Introduction post - I’m finally doing it !

F523E5F4-5AC4-4F92-8591-4774BAEA5169.jpeg
This introduction post is long overdue tbh!...
Hey there, I’m Jennifer. I am African, from Nigeria (west Africa) to be precise. Also live and work here. I am a 25 year old who’s currently studying for an MBA and work as a civil servant at one of the government agencies in the FCT (Abuja).
When I first heard about steemit, it really was interesting to me that there was this space where you could interact, learn and also turn your likes into money, I was wowed. I got to open an account in July of last year, skimmed through a bit, got scared and abandoned it lol. This is me now trying to give it another go.
Living in Nigeria as a young/mid adult is very challenging. In terms of finances, even though employed, one struggles very much to pay bills due to tons of reasons like inflation, bad economy, bad governance etc. so any opportunity we get to make some money here we grab it by the balls (pardon me). Honestly, the biggest motivation behind me coming back to this platform is to earn an extra income. I thought about how people often say the best way to manage income is by saving and investing, that’s correct but also when you live in an unstable economic environment, you know that investing is a heavy risk that you have 80% chance of losing your money. Saving on the other hand, could mean having to cut down on spending and reducing your quality of life just to save up some money. I didn’t want to go with just these options, I believe creating multiple streams of income is a better option and that is what I look to attain at least before the year runs out.

I am active on social media like twitter and instagram where I share a lot of stuff relating to my lifestyle, interests and all. I am hoping to do same here too. My other interests are- culture, music, arts, good books, and food. Talking about good food, here’s a photo of my own healthy version of the famous Nigerian jollof rice, some of you may have heard of.
40773229-0222-4ECC-B85B-F0059C996570.jpeg Let me clarify that, for most Nigerians, this ain’t it lol but I enjoy mine this way.

My contents revolves around living in West Africa, experiencing the good, the bad and ugly through my eyes ( I am not here to change any preconceived notion about Africa) I just want to be as real as it gets. So I guess it is safe to say - welcome to my steem blog!

I honestly look forward to interacting with many of you, also learning a lot more about BTC and much more and contributing to this amazing community. Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  

Welcome... back! 😍
I totally understand starting and getting a bit overwhelmed and just slipping away. Glad you're back to give it a go.
While it will be hard to organically 'start making the big bucks' quickly, I generally just think of steem as my savings. It's nice to watch it grow. 😍
Minnow Support Project upvote purple.png
If you are familiar with DISCORD come join us there! 😍
Minnow Support Project PALnet Discord

Congratulations @jennie.dan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi Jen. Oh, I love rice. That looks so delicious. Welcome to Steemit. I love Africa. Yeah, you are smart. Investment can be risky like you said.

Hey Joey, thank you very much for you nice comment. I look forward to interacting and connecting more often here. Yeah, there’s something so lovable about Africa.
P.S I just clicked the follow button

Very nice, Jennie.

Welcome to the Steemit community Jennie @jennie.dan!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Eight suggestions to consider:
1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain and steemconnect,
3. The master password is only used to reset compromised passwords,
4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and
be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own
.
6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once , and
7. When you open your steemit.com, in the upper right corner of the page there are 3 bars. Click on those, and then on the "welcome", and you will get a lot of reading material that will help you.
8. Do NOT open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Steemians available who can help you; you can click to go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy Steeming!

Thank you James. I appreciate.

Welcome Jennifer i am Britt
to the Steemit platform, Yes its happening you are a steemian now. I am warm welcoming you as a new user. And you receive this message because you used the #introduceyourself tag!

I was welcomed with good advice too when I started so here i am. I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming right now but don't worry. After a few blog you will be the best blogger and contributor.
If you have any questions just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have!
I may know the answer. But very important I recommend you to never give up any off your passwords they are yours ! Please for safety tips read and visit the white paper or read this blog by me https://steemit.com/community/@brittandjosie/4-o-clocky-steem-keys-key-to-your-succes-so-secure-them
To easy post use APPICS and to control your account use Steemify.
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and its Free.
It gives you insight on what is happening in your account.
Maybe great to join Steemterminal in Discord and visit @heyhaveyamet to See more newcomers onboard.
Here is what we do :
https://steemit.com/heyhaveyamet/@heyhaveyamet/meet-the-hhym-and-the-steem-terminal-crew-part-one-hhym
Good Luck, Have fun and I wish you loads of success on here! :)
GREETZ from Holland
Britt
https://discord.gg/pxBj9b
steemterminal discord invite
#cc

@jennie.dan, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator

Welcome to Steemit!! I hope you have a great time discovering the platform! Good luck xox

Thank you very much. I look forward to doing that. xo

I have a writing/ photo contest for newcomers with a bit of a reward, nobody has entered yet maybe it could be a nice bonus to get your journey started if you are interested.

Welcome to Steem jennie.dan! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30