I'm a storyteller

I started writing at a young age and published my first book, a travelogue about hitchhiking to India. when I was 21.

I moved on to creative writing but soon tired of the written form and moved on to storytelling where I could communicate with a live audience. Suddenly my stories came alive! The characters and plots were heard by the intended audience responding in real time and a story was never told the same way twice.

For me, storytelling is a very intimate experience and I hope that same fragile beauty can be communicated in the video form which is new to me. Talking to a camera lens is quite a different experience than looking into someone's eyes and is an imaginative process in itself!

Increasingly I also like to tell true stories that I come across in my reading and travels. I'll be sharing some of those here soon. If you don't want to wait you can already listen to them here.

I also love to write songs: sometimes funny and absurd ditties, sometimes homages to the beautiful and sublime. I look forwards to sharing them with you here.

I was introduced to Steemit by Mela Vie @melavie whose voice remains a total inspiration to me.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @tomthumb!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman


Welcome to Steem @tomthumb.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to the Steemit community! I look forward to following what you share.

Thanks a lot!

Seeing your post made me really really happy Tom!!! You are such an inspiration to me I am glad you decided to spread your magic here too! Welcome to the creative revolution of the internet!

Welcome to Steemit. I wish you success!

Thanks for the welcome.

welcome to steemit tomthumb

enjoy and happy steemit !!

I appreciate it!

Hi @tomthumb and welcome to SteemIT! Fellow storyteller here (though, i'm much too shy to do this in front of a camera, so I hide behind the keyboard). I like your perspective and the idea of further illuminating stories by adding a subtle element of performance to it (I've always enjoyed The Moth). Keep it up!

Yes, The Moth has some good tales for sure. I never come across many storytellers telling fiction for adults though - aside from mythology and folklore yarns. Do you know any?

Not familiar with a particular forum that serves fiction storytelling. I guess certain types of stand up comedy would be about the closest I've personally come to it. However, (and obviously) the medium is mostly limited to producing a specific type of entertainment (comedy) instead of focusing on eliciting wonderment, illusion, mystery, etc.

*Stories are where we allow ourselves to dream with our eyes open.. *

Wow. That's a powerful sentence. I'm going to enjoy hearing your beautiful stories. So happy to find you! Welcome to steemit! ❤️-serena

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46