#introduceyourself and and looking to connect with fellow creatives

Hi, I'm finally Introducing myself, and looking to connect with fellow creatives, entrepreneurs, and those interested in self-development and improvement.

Hello Steemit community, my name is Anthony Sunderland, but you can call me Tony, although I've often been called worse.
me.jpg

My Story So Far


I joined the REME corps of the British army straight from school - and boy, can I tell some stories from my time there that will make your hair curl @-) !

()

Image sourced from: commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:REME_Cap_Badge_1945.jpg icensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license. By Tfitzp [CC BY-SA 4.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], from Wikimedia Commons

I then served my apprenticeship as an electrician in a textile mill in LuddendenFoot. Difficult enough writing it; just wait till you try to say it. It would give the poor lass who had to type the subtitles for Jodie Whitaker nightmares.
The locals call it Lud Foot; and I can assure you, that's not an agricultural disease :-)
mill.jpg

SOURCE: Rochdale Canal, Luddenden Foot
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Paul Glazzard - geograph.org.uk/p/391753

My Big Dream

I was inspired to start writing sci fi many years ago. Who said no good came from watching the idiot box?

To be honest, I've been dabbling for most of that time, , although I have been to many workshops, classes, and conferences; here in the Uk as well as Sante Fe and San Diego, and helped a friend organise and run his comedy conferences and be his web master.

I've also written 3 full length screenplays, treatments for several others, several shorts, have design concepts created for a graphic novel series, and publish 4 novellas and 6 short stories on the Kindle; but I still feel like I've been playing about rather than being fully committed

Floored By A Serious Illness

I suffered a stroke in May 2017 that put me in hospital for a month, off work for 5, meant I lost my driving licence, and impaired my cognitive ability for many months.
hospital.jpg

SOURCE:

Calderdale Royal Hospital
cc-by-sa/2.0 - © Mark Anderson - geograph.org.uk/p/22940

What a massive kick in the butt.
I finally realise that there's no time to waste if I'm to achieve my dream of becoming the next Andy Weir, Hugh Howey, sir Arthur C. Clark, Gene Roddenberry, or the meister that is joss whedon.

I'm working on editing the Destiny's Daughter novellas I've written, completing season 1, plotting out future books, completing the epic sci fi quest series '59 and its spin-offs, writing the short story series 1st Contact Group, and novels: Saving CiCi, Breathe, The Button, The vault - and a spin-off series.

Also a horror script set around the LuddendenFoot area

Why I'm Here

I read a brilliant and informative guide to this site from Helen Doherty (@hopehuggs) and Jeremy kennedy, and after lurking for a few weeks and reading many of the excellent posts, I've finally decided to take the plunge.

Thanks also to George Donnelly (@georgedonnelly) for his invaluable advice and feedback.

What I'll Be Posting

My posts will be short stories or extracts from full length ones, book reviews, updates on my publishing journey, and current business ventures - after all, I've still got to eat and keep a roof over my head while I'm waiting for Mr. Bezos to send my royalty checks - along with extracts from classic self-improvement books and my musings on them

P.S. The songs for me that really talk about the heart, and art, of what it means to be a creative, and I think, really sum me up, are: 'This is The Sea' by The WaterBoys, and. 'I Am, I Said,' by the legendary Neil Diamond.

If you're not familiar with these songs, and why the hell not? have a listen then please reply to this post and tell me, and the community, what song(s) have deep meaning to you and why.

Sort:  

Good luck ebookwriter!
I look forward to read your posts here. Have fun ❤️
I have wondered for I while.. And one song came to my mind. It's "Society" by Eddie Vedder. It reminds me of a movie "Into the wild" and a boy who fought for freedom. He inspires me. I want fight for freedom too.
Greetings ❤️

Hi Carolina, I've just listened to "Society." and somehow it seems familiar but not something that would have caught my attention while I was busy with other things
The lyrics are very clever and the tune haunting. I think you'll like "Don't Give Up" by Peter Gabriel & Kate Bush. I hope you can spread your wings one day soon, soar away and fullfil your dreams.
Good luck and all the best,
Tony

Congratulations @ebookwriter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

welcome to the big Steemit family @ebookwriter

Thank you, it's good to be here
There's a real caring and sharing attitude

Congratulations @ebookwriter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This was your oldest post I could access.

I am linking to you, but I will be honest. I will not be reading many of your posts. When I saw you say that you will be posting excerpts from your stories, I gave up on the idea of doing much reading.

I need to immerse myself in the stories I read and reading excerpts would not do that for me.

However, I admire the effort you have put into your writing and I hope you live long and use that time to publish more stories.

My best wishes - and I'm glad I 'discovered' you...even if so late.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51