‘Sup Steem. I’m a Newbie, and I Know It!

I’m gonna be honest - I’m a newcomer to all of this. A couple months ago, blockchain and cryptocurrency simply weren’t in my vocabulary. I knew less about Bitcoin and Ripple and Steem, etc., than I did about particle physics.

9FDE008F-D134-4287-821E-9F5D4C7E850D.jpeg

And then, working on a project for a client of a media company I do some work with on the side from my main job, I had to start researching and creating content for blockchain- and crypto-related brochures, websites, and so on, and I thought, “Well, how can I hope to understand and write about it, if I have no personal experience and connection to it?”

C59088DA-28ED-40B6-8595-A237B9216AE5.jpeg

So, in February, I signed up for Coinbase, and Binance. Since I am hardly a rich man, I bought relatively small percentages of Bitcoin, Ethereum, Bitcoin Cash, and Litecoin. I figured out how to send (pretty easy), and bought some complete Ripple, Stellar, Cardano, TRON, and Verge.

I’d been learning as I went, as I’m sure a great many have, and then one of my friends - a big blockchain and crypto advocate - posted on Facebook about Facebook alternatives (the irony), and I found out about Steemit. It struck me as a familiar concept to “tsu,” an app/social network I joined a few years ago and then promptly never ever used beyond the sign-up stage. But, I could immediately see that Steemit went beyond “tsu,” and was (on the face of it, at least) a viable alternative to Facebook, and a more lucrative one compared to Reddit.

Thus, I have thrown my hat into the ring.

(Confession: I’d forgotten the name of tsu up until writing this)

I’m not sure what I’m going to regularly post about here, but I have a feeling that beer will play a role. Politics and social issues, too, since PoliSci was my major in university, and I’ve lived in some global hotspots (Israel, and the Korean Peninsula). I’ll likely opine on movies as well, because there is an obvious shortage of movie critics out there; I figure one more could really make a difference, y’know?

I’m also going to share some of my B&W photos here. Why not?

7487E206-C5BE-4A7A-8122-5DF81AC12669.jpeg

At times, I’m gonna complain about the weather (I already did in my first post, in fact). As a guy from Arizona, currently living in New Jersey after stints in the Middle East and Far East, I have some, um, thoughts about weather.

F03C8FE2-0150-46A1-9663-50626195602A.jpeg

I’m also going to post about my wife, and my relationship with her. My love for her is my fuel.

0422A949-A499-431E-9857-5323D29DDEFB.jpeg

If nothing else, I look forward to having a place to write semi-anonymously (away from the FB hordes), and see both the rewards and consequences of what I’ve written...which, I think, is a part of every aspiring writer’s dream, no?

Meanwhile, here’s a beer I liked recently:

5CC52B16-5F11-4195-A416-5CD232523C3E.jpeg

Sort:  

Great intro @theslavinator. Good luck 🍀👍🏼

Thank you very much. Appreciate it! 🤝🙇🏻‍♂️


Welcome to Steem @theslavinator.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Good Stuff, Welcome. Cant wait to see what content you will make . Have a great day

Thank you, happy to be here!

Welcome to this beautiful community, apart from giving you an upvote I give you a tip that is worth more: "constancy and honesty is the best way to emerge in steemit"

I’ll take that advice, and keep it in mind. Thanks!

Welcome. Wow, is that Peanut Butter beer? Tell me more about that. Added. Cheers.

Yeah! It’s an Imperial Peanut Butter Stout - delicious. You can’t really taste the peanut butter, except for hints of it. I think it mainly slightly sweetens the brew and offsets any bitterness. As far as imperial stouts go, this is one of the easiest and smoothest to drink.

Thanks for adding!

Wow you are a lucky man, your wife is really beautiful!! I was active on tsu as well. loved the family tree where you could invite people!!

Thank you so much! I think so, too. 😉 I certainly know how lucky I got with her!!

You just put my intro to shame man. I wish you luck and nice post!

Thanks, man! You think so? Good luck to you, too!

Welcome to steemit! I like your frist post and am looking forward to reading about beer ... ;-).

I have started with steemit a week ago and I really love it. The most difficult about it is to getting started. It is quite difficult to understand how it works and what to do first. I wrote a progress report with what I have learned so far. So maybe it can help you to jump ahead ;-)

Progress report - Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

Best regards,

Achim

Thank you, I’ll take a look! Cheers!

Nice Post dear. Welcome to steemit and enjoy your time here.

I have followed you, follow me back to be getting up votes from me on your future posts. https://steemit.com/@nwanne

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58006.10
ETH 3098.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43