYWA8iPhB3trvtA8RMMxjq4WyZLFMq_1680x8400.jpg
Artwork credit - @yeszuzia on steemit and instagram

Also once again I'm posting this picture of my character apolymask cause I want to include a picture so this post shows up better in the feeds. This post has nothing to do with the IFC really.. I just like including a picture with my posts!

Sort:  

Hello @apolymask. To be honest, I've been using "terrific" as an expression and I didn't know that it comes from the word "terror" or from Latin terrificus "causing terror or fear, until I read your post. Now I have to think again, if I will be using "terrific", next time when I got excited. Haha.

Even though their meanings have changed throughout history, it is still good to know their origin. Your post wakes my mind up, this is very informative and educational. Thank you for sharing @apolymask. Looking forward for your next etymology post @apolymask.

Agreed! And glad to hear my post was informative and educational for you! You're very welcome for sharing. Language is a fascinating subject and it makes up so much of our world! The well spoken seem to rise to the highest levels of power almost as if by magic, perhaps they are casting spells on us with their "spelling" of words that turn into worlds for those who believe in them. The word write is very possibly connected to "rite" or "ritual" and a grammarian is said to essentially be a magician or a wizard.. So.. There really does seem to be something powerful going on with language, though I think most people kind of disregard magic as hocus pocus and something only in the movies, but.. I think virtually every word we say is magic.. And if other people are putting out nefarious spells with their words, we should try to put out positive spells that help enlighten and educate others. :) So thanks again for appreciating! Glad you found some value there. Cheers!

I totally agree with you my friend @apolymask. I believe that somewhere out there, in one way or another, there is "magic" in every word and connectivity with some kind of "ritual" from our ancestors. Words can either inspire you or destroy you, see how powerful words are. Yes, my friend. Your post is absolutely informative and educational, and more I really appreciate it.

I want to thank you again for sharing it with us @apolymask. Now I am following you, cant wait to see more of your articles.

#Thank you
#Nice to meet you

Well said. Thanks for the follow. You're welcome and nice to meet you as well! Also I'll check out your page and if I find something I like I'll give you a follow as well. Cheers!

Hello my friend @apolymask. Thank you for your professionalism and i can see a lot of passion in you.

I will see you my friend.
Thank you again @apolymask.
Have a great day ahead.

You're welcome. Thank you as well for the candor and kindness. Hope you have a great day ahead also!

Thank you my dear friend. You are welcome also. I am just happy I connected with you who's professional and see good in people. Please enjoy your day my friend. Take care. Cheers :)

That was nice of you to say. Thanks! And likewise. Same to you. :D

Good ones! It's an amazing study eh?!

Thanks! And yeah it really is. It's changed how I looked at the world a lot, mostly for the better. Things are a lot deeper now!

Nice photo

Please Stop

In your your last 100 comments you used 44 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 18 times. You've received 0 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 79.30% and Bot: 2.10%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Reply to this comment and I will auto upvote and resteem your post to my 36,000+ followers. @a-0-0

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65744.86
ETH 3466.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62