The mountains are calling and I must go. . .

Unfortunately I can't go quite yet. Although John Muir's line is a bit of a cliche these days it's also quite accurate. It occurred to me earlier today that a year ago I was camped out exploring Rocky Mountain National Park in Colorado, and I've been grousing about not being there since. I'd started to write a post about the park tonight but realized that was going to take more time and work than I was prepared to put in on a Friday evening, so this is just a sort of teaser for that post (I should have it done sometime this weekend, stay tuned!).

mountainafterrain1.jpg

Mountains after a storm

This shot was taken on Trail Ridge Road just past where US 34 and 36 meet. It normally storms in the early afternoons in the mountains but on this day we got a double dose. I'd driven into the park in the usual downpour but it cleared up just in time for me to set up camp. As soon as I had managed that, the weather decided it wanted another round and let loose with a proper thunderstorm. With nothing better to do I hit the road to do a little recon while I waited for the rain to slack off. Once it finally did I saw several rainbows and then came across this sight. It was a bit difficult to tell were the steam rising from the mountains ended and the clouds began.

Since I probably ought to save something for my longer post about the park, that's enough for now. Drop me a comment if you've been to the park, let me know what were your favorite part(s).

Sort:  

Its awesome. Take more photos. We want to see. @minnowhale

Thanks! I intend to!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-04T05:50:15
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 572.00/200.00
Total Photos: 88
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-nature" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59