Hello Steemit! My introduction, photographer and online business owner from Sydney Australia

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey what's up Steemit!

My name is Steve Arnold. I'm new here, although I first heard about Steemit some time ago. I'm kicking myself for not diving deeper back then. But I'm here now!

IMG_8146.JPG

Sorry for the stupid mugshot. I'm a photographer, but not very good in front of the camera.

My girlfriend and my dog are both far more photogenic than me. I'll add a pic of them below.

So about me... I'm a photographer and business owner. My business is teaching photography online, which I've been doing since 2013.

Before this I was a software developer with a 2hr commute each way every day (which sucked) but the good thing that came out of that was the opportunity to brainwashing myself into starting my own business by listening to heaps of podcasts and audio books while I travelled. It's probably a cliche, but the 4 Hour Workweek is what really set my mind racing at the possibilities.

Fast forward to now. I have a membership website where I teach photoshop and photography, and I have a collection of one-off courses too. I also have quite a large email list of photographers who receive my regular updates and tutorials.

I'm not sure if its cool to link out to my various websites (for anyone interested) but if you google my name + photography, or +tutorials, you'll find me.

Anyway, once I'm up and running figuring out how Steemit works, I'll be spreading the word among my community of subscribers and customers because I'm certain heaps of them will love it - once they find out about it!

So I'm living in Sydney, Australia - been here for 9 years so far. I spent the first 29 years of my life in the UK where I grew up.

I remember the day I told my parents I was applying for a visa and their reply was "you've always said you wanted to move to Australia"... Which was weird, because I don't remember ever saying it. But I guess I must have, and it must have been a deep desire if it kept resurfacing.

I moved here with my girlfriend Sonia, she's originally from Slovakia.

2 years ago we had the first addition to our family... Our dog Archer :-)

He's a Boxer cross American Staffy. And he is a very good boy...

Here's a pic of all three of us:

What else...

Oh yeah - Sonia and I got heavily into Crossfit 1 year ago. We've been going 4-5 times per week for pretty much the whole year and have seen awesome results so far. People ask me if Crossfit is like a cult. My reply is usually "yes - but the good kind!" lol

That pretty much sums me up at the moment! lol

Photography, family, crossfit, business.

That's pretty much what my life revolves around right now.

It's pretty freaking awesome if I'm honest. The 4 hour workweek really was a turning point. Not so much the idea of working only 4 hours, but the concept of "Lifestyle Design", where you start with the end in mind. Think about how you want to spend your days, then create a life (i.e. income) that supports it. For most, this means starting an online business. It wasn't easy to get to this point (it took me 2 years of trying before I made ANY money online), and it's still a challenge every day, but it's one worth taking on when it means you can be home spending time with the ones you love all day.

Before I sign this intro post off, here are a few of my favourite photos I've taken over the years:

cronulla1.jpg

I took this one at my local beach (Cronulla) in Sydney's south. I stole Sonia's idea to use the umbrella LOL.

glenorchylagoon.jpg

One of my favourite places in the world, Glenorchy, New Zealand

godafoss-selfie.jpg

Another one of my favourite places, me, Sonia, Sonias brother, and two friends from Sydney, Dex and Luke, after just arriving at Godafoss in Iceland... A very different scene than what we are used to shooting in Australia!

icebergs.jpg

This one is from an incredible beach in Iceland where glacial ice bergs literally break off, drift out of the lagoon into the sea, then wash up on the black volcanic sand beach. Unreal.

milsons point.jpg

Let's finish off with a classic shot of Sydney's Iconic landmarks... They need little introduction.

Thanks for reading! I'll see you in the steemitosphere!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your great introduction post! We can see that you're enjoying this community! Good luck and steem on!

