It's time to say hi ๐Ÿ˜Š

in #introduceyourself โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steem people,

My name is Thomas and I am very excited to share with you my journey across this blue planet of ours.


Disclaimer: As an introverted person, starting a conversation is not easy. So here goes...

Documentary:

Currently, I am filming with a group of friends a cryptocurrency documentary which aims to educate people, like my parents and grandparents, on the current f* upped monetary system.

Our strategy is not to lecture but to relate information on an emotional level, as technicalities and big shot names will simply be ignored by the majority of people. That is why we are finding and interviewing amazing open-hearted and fascinating individuals which allow us privileged insight into the diverse crypto and anti-crypto community.


Sina Yamani, CEO of Lynqchain, a platform that holds digital assets and acts as a fiat gateway.

However, this documentary has become so much more than just capturing the venture capitalist, crypto evangelist, blockchain enthusiast, ICO CEO, analyst, trader, economist and the average Jo's point of view.

This is a human story, an emotional narrative of our species trying to obtain financial independence.

During the enlightenment period, we achieved separation between state and religion (supposedly), and now we are seeing the fight of separation between the state from the economic system.

Bill, 54 recently homeless due to break up with partner after 21 years of marriage interested in crypto as a way to break the rat race.

So much content is being generated that we are in the process of starting a podcast. I think I will start putting content up on DSound for two reasons:

  1. It's decentralized
  2. It's decentralized ๐Ÿ˜

Needless to say, some of the characters that we've met have led us down the conspiracy rabbit hole, and I've enjoyed it.

Journalism:

Moving on from this section of my life, I am also a freelance journalist that aims to help to re-root communities in our cities. I enjoy highlighting problems and presenting solutions to the reader, as I feel all too often we are left with an angrily crumpled paper in our hands but lack the knowledge to take action.

I want people to feel empowered and to be able to move forward, to better their lives. To feel the freedom and the power that comes with clear sourceable information. We are children of the internet, we have no borders.

Yoga:

Yoga has been a part of my life for the better part of 3 years now. I teach and enjoy practicing Hatha because I feel it compliments all the practices. I let my body tell me how it needs to be moved while my mind gets to observe silence. I find that starting the day with even 15-20 minutes of practice makes a big difference to me. Breathing is life.

My mind is my temple,
My thoughts are my prayer,
And my breath is my God.

By Samora Yeboah

Yoga wasn't an obvious choice for me, I tried it when I was 16 practicing Iyengar for a year and then Ashtanga. It was only after I sustained a pretty severe injury to my ankle, while playing American Football, that I felt inclined towards it as my whole life got toppled over. From wanting to become a professional contact sports athlete to then become a bedridden individual, my ego took a pretty severe blow.

I was expecting to become depressed, but unknowingly to me at the time this event became the foundations to my spiritual growth.

Traveling:

My latest trip has been India where I spent the first month doing my TTC in Rishikesh and later traveling down to Chennai. There are so many stories that I would like to share, and now that I have discovered Steepshot I will start uploading them there. Sick of Instagram...


View from Shri Kunja Puri Temple.

I love traveling, meeting new people and interacting with different cultures. It brings me back to life, it reminds me what humans really are and I get to share their stories with whoever wants to listen.

Whenever things are tough I always ask myself if my basic needs are met. When can I answer: "Can I breathe? Can I think clearly? Do I have access to clean water and to healthy food? Do I have a place to live?" then I know that whatever stresses me is completely frivolous made up by our frenzied society.

I am happy with less, but less doesn't help grow multinational companies that heavily invest in sickening marketing. Purging from materialistic thing makes me light and free, and that is another reason why I like to travel. You purge shit!

Food:

Becky (my girlfriend) and I are in the process of creating a vegan cookbook as we both enjoy being creative in the kitchen. Between my unorthodox approach to cooking, which is very much like let's see what we have, and Becky's outstanding ability to transform a few veggies into a delicious and colorful meal, I cannot see what could go wrong.

The main problem that we are facing at the moment, and it's a pretty crucial one, is the fact that often we eat the food before I can take the photo ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

Hopefully, soon we will be able to start cataloging recipes and photograph specific dishes.

So,

if you have been able to plow throw my brain splattered across this HTML page, stick around and please do comment and let me know what you think ๐Ÿ˜Š

I'm eager to connect with you guys!

all photos are taken by me

Sort: ย 


Welcome to Steemit @thomaskatan!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome. I'm glad to see you. Let's be friends

It's nice to meet you Thomas. Welcome to Steemit! I'm also new in here, and I can't wait to see more of your posts, just started following you, would appreciate if you would follow me back.

I have gave you a upvote and a follow, consider coming and doing the same back on my page, trying to work my way up here a bit and make my votes count for more. also have a few articles to come later today full of gardening tips, aswell as ewaste recycling old computers, and cellphones etc to be more enviromentally friendly.. i hope to be able to read some of these recipes on here in comin posts

Welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to reading more from you @thomaskatan !

thank you :)

Welcome thomaskatan. Enjoy the platform and just be yourself! :)

thank you

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Welcome to Steemit, its great to have you on! I can tell you will have a lot to contribute to this ecosystem!

This is a great community of content creators. Steemit has a bit of a learning curve. So try to have patience to understand the platform, how to format your posts, and optimize your payouts.


Here are a few good resources for new users:


Let me know if you have any questions as a new user on Steemit, I am happy to help! You can follow me at @ngans. I post a lot about neuroscience, psychology, health, and philosophy.
Neuroscience Student Pursues Steemit over PhD?!

thanks man! Some of those links I already knew, but others like the tax one didn't and are very useful.

Your content is very interesting for sure, however, I don't tend to follow unless I know I will actually read content simply because I have so much going on I need to prioritise time. I will forward your blog to some friends that I know will enjoy reading your posts.

Thanks so much! I appreciate the forwarding of my content! I totally understand, its better to follow fewer people that yo actually want to see than to follow everyone you come by!

Best of luck, let me know if I can help with anything!

Welcome to Steemit! You're documentary sounds fascinating.
Yoga is something I always wanted to learn and never new where to start from, it's amazing how you have a workout that is also spiritual. Looking forward for other posts from you:)

Hey thank you :) started reading your intro as I noticed you posted it last week. Couldn't agree with you more:

I have recently quit my safe high-tech job, because I decided feeling dead inside gets kind of old after a while, and am now on the journey of creating the kind of job that will allow me to live the life I want, and still have money for food.

Yes indeed!!! I wish you the warmest of success in your life. We can all be free. We can all stop working for money and start working for love. If I had more voting power I would have definitively given you a massive upvote, and to your cat haha.

Thank you!!! Rory (the cat) also appreciates the sentiment;)
We can definitely all be free- it requires hard works, but when you do work you love, it doesn't' matter how hard it might be.

Thomas! This is an amazing intro post! It has everything!
I think you're going to do well on this platform, obviously everyone is interested in Crypto... and maybe you should consider releasing it on DTube just to make a point?

Anyway, really excited about your projects and your blog! If you have any questions about Steem or the platform, feel free to hit me up! Happy to help!

We are definitely considering DTube, however, since we are trying to reach a wider audience (aka the normies) we are seeing if we can launch on a mainstream platform (i.e. Netflix, BBC, Youtube, etc).

Having said that, we do not want to lose our liberty to screen it and to distort the message - through alteration of the footage - just so we can fit it under the terms and conditions of such centralized platforms. So we shall see.

I appreciate the support man :)

Hi Thomas! This is an incredible intro post!

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-march-9th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

Welcome to Steem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58