Day 3, still raining, still hunting - - A few Photos to View - -

in #justbecause6 years ago

          Still raining after 3 days, still stuck on 2 for "WEEKLY AUTHOR" badge, even after 10 post in a row. Must be due to the times I have been posting, I guess I need to have a more consistent time that I post.

          So on with the picture show. Lets start with a look back to a crowning spikey sunset. I know for the purest in photography that I should have tweaked it a little bit to level the image, sorry, I just noticed myself that it was slightly tilted, okay well a lot tilted. I am glad this is not a photo contest entry that I really wanted to win with, because it would not win without a little tweaking. Like leveling the horizon to begin with.

          This was taken on the beach from the south side of the Kenai River dumping into the Cook Inlet. If we were to go there today, the picture would have a lot of people in it.. In February it is just to cold for people to be camping on the beach, and the mud is pretty frozen, so its not like you can dig for clams or anything, other than to enjoy the sunset, which we did.

Feb sunset panoed.jpg

          So since I started with a view of the Inlet, and the sunset, I may as well drive you down the road oh about 50 miles and let you have a non-sunset view of the Alaska Range and the Cook Inlet. This is the view from the biggest roadside pullout on the way to Homer, just past Ninilchik, and before Happy Valley. A very popular spot, and one that unless it is in the winter or the very early summer, with a strong wind, you are not going to get a picture with out people in it. I have a few but could not find them. So I selected this one to share. The mountain peak to the right is Mt Redoubt, an active volcano and it does blow up on occasion, and steams a lot.

          The second peak, (just before the small clump of bushes on the left), is Iliamna Mountain. It is also an active volcano. There is a lot of volcanoes along the Alaska Range. The image is once again not very professional, but I am still learning my camera. This is an artificial Pano shot. One image with the excess top and bottom cut out to make it look like a long pano of multiple shots stitched together. I am terrible at photo stitching, as you saw with my try in the Captain Cook Park photo.

pano AK range.jpg

          The Kenai Peninsula is a pretty scenic place to live. We have a lot of small lakes and they all provide for a beautiful picture. Here is a small lake close by to where we live. As far as I know it is one of the thousands that does not have a name. The people that live along or close to it probably have a name for the lake, but no name is posted at the pullout for the lake. Just a small nice pull out with a view to enjoy a snack or lunch in the car/motorhome, and have some thing pleasant to look at. A little bit of a breeze that day, but it keeps the mosquitoes at bay. It would be nice to get a good reflection shot from.

small lake close to home.jpg

          Almost August, that is good, and the reason no doubt for all the rain we have been having it is almost Mushroom time. These next couple of photos were taken with my Samsung Smart Phone last year, (pre cool camera). I like taking pictures of mushrooms. Don't ask why, I have no clue why I like taking their pictures, I just think they are pretty photogenic, and a subject that gets over looked sometimes. Kind of like dead fish bones on the beach, (yes I have some photos of skeleton fish, one is even a good representative of the steemit dead fish.), okay enough about dead fish. The mushrooms, two to view.

          A colorful red tinged guy, and yes that is the natural color of the mushroom, I did not tweak the color on the photo or anything like that. Just a slight red blush mushroom. I thought it looked pretty cool, and was a nice photogenic subject. My smart phone didn't do to bad of a job of capturing it.

red tinged shroom smart phone aug 2017.jpg

          Like the first image, I really do not know the names of the mushrooms, I just like taking the pictures. This group of mushrooms could be named pancake mushrooms because they look like just before being over done pancakes. A very nice toasty brown, slightly curled up edges, and bordered in white. Very neat looking mushroom. Both of these mushroom shots were taken at the Moose River Bridge boat launch area.

pancake shroom smart phone aug 2017.jpg


          Well it sounds like the rain has finally stopped, Hopefully for a little bit. maybe this will be the lucky post that makes it 7 in a row, but I think I need to keep trying until next monday, something about being a monday to monday badge. I'll think of a few more post to do. I still want to practice my fiction writing, so maybe next post a try at a short story. We'll see what tomorrow brings. I hope you enjoyed the photos.
This account protected by @dustsweeper
Sort:  

This badge must be a really hard one to get. I will remember if I try for it to post at a consistent time of day.
You live in such a beautiful place I love the pictures. But I know nothing about photography. I just point my phone and snap.

It, for me is a very hard badge to get, along with the one 4 post in one day. I just usually don't post that much. I have got those two badges twice, I am trying to get a number 3 under them now.

I guess it is the one years blues approaching, and seeing I don't have many of those badges, not even a quarterly type poster. I sort of like where I am at and what I am doing on steemit, I just feel I want to grow a little bit more. Become more of a provider, while still trying to be a user, commentator, and voter.

Alaska does have some beautiful places to take pictures of. We could use a few more roads to different areas, but I guess we have enough. I used my smartphone for pictures until I got my new camera, and am still learning how to use it., and then there is the learning how to use the photo programs too. which I just have a very basic understanding of. But I am learning. I do enjoy sharing some of the views I see.

I usually forget all about the badges till I get one and then remember to go look. If I ever manage more than one post in a day it will be because I left some in an editor for future use :)

You can send us some of that rain south! It's starting to get a little tinderboxy here in western Washington... the only thing green in our lawn is the dandelions!

Mushroom season! Yah... looking forward to that.

=^..^=

The rain is a pain, but so far a pretty fire safe year, though we still have August and September to make it through. So I amy bitch about the rain, but it was needed, I do not like seeing the High Fire Danger signs.

I just tried to vote on this but it wouldn't let me, bloody message popped up saying locked out..sigh. So first off cool post bash. I always enjoy flipping through your blog. Now onto the mushrooms, the pink colored fellow looks like a Russula Emetica though I can't be certain without examining it's gills. It certainly has the correct shaping and colouration and resembles a brittle gill from the top view at least. The nick name given to those troublesome little fellows is "the sickener" and well my friend.... it's kinda in the name. A bit of careless handling and you could be in for a wild ride praying to the porcelain god. The bracket fungus you put up a picture of I believe is a turkey tail mushroom though I could be wrong. Would need to be closer and see it's underside and gauge it's texture for a 100% id. Interestingly a lot of bracket fungus's like that one once boiled and dried can be used almost like long burning charcoal (horseshoe fungus for example) and we have loads of archaeological evidence that shows those tough little guys were used for just that in our ancient past. Once treated by boiling and drying they hold an ember for hours so fire could be easily transported from sight to sight without draining your energy to have to start a new one. Great pics btw. Always a treat to surf your blog. :)

Thank you, the locked out thing is because of pending payout. I think mushrooms are a great subject for photography, they almost always come out nice looking. I now know, or have a good idea of the names of those two, so thanks for that. It is almost time for more mushroom hunting pictures, they are just starting again, but need to wait for a nice sky day for the pictures.

Hello @bashadow, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you for the very generous upvote. I do appreciate the vote, and the comment. I will take a look at your magazine and your blog/post page, likely on Sunday. As a content hunter and commenter I am sure we will cross paths again. On a quick look your mag looks interesting.

Very entertaining post.

Thank you, As I finished the post the rain finally stopped, and hasn't started again yet. So keeping fingers crossed and hoping for a nice day tomorrow.

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-nature" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62094.48
ETH 2416.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56