Art of Knowing Yourself - Challenge

in #knowyourself6 years ago

I have been working on the idea of creating some challenge here on Steemit for a while now, and I always imagined it somewhat philosophical (surprised?! Me neither).

In one of the recent conversations, one of my friends here gave an idea to write one blog, and challenge others to do so as well. So that we can all see different approach to the subject of knowing yourself.

pexels-photo-774866.jpeg
Source

The idea came from old Greece, to be precise one of the writings on the Delphic maxims and was inscribed in the pronaos (forecourt) of the Temple of Apollo at Delphi, and it says (in translation):

Know Thyself

Later, something similar is said by the famous philosopher Socrates, I think he said it while he was on trial:

"The unexamined life is not worth living"

As you all know by now, I love philosophy, thinking and analyzing situations and life in general. But what I love more than anything is to analyze myself, my mind, thoughts and feelings. So, let's divide this challenge to three parts:

1. Why do you think it's important? (if you think so)
2. What do you know about yourself by now?
3. Nominations - challenge someone to do the same!

pexels-photo-248280.jpeg
Source

Of course, I will try to write it myself first, and here we go:

Why I think it's important to know yourself?

First of all, I want to be clear, I think it IS important. But I would like to see some other opinions on this subject. That's why I think this challenge could be interesting.

I, like many others, had some difficult times during my life, where it seemed like there is no way out. After a while, and a couple of those situations, I had no choice but to turn my attention inwards. And search for answers there, not in the outside world. I counted on the fact that the way I see the world is only my choice, and only I can decide what is the truth for me. If so, I thought it would be the best thing to bear it all and find out what is really there.

And there she was, one scared little girl, waiting for someone to protect her. That's when I started reading more on the subject, and really started to get to know ME, with all the good and the bad that came with it. In order to accept yourself just the way you are, you have to know what are you really made of.

What did I learn about myself so far?

That I make mistakes, and that it is OK to do so, as long as you are trying to do the best you can. I also found out just how impulsive I can be, rushing and judging situations and people before giving it a second chance. In the combination with my first discovery, that I make mistakes, this one came a little easier, we all make them.

I learned I feel the best when I say what I think, being careful not to hurt anyone's feelings, and my own. Being grateful and forgiving is the way I feel the best, and being the total opposite of what I used to be, someone who held grudges.

Who do I nominate?

Can you believe this was the hardest part? I wanted to hear so many of you, but we have to start somewhere. So let's hear it from:

@milosm2302
@alcibiades
@abigail-dantes
@dumar022
@nikolina

Let's hear (read) it guys, I can't wait to see what you are going to write, because you are all so unique and different.

But, I would like to read about everyone who is willing and interested to participate. Make sure you tag me in your post, and leave me a comment, so that I don't miss on it.

You can use knowyourself tag as well!

With love,
Tamara

Sort:  

This is something I'm also interested in, self awareness, self improvement and self discovery.
I will be happy to participate in this challenge, I'll share my thoughts tomorrow - this is perfect for Sunday, while drinking coffee, hehe.
Thanks for tagging me! :)

YES!
That is great to hear!
I hoped you would accept the challenge!

Hello @tamacvet, I am stopping by just to let you know it is my pleasure to accept your challenge :) I will be posting the answers to the questions you raised here next Friday! :*
Also, this was a nice read! :)

I can't wait to see your point of view! :*
Thank you for accepting!

hi miss @abigail-dantes , i was thinking of nominating you here when my friend @nikolina told me about this , then i read @tamacvet 's post and she already did , happy to see you here, i was actually waiting , me and my sister for your new post but we just realized, hey! she just daid every other friday , hehe

You are always so thoughtful 😊😘

This is an amazing idea for a challenge. People (like me) who are hesitant to talk about themselves can actually talk about themselves by using this as an excuse. XD Maybe I'll try to give it a shot. Knowing about yourself may be harder than it seems. Many times, we know more about others than we do about ourselves.

I feel the same when you said "using this as an excuse" and it really challenged me the MOST to write something about myself again after @surpassinggoogle's "Who Am I?" way back..

@smafey

Yep, it takes guts to open up if that's not in your personality.

Hehehe. I know right. Looking forward to what you have deep inside. :)

BTW, I made a quick scan to your profile. I got in loved with your drawings. :)

Started following you.

Also you may check #steemgigs , I can see you have something to offer in it. :)

@smafey

Thank you very much!! I'll do that. Although I don't have time to draw these days because of my exams next week XD

Goodluck to your exams!! :)

Oh, I can't wait to read what you have to say on this subject.
Be sure to tag me or send me a comment when you do write it, so I don't miss it!

Sure thing! 😁

What a beautiful challenge! I saw it on @bloodhound profile. I will see if I can come up with a post and tag you. I do believe that knowing yourself as one of the greatest gifts you can give to others. Understanding of self leads to an empathy for others.

That sounds great, thank you so much!

@wandrnrose7 I invited you to join the challenge.

Thank you for the invitation, I have thought about jumping on, I will have to see what my brain can come up with as it deals with the stupid migraine fogs. Much love!

I was nominated by @bloghound.. and i accepted this challenge open heart. :)

Here's my link. https://steemit.com/knowyourself/@smafey/art-of-knowing-yourself-challenge-accepted

@smafey

Thank you for joining us,
you wrote one great blog!

Thank you!

Those kind of simple compliment inspires Steemians like me..:)

@smafey

Thank you, @smafey. Challenge accepted!

This is a really cool challenge--I love “contests” on steemit that contribute much more to the platform than a bunch of spammy posts. This is going to create some beautiful writing and I’m excited to follow along (and perhaps submit something myself!). Thanks for creating this and see you around! @lilyraabe

I would love if you participated.
I got tired of "not so creative" challenges here, and decided to make one myself!
Thank you for reading, and commenting!

Absolutely! If I have a break in content-making in the next day or so this is happening!

This is awesome, Tamara! I just joined today too and I was invited by @zephalexia :) Here's my entry:
https://steemit.com/knowyourself/@bloghound/art-of-knowing-yourself-challenge-by-tamacvet

Thank you!
Going to read it now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42