Killer Pix Contest- Bees

in #killerpix6 years ago (edited)

Bee is the theme of Killer pix’s contest #38.

This is a bee on the chive blossoms in my backyard.


A27F5059-2E3A-4C34-80C4-F328E3D6A08F.jpeg


The bumblebee is carrying the pollen collected in the back legs. If you look closely you will see the small circle of yellow.

This bee is commonly known as the orange-belted bumblebee or tricoloured bumblebee. It can be found throughout parts of Canada and northeastern U.S.

It is a ground-nesting bee whose colony cycle lasts only one season. They have a complex social structure with a queen and a multitude of sister workers who work at foraging, nursing, and nest maintenance divided among the subordinates


B77E3E7F-9260-49BF-AC39-72464C3CA11B.png


Contest Info

Camera: EOS Cannon Rebel T6

Settings: f/2.5 1/1600 50MM ISO 200

Photo & Text @redheadpei.


F0E33BE1-23F2-4B8B-BDBD-068BF127059F.jpeg

#thealliance






The STEEM Engine



5E5D888F-442C-46CF-BE69-2DFFF11A20FF.jpeg

Sort:  

A mi me parece una excelente foto y un muy bonito detalle el de la abeja... Saludos desde Venezuela. #thealliance

Gracias Romano. Es bueno saber de ti. Saludos desde Canadá querido amigo.

I don't know what species it is, but that bee looks so cute.

Thanks @felipejoys. It is called Bombus terrariums but known as the orange-belted bumblebee.

Do you work in this field? Not everyone would know the exact species.

No but I’m always interested in nature.

I'll start investing a bit of time in learning this kind of stuff. It must feel right and good to know all these itsy bits about nature. I want some of that too.

Edit: Oh! No wonder I've never seen one of these. They don't exist in my country.

I'm not sure how so many of you manage to get good bee shots but I love seeing them! I think I have gotten one good one since having this camera.

Thanks Deb. I love seeing the bees and it is upsetting how few I see now compared to years ago.

Yay for bees! Love the purple chive flowers and the depth of field play there. Nice one!

Thanks Katrina. I’m glad you liked it. ❤️

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74