Getting to know me.....

Ugh!

photo © Heather Johnsgaard
Where does one begin talking about themselves? I'm 97% introvert and 3% extrovert, it is hard to get me out of my shell... but, when you do, it's like the elusive owl "hoo hoo hooting" in the night; my brain never shuts off providing fodder for conversation, and you'll be saying to yourself... introvert my fanny!

I really wanted to be able to write something smart and witty about myself that will announce to the world "I am a genius and worth taking note of", but said wit has slipped away like that second sock in the dryer, where it goes, nobody knows... but as a zero waster I'll try to utilize what's left of that awesome pair.


Northern Skies
photo © Heather Johnsgaard
My life's journey has landed me miles away from my birthplace of Edinburgh, Scotland where pea soup fogs flood my memories, and it is an absolutely stunningly beautiful country, only to end up in the frozen north of middle central Canada where summers are short, winters are long, and yet, absolutely stunningly beautiful... yes, repetitiveness intended, because beauty is where we find and cherish it, and just being alive and free is the most beautiful place to be.


I haven't decided what I want to be when I grow up yet, I've been aiming for something awesome but have landed somewhere in the land of mediocrity.

Living in a small remote northern community does not lend itself well to finding work that A you like, and B fulfills all your dreams, but it doesn't mean you can't try. With that in mind, I've tried to be a legal secretary, a bank secretary, a personal banker, a program co-ordinator; I've taught computer courses, art courses and quilting courses, run my own store, created gift baskets, worked in marketing, have been a graphic artist, a layout artist, a web designer, and a publisher. I've volunteered on various boards, sang in the choir (contrary to self belief, I totally cannot hold a tune to save my life, but I digress), have been a volunteer wildlife rehabber, and I currently still run a small consulting/marketing/web/artsy business that I need to spend more time working at instead of gallivanting off to pursue the next "flavour of the moment" that interests me. Whew.... stop....breath.... I feel old!

I have now come to a point in my life where I feel the necessity to just do me and enjoy the ride for what it is worth.... happiness.

Happiness is priceless!!!


photo © Heather Johnsgaard
So, I while away my days creating art in many forms, writing stories, walking my dogs, cooking, taking awesome photos, and dabbling on the computer. Don't get me wrong, it's not all sunshine and roses, I do have to do housework and pick up doggie do do, and split and haul wood, and shovel snow, and mow lawns... yeah, I guess we can't always just have cake and eat it too, we have to throw in some broccoli once in a while (no knock on broccoli, I really do enjoy it).

Now, here we are, Halloween 2018, we had our first snowfall three weeks ago, so it's going to be an awful long winter. Which brings me to... what am I gonna talk about?

I have a lot to offer; so let me put the tea on the stove and watch the "Steem" swirl; I invite you to join me for a cuppa and get to know me better with all my quirks and eccentricities.... you might even find a sweet treat to go with.

See my needle arts on Facebook here https://www.facebook.com/ThistleworksDesigns/ ThistleworksBanner.jpg

See my artsy endeavours on Facebook here https://www.facebook.com/rockaDoodleArtist/ rockaDoodleBanner.jpg

Purchase my colouring book pages on Etsy here https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/rockaDoodleArt TinCanGlampersSm.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @thistle-rock
A warm welcome from me too here on steemit! For someone that is 97% introvert, that’s a great introduction 😉
When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com/ I’m sure it will help you find like-minded people.
Enjoy your stay here and don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!
cheers

Awww, thank you so much for the kind compliment @anonyvoter 🤗 it’s so much easier to “talk” behind a screen 😉

I will definitely be checking out the link and your offer to help, I already feel so welcome.

I don’t know why your comment just showed up on my feed tonight, and not before as did the rest, but I am glad I caught it 🤗 warmest thanks!

Pleasure mine!

welcome to the steemit platform

welcome to steemit !
As a newcomer to steemit following posts will be helpful to you. keep in touch with @steemread
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemread/how-to-monitor-your-steemit-upcoming-payouts
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemread/how-to-know-your-exact-reputation-in-steemit
I have just subscribed to your blog, please check out mine for a mutual relationship.

Thank you so much for the post links, I will definitely read them over and will also check out your blog, much appreciatedand thank you for subscribing 🤗

Just followed you, looks like we have some similar values in life. 😊

Thanks dear, yes we have some similar interests in life. Glad to konw you!

Hi, Welcome to the amazing world of Blogging and Sharing on Steem Blockchain. Make sure to post only Original content and avoid all kind of plagarism.
Keep your patience and faith to get success here. Also make sure to engage and contribite to Community development. Commenting is best part to get involve. Hope you have a happy stay.....Steem On!
Thanks
@steemflow

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you@steemflow! I look forward to getting involved within the community and cannot wait to see where this leads me. Thanks for visiting and for the kind welcome!

Just keep patience and keep up tue good work. Here you will find many supporting people all around that will help you to grow

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @thistle-rock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, this is a nice introduction post. The photos you have provided are quite exceptional. Welcome to steemit. Wish your bright and successful journey to this tremendous platform. Be a winner and have fun. Upvoted your introduction post. You can visit my blog @dindar
Have a nice time.

Thank you so much @dindar for your welcome and upvote.

I am an amateur photographer at best, which I would definitely like to improve upon.

I definitely need to learn the ropes, but I will definitely visit your blog.

I just followed you, your topics interests me. 😊

Welcome to Steemit @thistle-rock :)

Thank you, happy to be here.

Snowfall! That's beautiful, i'm from Argentina, and where i live the weather is not cold enough in winter so i never get to see the snow. Anyways... Welcome to the community!

Yes snow... the last two years we have been gifted it a tad earlier than usual. Normally we don't have snow till nearer Halloween (Oct 31), but Mother Nature has been naughty once again! I am sure it is beautiful where you live, and I hope in the near future to do some traveling, so I may yet see your side of the world. Thank you @johaserra for the welcome.

Congratulations @thistle-rock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to steemit @thistle-rock.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70