This is Post number 3 in Introduceyourself: @swissclive. I'm steemit's most gorgeous writer. (Part 3 of 3)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My daddy is quite old. The photo below is of mummy. Compared to daddy, she looks quite new. I think daddy must have bought her on AliExpress, but that was before I was born, so I don't really know.

My name is @swissclive. I am only 9 months old, and I can't write yet, so daddy is typing this on Steemit for me.

This is the third and last post on the intrduceyourself section. If you haven't read the first two posts, you can link to them below:

Introduceyourself @swissclive Part 1
Introduceyourself @swissclive Part 2
Introduceyourself @swissclive Part 3

Daddy

Daddy’s job is to count the gold bars in one of the Swiss mountains near our cave. Everyday, he starts counting them, but he never finishes. There’s just too many. “there’s gold in them-there hills”.

Sometimes I help him count them. We squeeze the gold with nut-crackers to make sure it is real. You can see me helping below:

IMG_4608.jpg

Daddy is passionate about technology. He is following all the latest developments. He told me that he was one of the first people in Switzerland to use email. For years he could only send emails to himself. Everyone thought he was a geek and that email would never catch on.

Buzzwords bockchain and decentralized.

Now he’s using buzzwords I barely understand. It seems that everything is going on the “Blockchain”, - whatever that is.

His latest buzzword is “decentralized”. He says that Steemit is decentralized. He says it could take some business away from other blogging sites like Facebook.

Steemit pays you to post. The other sites, like Facebook and Twitter pay you nothing. All you get is advertisements you don’t want to see. Steemit has no ads. It sounds pretty good to me. Why would I post on Facebook and get paid nothing?

Like daddy, I love technology. This is my technology pet. It eats dust and goes "beep" every time I touch it.

IMG_4504.jpg

IMG_4509.jpg

IMG_4513.jpg

IMG_4516.jpg

Comment spam

Daddy wants to be part of the Steemit community. He wants to encourage good authors and discourage spammers. He hates “comment spam”.

Daddy says “If you like a post, an up-vote is usually sufficient unless you want to join in the debate. Comments like “nice post”, “great”, “awesome post” or “good” can be perceived as spam, particularly if similar comments are repeated across several blogs.”

Bots

Daddy is also against most bots. There are a few good ones, like @Cheetah. The vast majority are just there to milk the reward pool at the expense of humans. Daddy suggests it would be better if most bots could not participate in the rewards pool. By excluding them from the rewards pool, it would encourage more meaningful human dialog in the comments section.

It seems odd that some low quality posts have received hundreds of “up-votes”, but only about a dozen page-views. Most of those votes were on the Blockchain. The blogs were never read. That kind of behavior doesn’t encourage the best bloggers to keep posting high quality content. Quite the opposite, bloggers then go for higher quantity and lower value articles that give them short-term profits.

7 Day rule

Another bee in the bonnet of daddy is the 7 day rule. You only get paid for 7 days after you have written a blog. That just seems wrong.

If I was to write a book, like “Harry Potter”, or “War and Peace”, and it was still selling 20 years from now, I would still be being paid by most publishers. If the publisher were Steemit, I would only be paid for 7 days. It’s not worth the effort. Why would I bother?

I am sure that many aspiring authors avoid Steemit because of the seven-day limit on rewards.

Why is daddy on Steemit? Here are his answers:

“I love the expression of interesting ideas and stories. I enjoy very good blogs. Most other blogging sites spoil the experience with their annoying ads and pop-ups.”

“I like power being handed to the trusted users to curate the quality of blogs. The voting system could be improved, but it is better than none at all.”

“I enjoy writing. I like to share my ideas and fun moments with everyone.”

“I am very interested in technology and crypto-currencies. I want to share my views and learn the views of others.”

“I pledge to uphold the value of Steemit for all serious users”

“I will take whatever action is within my power to encourage responsible behavior on Steemit.”

“Whilst I tend to give warnings, rather than down-vote or flag, I won’t hesitate to take action against those who don’t heed warnings or those who look like they are trying to scam others”. By doing so, I hope to limit the damage being done by scammers, spammers, and those who are here to game the system.”

“How will I behave? I will write interesting and original articles. I will avoid plagiarism and comment spamming. When commenting, I will follow these rules:
• Find posts that are interesting to me.
• READ them
• Upvote
• Leave a relevant comment – No spam comments, like “nice post”, or “awesome”.

“I won’t beg for up-votes, nor engage in bribery of similar “you scratch-my-back and I’ll scratch yours. I will never reward anyone who asks for it.”

“I won’t resteem anything, but the most outstanding blogs.”

“I will follow those who write blogs I find most interesting. I won’t follow for the sake of it or randomly”

I sincerely hope you can welcome my daddy and me to the Steemit community! we are here to make it better for you all.

This is post number 3 out of three "introduceyourself" posts. If you haven't read posts 1 and two, you can click on them below.

Introduceyourself @swissclive Part 1
Introduceyourself @swissclive Part 2
Introduceyourself @swissclive Part 3

IMG_0425.PNG

Sort:  

Hey young man,
You seem to be pretty bright for nine months old, very good communication skills I must say. Not sure what level you are reading at currently so you might want to have your dad go read the "Steemit terms of service" . I believe you might be 12 years and 3 months shy of the minimum age requirement.
Surely he would not want you to disregard these terms, he himself said " I pledge to uphold the value of Steemit for all serious users."
You might suggest to him to get his own Steemit account and suspend using this one until you reach the age of 13, then you can fire away without having to have him type for you.
I'll let you in on a little secret, those gold bars might have something to do with closing the age gap between your young mummy and your old daddy. I could be totally wrong about that, but it has been known to happen.
Have a great childhood and I look forward to visiting with you when you become a teenager.
Until then,
@sultnpapper

Yup, as a 9 month old baby, I appreciate that my communication skills could be ahead of the curve. Whoops, I didn’t realise I was below the age limit. Could they ban me? I think Facebook also has a “teenager” limit. That may explain why so many Facebook users were seemingly born in 1900. Kids mostly aren’t that good at deducting 13 from 2017.

Finally I see faces, dear friend, this publication has been spectacular, your wife and your baby are beautiful. Congratulations, you have a beautiful family.

I read the three parts, and I liked it very much, I see that you are a serious person and you know what you want, and part of it helps others and that is very good, thank you for sharing part of your life and your family It is very good to know you. God bless you. 👏👏😊

Welcome to Steem Community @swissclive! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello Welcome to Steemit wish you best of luck ! Glad to see more people like you

welcomedubai

Through all the satire you complain quite a lot. So what do you intend to do about your points, monetize complaining by posting everyday how steemit should change the rules?

Three complaints: spam comments, bots, 7 day rule. Yes it’s alot of things. And I have other things not mentioned that you may agree with. What would you change, if anything?

the 7 day rule, but complaining does not change anything, it needs to come from witnesses and devs

Heyhey! I saw that you have been on here for some time but I thought I'd say hi nevertheless. Have one upvote from me and full steem ahead!
I know how hard it is as a fresh account so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

Hi Swiss,

I have read your comments about improving steemit voting system. We at utrum.io are working on an open source, community project. It will be a rewarded platform for crowdsourced crypto reviews. Please do join our slack. We love to hear your ideas for improving our platform. We are working on whitepaper for now. Thanks. Sri.

Hey , How are you ?
welcome to steemit @swissclive
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55