Riders Of The Storm

in #italent6 years ago (edited)

The title of this italent post is tattooed across his neck. Meet, Yelawolf, my wife’s ‘other’ husband. I’m a big fan of his, too, “Guilty!” She’s probably into him just a little bit more than me. :wink: But she accepts my Reese Witherspoon thing (and the Tina Fey one!) so who am I to judge? And besides that he’s Yelawolf, he’s awesome, of course my wife loves him!

For this one I used a No.2 pencil (my favorite), a mechanical pencil (for all of the lettering, links in his necklace and his sunglasses), an entire arsenal of Graphite’s, paper stump for blending, A2 paper, white gel-pen (shine details and thicken his beard) and this image:

309E9181-4C76-43C0-9CED-6A233618AC94.jpeg
After

BD86245D-B1A3-4C1E-9B48-EA3711ED0678.jpeg
Before

I’ve never drawn a portrait before, this is my first attempt at it - Why not enter it in the italent contest at Steemit, right? I was leaning toward drawing my wife first but she’s been adamant about me drawing Yelawolf. shocker! So I decided to give it a shot. I chose Yelawolf for a couple of reasons; not just because I have enough intelligence in me to first acknowledge my wife’s request.

Also, It’s difficult for me to draw these days. My wife recently acquired another degree, the teach English abroad one, congratulations @puravidaville - iheartu all the time! That means we’re on pause again, most likely another 60’ish days, which means we have some free time and currently I’m imbalanced!

I set the pencils down a little while back - I didn’t even draw a cover image for the poem I did on Monday. When I draw I’m really focused on my task. That means when my wife talks to me or tries to get my attention, only to find me numb to her, it doesn’t go over well. So I tried drawing less and writing more - That didn’t work either. So this time I drew Yelawolf thinking ‘she won’t feel attention deprived this bla bla something, something something’ and that’s about as far as I got!
“Attention: @dandays, come in @dandays:”

28594388-470E-4FC2-9474-9D11EBF38F72.jpeg
tap.tap.tap

Remember back when I said we’re on pause for another 60’ish days? That means we have “60’ish” days together. Why am I so concerned with posting consistently?!?!

Change of plans! Rather than post every Monday and Wednesday, which I’m then promoting on @foodfightfriday, I’ll downshift and only promote one per week while we have this time together - Most likely Monday’s. Or maybe not Monday?? I’m not sure, I’ll figure it out when I get there.

Thank you @ivan.atman for hosting the italent Round 8 challenge. And a big shout out to @gtg and @curie for supporting the italent contest, steemit, newbies, curation trails and all of your stellar contributions - On behalf of the steemit community, thank you!

Here’s your Yelawolf drawing @puravidaville, I hope I captured him properly. Thank you for challenging me. You’re beautiful, below are progress pictures, I think I’ll do you next:

AC1C1F3D-351C-4410-9F74-D93D77460B7D.jpeg

8BC515D5-F2AF-4651-9A60-5A21F8F08BBB.jpeg

99683F0D-DE82-4670-A7A3-0330E59754B5.jpeg

A09187DC-4EA3-435B-A69F-2285518EB64A.jpeg

62AF4346-6320-4D17-BF04-DF0CDC4AD533.jpeg

2F0ED926-D157-4CAF-963C-300F052A9D56.jpeg

0C4A0AAC-B5FE-460F-A400-888C3B4E2298.jpeg

AFCEB63D-9A43-46EE-A003-903DE0B7BA77.jpeg

B7F80A7B-C1CF-446B-9EB6-715E33642802.jpeg

89C2DD0F-F1C8-4C51-9E22-78A550CD6943.jpeg

7A7D45B8-F321-4646-AD1E-8F64E221830F.jpeg
Creative Commons Attribution
License BY 4.0

Click Here for Monday:
2FEF792C-7A12-46DA-B11A-152828CE241E.jpeg

Sort:  

Amazing job @dandays and very original. I like the reflection on the sunglasses, you did justice with shading , and the framing with the broken line is awesome, the font as well spotless positioning :)

Man! Thanks for noticing, I really appreciate you taking the time to check it out and tell me what you think. And thanks a lot for hosting the italent contest for all of us.

Thanks a lot for stopping by @ivan.atman!

first attempt? damnnn...you nailed it bro! <333

Oh man, thank you so much! I took an art class for a semester once way back in 9th grade. I drew a woman’s face my teacher chose that was a drawing inside a magazine. She tore it out and had me draw a drawing.

Awhile back @edprivat asked me to draw an image for him but it’s just 1 dimensional, ‘cartoony.’ Those two aside, yes’ir, this is my first attempt at it. I’m glad you like it, it means a lot.

Thanks a lot for stopping by @thereikiforest!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

It looks dead on Yelawolf. I sure was goading you to sketch this perfectly and without hesitation you did not disappoint. Very well done babe! I had no idea you could do portraits. You know it’s cool when we continuously surprise each other and ourselves. Can’t wait to see how you capture me. Oh, and P.S. you are the best husband I know. Muah

First. Uh.. sorry your Upvote is worth less than @artzone and @thereikiforest, laugh out loud, that was an accident!! But it’s pretty funny

I sure am glad you like it! I didn’t know either.

Sincerely:
Luckiest Guy I Know.

Wow, first attempt?! That's amazing @dandays! And I'm sorry buddy, but I'm with your wife on this one...sweeeeet ;)

I curate for c-squared, they're an off-shoot of curie run by some of the same. They offer a lot of smaller upvotes compared to just one biggie, but the recognition is pretty cool, and curie keeps an eye out there as well. That was all very long winded for saying, I'm submitting this to c-squared lol

Thank you so much @lynncoyle1, I’m a big fan of c-squared! You rock! I know we’ve chatted several times but I guess it’s always been on @edprivat page. Hold up, hold up.. lemme get you penciled in, hold... got it! Followed. Now I can keep a better eye on ya!

As for agreeing with my wife.. No worries, oh trust me, I get it! :wink:

Thanks a lot for stopping by @lynncoyle1!

You are welcome @dandays! I love c-squared too :) And that's what I thought too...I talked to you at @edprivat's house a fewe times, but never actually visited yours and figured it was high time I did :)

yeah, how could I not agree with her wink wink

Super duper job bro !!! I feel that you started with the beard and just drew around it hahahah

I’m glad you like my friend! :Sh secret: I have 2 portraits coming up, when you see the one of @puravidaville, you’re next. And thanks a lot for the mention on your page, that’s a true competitor right there.

Thanks a lot for stopping by @edprivat and taking the time to drop a line!

No worry I love your work buddy !

I can't wait to see your next portraits !

Congratulations @dandays! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you @c-squared! I’m honored.

Nice Homie! Man you got some tats eh. Awesome talent you have...

Yes! I sure am glad you like it dude.

Oh ya, I got a couple 2-3 tattoos. It’s easier just to say “I have none below my waist.” Ha!

Thanks a lot for stopping by @weirdheaches, it’s nice to know I caught your attention with this one! See you in the kitchenarena (it’s a wOrd) sir!

really good portrait, @dandays ! the detailing is well done and the step by step is very well made :>

Thank you @veryspider, I appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to let me know what you think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51