Thank you @extremeromance, awesome concept for your steemit name/blog, I'll be following! :)

Oooh, nice photos! My sister also moved to Sydney from Ireland and has a husband and dog (french bulldog... they nearly went for a boxer though)... they are however waiting for the next Homo sapiens addition to the family in April so I guess I'll have to go visit and see my new niece/nephew. Here's my own intro. I'd love to hear more about your journey to working online and reducing your working hours, it's something I'm thinking about for myself after I finish my current course, not really keen on going back to 9-5 working hours. Welcome!

Hi @kate-m - thanks for connecting! There's quite a contingent of us "imports" down under, something about the weather I reckon lol!
A new addition to the family seems like a great excuse to come down and visit! I'm the same with my sisters kids back home.
A few people are mentioning they'd like to hear more about the working online stuff so I'll be sure to write about that, hopefully to inspire folks like yourself or to spark an idea that gets something going for you.
See you around the steemits! Cheers :)

Of course Steemit it itself dangles that hope of an online income, so I guess it's natural for Steemonians to start dreaming in that direction - would love to learn more from real people's experiences like yourself!!

Hey @stevearnold,

Good introduction. Rather late than never. I also feel like I'm a bit late to the party. Joined in October and started working it in November. Steemit is just over 18 months old. So think we will be ok.

I'm also in the routine of exercising 4 - 5 times a week. Mainly gym with a mix of resistance and cardio training. I've been thinking about giving this crossfit thing a go. Interested in mixing it up a bit...

Anyways, welcome to Steemit. Steemit has lot’s of potential. As a newby you must have some questions. I know I did. I created a few articles as I went through my learning curve. For a fast start you can check them out at:

Hope this helps. This is it from me for now.

As a fellow Steemian
Thanks for being here.
You're awesome and I look forward to seeing your content …

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Hi @shaunbeingsocial, thanks for the links - I’m heading over to read them now :)
It’s definitely worth giving crossfit a go. It’s the only thing that’s ever stuck for me (til now ive been the typical story of unused gym memberships and yo-yo’ing weight and fitness. Sounds like that’s not a problem for you but CF is a good way to mix things up!

Follow me and send SBD 0.001 with your post url as memo

Welcome onboard, Steve. This was a very detailed introduction, enjoyed reading it. That's a beautiful picture of you with your girlfriend and your dog Archer. Follow some established authors here to quickly learn and grow with the community. If you need more help then join Steemit.chat and join the #help channel, you will get all the help you need there.
Amazing photography! I loved it! Keep sharing more such post. Have fun Steeming.

Thanks heaps @firepower, still learning my way around - thanks for the link to steemit.chat and #help, seems like a great place to start!
Cheers! :)

what a great introduce yourself post!!

Welcome, and you will have a ball here.

Your photos are beautiful as is your lovely family!!

If you don't know about this https://www.steemnow.com/ you should. Check it every day and make sure you have 90 or above voting power before you vote on things.
plus it gives you a ton of other information. You just change your name at the upper right side.

Hi @snook! Thank you very much for your nice comments :)

I've seen the steemnow site but didn't really know what I was looking at before, I'll definitely take a closer look now.

if you have any questions I will try and help if I can!! or at least send you to someone that I know knows the answer :D

It's a long learning curve so the easiest thing to do is post what you want and enjoy the ride and when you have time figure out all the rest as it will come when it needs too :D

Hello Steve welcome to steemit. I am excited for the future of this platform when I see introduction like yours. Good luck in here and I will follow your blog you are an amazing photographer.

Thank you Mihail for your very kind words, I’m glad to be here :)

I am sure the steemit community will recognize you very soon especially if you active. There are great photography community in here. And If you blog you will be even more successful. You have what to say there also great freedom and entrepreneur comunitys in here. Good Luck!

Archer is adorable! Welcome! I hope you enjoy it here, with you on the better behind the camera than in front haha :)

signature.png

Thank you @amavi lol yes I’m lucky to have such beautiful things to photograph!

Welcome stevearnold, hope you will have a great time here on steemit!

Thanks very much @lopezdacruz! Off to a good start :)

Welcome to Steem. Good luck.

Thank you! :)

You're very much welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60380.95
ETH 2623.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55