You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Re-cord your records from the cords of your accordance!

in #language6 years ago

Hello @apolymask. To be honest, I've been using "terrific" as an expression and I didn't know that it comes from the word "terror" or from Latin terrificus "causing terror or fear, until I read your post. Now I have to think again, if I will be using "terrific", next time when I got excited. Haha.

Even though their meanings have changed throughout history, it is still good to know their origin. Your post wakes my mind up, this is very informative and educational. Thank you for sharing @apolymask. Looking forward for your next etymology post @apolymask.

Sort:  

Agreed! And glad to hear my post was informative and educational for you! You're very welcome for sharing. Language is a fascinating subject and it makes up so much of our world! The well spoken seem to rise to the highest levels of power almost as if by magic, perhaps they are casting spells on us with their "spelling" of words that turn into worlds for those who believe in them. The word write is very possibly connected to "rite" or "ritual" and a grammarian is said to essentially be a magician or a wizard.. So.. There really does seem to be something powerful going on with language, though I think most people kind of disregard magic as hocus pocus and something only in the movies, but.. I think virtually every word we say is magic.. And if other people are putting out nefarious spells with their words, we should try to put out positive spells that help enlighten and educate others. :) So thanks again for appreciating! Glad you found some value there. Cheers!

I totally agree with you my friend @apolymask. I believe that somewhere out there, in one way or another, there is "magic" in every word and connectivity with some kind of "ritual" from our ancestors. Words can either inspire you or destroy you, see how powerful words are. Yes, my friend. Your post is absolutely informative and educational, and more I really appreciate it.

I want to thank you again for sharing it with us @apolymask. Now I am following you, cant wait to see more of your articles.

#Thank you
#Nice to meet you

Well said. Thanks for the follow. You're welcome and nice to meet you as well! Also I'll check out your page and if I find something I like I'll give you a follow as well. Cheers!

Hello my friend @apolymask. Thank you for your professionalism and i can see a lot of passion in you.

I will see you my friend.
Thank you again @apolymask.
Have a great day ahead.

You're welcome. Thank you as well for the candor and kindness. Hope you have a great day ahead also!

Thank you my dear friend. You are welcome also. I am just happy I connected with you who's professional and see good in people. Please enjoy your day my friend. Take care. Cheers :)

That was nice of you to say. Thanks! And likewise. Same to you. :D

It's my pleasure to know you my friend @apolymask. Have a wonderful day! See you around. Thank you again. ☺☺☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68