Who is the World Travel Pro? A Re-introduction to the Steemit Community!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Guayaquil truck.jpg

"What do you want to be when you grow up?" "Daniel, it's time to choose your major, what do you want do? The deadline is only a few weeks away, you have to choose a major now!"

That is when I dropped out of college at the age of Twenty. From a very young age maybe four or five, I always felt like this, whatever it was, was not for me. From asking permission to go to the bathroom, to being pressured into a career as a math teacher. I knew deep down this wasn't for me.

Instead of choosing a major, I bought a plane ticket to Seoul, South Korea. I had no idea where this would lead me. Before I knew it, I was making more money than I would have imagined teaching English under the table.
Dan with Korean kids.jpg

Working illegally on a tourist Visa, forced me to do visa runs every three months, I was literally forced into exploring neighboring countries, like Thailand, Philippians, Taiwan, Japan. I never did wake up one day and just decided to be the World Travel Pro. But 14 years later. This is who I am, and now I own it, and love it.

25 years old in the Philippians
Dan Phillipines.jpg

Along this journey of mine, at the ripe age of 22, I had more money than I knew what to do with. So based on the American Dream, or American cultural propaganda, and encouragement from friends and family. I squandered everything I had and buried myself into debt. To be cool, to be normal, I needed to do what was cool and normal.

So at twenty two years of age I took out a 30 year mortgage for 120k, put down most of my savings in a down-payment. I bought a five bedroom house in Orlando, Florida because every good American knows bigger is better! I had an in-ground swimming pool, a bar, a pool table, a Saab Convertible, a girlfriend with fake tits!

house.jpg

danpool.jpg

I was made in America! Living the dream. My Ego was riding high and so was I. Drugs, alcohol, sex, big screen TV's, parties that would piss off my neighbors. I had it all, and nobody believed I earned it myself at the age of 22.

chillen at night friends.JPG

Then the money ran out!

All good! I've got credit cards! That will keep me going! Like a good propagandized youth I thought "we'll I guess I should get a job" after all, I can't retire at 22. So I handed my life over to "The Mattress King".

I spent 65 hours A week with only Sundays off selling mattresses in Orlando, Florida. I was taking orders from an A-hole drug addicted boss. I had to rent out four of the five rooms, sharing my space with unpredictable people to maintain my mortgage, taxes, pool upkeep, house upkeep, utility bills, gasoline, car upkeep, car insurance, health insurance, credit card debt, keep the girlfriend happy, and much more.

I WAS IN HELL!

How things have changed! I now can fit my entire life into a backpack. I can pick up and go anywhere on the planet literally tomorrow!

Much more has happened between then and now. I finally got out from under the house after being underwater in my mortgage since 2008. I spent a total of four plus years teaching English under the table in Korea. I've had business successes and business failures. I was even a personal chef for 6 months!

I've bicycled over 1,000 miles through five countries in South East Asia. I've spent almost 3 years in Central and South America and have become fluent in Spanish. I've mountain biked from Quito to Cuenca, Ecuador; 500 klm through the rough Andes Mountains. I've spent time with indigenous cultures living off the grid. I've seen things and have become someone that I never would have, if I had just followed the herd, and stayed in Albany NY, where I am from.

Me biking the perimeter of Bali, Indonesia.
danbali1.jpg

My mountain bike in Ecuador.
bike.jpg

The Andes Adventure!
Andes bike trip.jpg

I've taught myself conservative investing strategies and money diversification tactics. I've learned how less is more. I've learned how to live a simple, happy, peaceful life. Most of these understandings have come through a combination of pain and suffering, and by observing those who have nothing (material wealth) in other countries; yet are some of the happiest people in the world.

Now I'm super excited to be a new member of the Steemit Community. I believe this is an awesome platform that truly does reward people who bring something to table. I'm a wealth of information and travel knowledge and I'm excited to share it with you all!

I'm destined to get some hate mail, and I'm looking forward to it. As some people simply can't handle the truth, and prefer to get spoon fed warm fuzzies at all times. I write and expose the real world as I see it. Not the world inside the confines of your cultural parameters.

After years of travel I have washed away much of the American preconditioning, and more or less have no culture. Do you remember being told to "line up", "Put your head down", "raise your hand", "Don't speak out of turn" since age five? How does that have an effect on you, still to this day?

Travel has taught me that every culture is different and there are thousand of cultures on this planet, cultures with-in cultures. To me the best part of traveling is learning from how we are all different, and how each region of the planet does things differently, and brings something unique to the table.

From this open minded perspective is from where I write. I'm not here on Steemit to brag about my travels and how awesome everything is. I'm here to open one mind at a time, and show the community that there is more to life than what you have been told. I will continue investigating the world, and will share it with others; even if it's not so pretty; even if it is a little uncomfortable. So come along and follow me on this journey. I promise you will not be bored!

Side Note:

I'm encouraging fellow steemians to ask me travel questions.

I'll be doing a series called "Travel Questions Answered".

