Magic Places - Westminster Bridge

in #killerpix7 years ago

Two weeks ago I already posted a photo of this crazy evening in London a few years ago. But it wasn't the only photo I took that evening, neither was it the only view of Westminster Bridge I photographed.

Today's article is once more fully dedicated to the wonderful Westminster Bridge. It's one of my favorite subjects to photograph when I'm in London. But it took me three visits to London to finally get the light I needed to capture it in its full grandeur.

Westminster Bridge is best photographed from the eastern bank of the river Thames, which makes it the perfect sunset location. There are nice views both to the left and right side of the bridge.

Westminster

The photo above was taken from the left side, facing the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. From there it was easy to create a dynamic compositions using the balustrade as a lead into the frame.

What's great about this vantage point is its proximity to a bus stop, just 100 meters down the road. This made it easy to time the busses rolling into the frame and include them in the photo. For those of you who are interested in some more behind the scenes information for this photo, I have a full article about how I created this photo available on my homepage.

Westminster Glow

As the strom rolled in I took another photo, just as Big Ben rang the 8pm bell. Then I had to run for it as it began to pour. Just beneath the location, from where I took the photos above, I found myself at another great viewpoint under the bridge. Shielded from the rain I was able to take this painterly photo of Big Ben.

Big Ben

But I didn't only photograph from this side of the bridge. On another evening I set up directly in front of the Dungeon. But be aware that you'll not be allowed to use a tripod there. As I wanted to set up mine a security guy came over and asked me to put it away. This is a problem you'll face in many areas around London, so it's a good idea to plan ahead and bring something smaller, which doesn't draw too much attention. With a mini tripod, which I put onto the balustrade, I was still able to take a long time exposure right before sunset.

Houses of Parliament

But you don't always need a sunset to photograph this bridge. The next photo was taken around noon. With the clouds moving across the sky the light wasn't too harsh and by using a Lee Big Stopper I was able to smooth out both the flow of people and the clouds to create this dreamy photo.

Westminster Classic

So now that I showed you my favorite view in London, what are some of your favorite views in London? Feel free to post your photos in the comments below.

instagram    google-plus    facebook    flickr    youtube

!steemitworldmap 51.486832 lat -0.125609 long Westminster Bridge D3SCR

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@jznsamuel Thanks for the comment. Sure you can promote this post or resteem it. I'm always glad, if I can reach a few more people with my posts. Also thanks for the tip with the ocd.

cheers

Congratulations, your post was featured in the ocd daily!

@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

wow! these are stunning shots

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #cityscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.85 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.17
Server time: 20:39:48
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 198.66/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.57 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mibreit-photo
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=magic-places-westminster-bridge


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Very cool pictures!!!

Those are beauties. That light and those clouds were awesome, and you captured and processed them to perfection. Best photos I've seen from London in a long time!

Thanks a lot. I was very lucky with the light and weather during that visit. The previous times I didn't get one portfolio shot at all ;-)

And you were able to take advantage of the weather marvelously!

Ha! I've been following you on here, not realizing that I know your name from other networks (500px, maybe?). I've seen your photos around before and been super impressed by the variety and quality. What you've shared here on Steem is just a teaser. Looking forward to the rest of your contributions!

Oh wow. These are amazing. You have some amazing photography skills.

Wonderful photos! I wish I could make pictures like these

Really gorgeous shots. Love those long exposures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74