#2 You Are More Than Who You Think You Are (SWC)

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

grafixart-grafixart_photo-533508.jpg
Image source

May God himself, the God who makes everything holy and whole, make you holy and whole, put you together—spirit, soul, and body—and keep you fit for the coming of our Master, Jesus Christ (1 Thessalonian 5:23 MSG)

AFTER I WAS BORN AGAIN, I was not able to go to church due to various reason. At the tender age of 13, a little girl from a small village, I had zero exposure to Christian culture, but God is not limited by church, in His own unique way, He started to teach me that my life is more than just my body and soul, that I have a spirit, and my spirit can relate in the supernatural realm that is beyond the limitation of my body and soul.

Previously I have shared how I encountered God, where He showed up in a wonderful way that totally changed my life. I had an instance impartation of peace and joy which beyond my mind could comprehend (click here). Today I am going to share with you another supernatural encounter that taught me God speak to me personally and in a very practical way.

Shortly after I became the follower of Christ, I lost my bank book. As usual I got panic, I imagined all my hard saving would turn to nothing (I was thirteen and naïve). Frantically I looked for it everywhere that I could think of, but just couldn’t find it. In desperation, I cried out to God from my heart, "Oh Jesus! Please help me to find my bank book!" Suddenly I saw a picture of my bank book, slipped in between two files flashed in my mind, and I knew that was not my own imagination. I knew where those file were kept, immediately, I run to look for the files and as what I saw, the bank book was in between the files. Suddenly I realized God can speak to me!

I used to be a person who easily got worried and couldn't stay still whenever I lost my things, I had to find them, if not I would not be able to focus on any other thing. After this incident, whenever I misplaced something, the first thing I would do is asking God for help, and He never fail to help me to find them. Through these processes, God taught me not to worry but to rest in His peace. At the same time, He imprinted in my heart that I has another faculty in me - my spirit, which is so powerful. My spirit can communicate with Him and is able to operate in a realm that is beyond this natural realm. My walked with God was as real as I literally have a friend who is always by my side, listening to me, answering me in ways that my spirit can perceive, but my mind was not be able to translate it in that moment because it had not been trained to do so. It took me many years to realize how my spirit works and how to flow with the Holy Spirit leading my spirit, and to be able to explain what I perceived into word.

Let me shared one of my many failures that I experienced while learning to hear God. One day, I was asked by my boss to help him to bank in some cheques. Usually I would go to bank by myself, but that day, I spontaneously asked one of my male colleagues to accompany me. He declined, and then a few moments later, as I was driving in the car with the same colleague, words just flew out from my mouth to ask that male colleague again to go with me to the bank. Again, he declined. After lunch, on our way back, spontaneously I asked him again (you must know, this is so not me. I am a very independent person, and I normally don’t ask for help in such a small matter). Again, he declined. I wondered why I kept asking him, I felt so weird, so I didn’t insist when he declined. So I dropped him off at our office and drove to the bank. When I get down from my car, crossing the road to the bank, a motor bike passed by and the passenger snatched away my hand bag. Suddenly I realized that God was hinting me to have a big size male with me to avoid that mishap, but I let my natural reasoning overruled His idea. A lesson painfully learnt.

But as it is written:
“Eye has not seen, nor ear heard,
Nor have entered into the heart of man
The things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” (2 Corinthian 2:9 NKJV)

There is a realm God want all His children to walk in it; this realm is beyond our natural reasoning and analysis. This realm is supernatural – above and beyond natural. Being a Christian for thirty three years, interacting with many Christians, I realized that about ninety percent of them are not supernaturally inclined. This is a real setback. We are a new creation in Christ where supernatural are our new DNA, yet so many of us did not tap into this realm. It is my heart desire to teach as many people as possible to walk in it. This realm is so awesome and powerful that it can help you to be the more than conqueror that the Bible promises.

My purpose of sharing this short stories is to cause you to realize that you are not a mere natural being, you have a spirit and soul that housed in your body, and your spirit has senses just like your natural man , he is much more powerful than your soul and body. In my future posting, I will share more on how you can relate with God with your spirit. I will end this sharing with another unusual lost and found story:

wesley-tingey-178030.jpg
Image source

One day I called my sister to catch up with her. In our conversation, I found out that she just lost her wedding ring. She was very upset as that was a new diamond ring that her husband bought for her to replace the old one. I told her not to worry, and I assured her that she just need to give me a few minutes to talk with God and God will help me to locate the ring. I put down my phone and started to talk with God, just a few second later God gave me an impression of where the ring was, the words “folding bath towels” flashed in my mind. So I called her back and asked her did she fold any bath towels that day, and asked her to look for the ring at where she kept those bath towels. She went and looked for it, and found her ring there. She was amazed and asked me how I knew it. I told her that I just had a chat with God and asked for His help to locate the lost ring. I got the opportunity to share with her that God love us and He care enough to talk with us and involve in our daily life.

Sort:  

Coincidence is God's divine appointment! Haha God is indeed awesome! :D

Thank you for sharing. In my comments, I am in no way trying to negate your message, I just have struggled in this area. In my life as a Christian, God's intervention is not as consistent as you have apparently experienced. I find it very difficult at times to pray for a lost item and expect God's intervention when many prayers for more significant issues like illnesses, jobs, etc. do not seem to bring about supernatural intervention - or at least it looks that way. How do I pray for a parking spot when a loved one just died from an accident - despite many prayers from many people. For me this is difficult to understand.

@space88 thanks for your sharing, you're amazing in God's eyes. I believe God want to upgrade you in this area that you find it lacking in your life. I can confidently tell you this is because He has love you with an everlasting love. My suggestion to you is try not to ask a why question : why this happened to me or this didn't happen to me. I have gone through those journeys and find no answer but misery. I've learn to ask God a what, how, when, where, who question. Like "God, what you want to be for me in this situation?" " How to overcome my problem?" Etc. My purpose of this short post is to remind and reveal that we are a spirit being, in my future post I will gradually coach people how to live by the spirit. My prayer for you is that God will open the eyes of your understanding to know Him and be let by Him.

嗯。說的很好。是“交托”使得神的旨意奉行在人間。說真的,有可能禱告了也找不到,因為那要找的地方可能令當事人尋回時有極大的危險。

I know we are more than natural, but I want to experience more in the supernatural. Thank you for writing this, it serves as a reminder to me that I am not merely natural human being. 😉

嗯。讀了你的分享,不能不同意禱告的力量。加油⛽。點贊送上。等等,你該不會是剛剛祈禱看有多少點贊吧。哈哈😄

Congratulations @loistss! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @loistss! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68094.05
ETH 3777.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71