Free consulting will possibly save you thousands in unexpected expenses, time, and headaches; and it's a great way for me to share my info with the community.

Questions will be turned into blog posts.

Some example question are below:

Besides air fair, I have 3,000 dollars. How, and for how long can I live in South East Asia?

I'll be traveling through Mexico, what are some strategies to prevent getting food poising?

Cuenca or Vilcabamba Ecuador for retirement destination; what are the pros and cons?

Compare: Vietnam VS Cambodia VS Malaysia.

Feel free to ask me anything you want! Just give me a little background of who you are and your situation, so I can tailor my response to what is best for you! I'll always give a straight and honest answer, and if I don't know I'll let you know that as well.

If you feel I'll bring value to the steemit community, please resteem and upvote. Thank you very much!

Bonus photos I set aside for this intro:

Dalat, Vietnam
Dalat Vietnam.jpg

Kuala Lumpor, Malaysia
where am I.jpg

Crator Lake Quilotoa, Ecuador
Quilotoa freezing my ass.jpg

Nagoya, Japan
Nagoya Japan.jpg

Ko San Road, Bangkok
Ko San Road.jpg

Seoul, Korea
Korea.jpg

Koh Chang, Thailand
Local Transportation.jpg

Camping in Tennessee
Camping in tenessee.jpg

Bali, Indonesia
Bali Monkey park.jpg

Sort:  

very interesting. Will be following you for sure and looking forward to learn a lot from your experience.

I ve sold almost everything and just started my travels and my life is fitting into a backpack as well. Currently I am in Thailand and will stay here for at least 2 more months. Flirting with going to Bali after but not sure yet. The plan is, to dont really have a plan.

Thank you so much or the nice comments. Great plan, no plan! Too much certainty in life, can make things dull. Regarding Bali, that's a good choice depending on what you're looking for. Cambodia offers a more economic friendly, and less touristy option. Both are culturally rich, but Bali has a serious tourist overtone, then they hit you with like a 40 dollar exit tax when you leave going through immigration!

Atm I want to make sure I can do Yoga or Brazilian Jiu Jitsu or at best both. So I ve already looked up a gym in Bali. I know there are some in Cambodia and Laos as well so I am not 100% sure yet, but this is future Tobis problem.

If you got the money and want the luxuries. I'd recommend Bali. But you'll spend at least twice as much during your stay. And flying there compared to a simple bus land crossing will cost you as well. I edited my response above. Might want to re-read the ending. You certainly do Yoga in both locations. Not sure if you'll find many sparing partners for Jiu Jistu these locations. Probably Thailand for that, they are big into kickboxing there, might be a cross over.

Brilliant post! You are wild, wise and funny! I LOVE when you learn that even dumb-seeming people falling for all the cultural spoils have hearts and souls and are just as deep as the monks on the mountaintops... your post really spoke to me as I have had the same experience... getting away from ones own cultural place for a while is brilliant, but completely uprooting and feeling like a true creature of everywhere is our true birthright - every person everywhere is truly our family, and so few ever feel it... however, with platforms like STEEMIT so people can build a reliable base of output and income means anyone can do what we're doing... and I always say sometimes you have to fly through the dark just with hope that trapeze will land in your hands.... it always does

Thank you so much for the compliments and encouragement. Everyone has a shining light with-in; it's just a matter of stepping out from the fog, the rain, and the darkness that has plagued us all!

so true! Stepping out of the matrix is the first step! You're helping more people than you will ever know

You've definitely enjoyed an amazing life, more ups and downs than the proverbial roller-coaster! Happy to see you've found your authentic self and are truly living. Upvoted and resteemed!

Thank you so much. You know you have been a big help getting me going on here. It's greatly appreciated!

Hey Daniel,

Thanks for sharing your ups (and downs) with us. As you can tell from our previous interactions, we see the world from very different perspectives, yet I think we end in a very similar place.

Case in point: You characterize the American Dream as buying a house, loading yourself up in debt, and doing things to be seen in a certain light by others. But the American Dream was originally the opportunity for people to create their own lives - to work in a field of their choice, to have the right to own what they create, to trade value for value and live a life of their choosing. And I think that's exactly what you've done.

Is it the life I'd choose? Nope. But the very fact that you have stayed true to the very spirit of the American Dream is what I like about you. It doesn't matter if I'd live my life the same way you live yours. I respect your right to do so, and I'm impressed at your resourcefulness.

As I've mentioned, I'm looking forward to our continued interactions - no doubt they'll be interesting!

Thank you for you kind insights. Yes we see the world quite differently, but with a mutual respect. Just judging by our profile photos it's obvious how different we are, and I don't fault or pass judgment. But it takes a wedding, Bar-Mitzva, or funeral to get me to put tie on! ha ha. Have a great day!

WOW! what a great intro ! Upped and Resteemed ! I cant believe your not getting more up votes , hopefully they will come now !! Glad to be also now following you , best of luck on Steemit and in life !! 👍👍👍

upvoted and reading it now :) thanks for your support too !!

Congratulations @world-travel-pro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41