Old Bridge - Sligachan - Isle Of Skye - Scotland - Original Photography

in #killerpix6 years ago (edited)


Fountain of Youth in Scotland


Legend says that if you can hold your head under water at the Sligachan River beside the Sligachan Bridge on the isle of Skye, Scotland for just 7 seconds, you will remain forever young and all perfections on your face will be forever removed! The water is reputed to have magical powers. I obviously didn't attempt it on any of my visits to this picturesque corner of Scotland!

The Old Bridge, Sligachan Isle of Skye, Scotland is one of the most photographed bridges in Scotland. Built in the 1820s, it is not really very old, but it is certainly very picturesque.

old bridge sligachan.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!
The Old Bridge, Sligagachan and Sgurr-Nan-Gillean (10/3/2016)

CameraCanon EOS 5D Mark II
LensEF50mm f/1.4 USM
Exposure1/160 sec; f/22; ISO 1250
LocationSligachan, Isle Of Skye, Scotland
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop® CC 2017 and Adobe Camera Raw


divider.png

Thanks to @juliank for the #landscapephotography contest. You can read about the rules here. Thanks also to @tattoodjay for creating the #bridgesoftheworld tag and thanks to @killerwhale for the #bridgesoftheworld contest this week!Read the rules here.


divider.png


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here: https://steemit.com/@photography-101 and Follow if you wish.


divider.png

#TheAlliance is a community of people from all backgrounds dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. Check us out! You can find us on the Discord Channel.

#Steemusa is a community of people from the United States or those living there dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. You can find us on the Discord Channel.dmcamera steemusa banner.png
#TeamCanada is a community of people from Canada or those living there dedicated to producing and supporting work on Steemit. You can find us on the Discord Channel.
TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest.png

Sort:  

Such a beautiful picture and I love that old bridge. Timeless.. Reminds me of the bridge in the Billy Goats Gruff... Lol 😁
Awsome picture dear! 🤗

Funny you should say that! I though about it myself too!

Who's that trip trapping over MY bridge?

OMG 😂😂hahaha
That is so crazy... That was just my thoughts to... Trip trap... Who's trapping over my bridge says the ugly troll 😉 lol
Your just Awsome and apparently we share minds today.. Lol

My kids loved that story! In fact I was reading it to my oldest son right before I left for the hospital to have my second son. I was kind of in a hurry, but he knew if I missed out even a word. He kept making me start over! Will never forget that!😂❤️

Awww.. That is such a sweet memory. Yes I know that feeling of not miss out on any words cause they know it by heart 😁😁hahaha
I read that story almost once a day for the kids at work, they love it.
Crazy you manage to finnish the story before your son came.. Lol
Have a wonderful weekend dear and stay as you are. Cheers! 🤗💕

I used to teach 5 & 6 year olds in England back in the 70s! They loved that story too, and some could read it, of course!

Some storys just never gets old and I love that 😊
Im sure you were an amazing teacher and the kids loved you.
Have a wonderful weekend dear and stay just as you are 🤗💖

Oh, you make my day with your sweet kindness. Teaching was my first career. It was so long ago now. Children were so much easier to handle then. ;-)

Lovely picture. I haven't made it to Skye yet although I've seen it many times from the West Coast of Scotland. I'll get there one day!

My favorite place in Scotland! Well worth the visit!

Wow! Stunning photography my dear friend @dmcamera! Congratulations

It's such a beautiful area of Scotland, that it's hard not to take a beautiful shot. LOL! But thanks very much for your kind words!

Love the old bridges like this

Awesome framiNg and shot

Thanks! I can't see a bridge shot now without thinking about the tag. LOL!

thats Cool I wish I could say the same but since I posted two not using the tag I am slacking lol

😂😂😂I forgot to put the tag in this one. I was too busy making sure I had #killerpix as the first one. Senior moments!!

Lol we all have them

Too often these days. I do know it’s because I have more going on than ever I did in my younger days! 😊

well I hope it’s good things going on for you

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks for the Upvote!

walks across bridge
sticks head in water
1-2-3-4-5-6-7
treks over field
heads up mountain

My imagination has wandered off again. Awesome photo! I want to go there one day. :)

Glad your imagination is working. Lol! The whole Isle of Skye is a magical place. I try to visit there about every second trip I make home to Scotland!

Great view. Good photo. Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50