My introduction - a little late.. but here it is.

Me.JPG

Hello everyone,

I live near Manchester in the United Kingdom and am not your typical blogger, being an older guy.

I am however a computer freak and spent my misguided youth growing up in the 1980's, enjoying the home computer boom that hit my homeland and teaching myself to code in several languages starting with a ZX81 1k computer.

Today I have taken that knowledge and applied it to my career and am an independent software engineer. I do work away from home quite a lot as my knowledge is in a niche area and only applicable in large companies.

I love music, but not the pop charts of today (maybe it's an age thing), and especially Progressive music and more pointedly.. I'm a die hard fan of Steven Wilson and his old band 'Porcupine Tree'. I really can't understand it why these guys never made it as big as bands such as U2, the sheer quality of the music from solo artist and band is astonishing.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Porcupine_Tree
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steven_Wilson

I also love the card game 'Magic the Gathering'. This is something I picked up while living in Phoenix, Arizona for two years in the 1990's.

For the uninitiated it's a pretty geeky card game that is a mixture of Poker and Chess with a strong fantasy element. It never quite got in the mainstream but is now mature at 24 years old.

I love crypto-currency and especially airdops.. I mean what's not to like, its' free crypto!

It takes just a few minutes to sign up for one, join Telegram, retweet on Twitter, like on Facebook, enter your public Eth address and that's it! If the coin ICO comes to nothing you have lots a few minutes of you life... that's all.

https://airdropalert.com/

I have wrote article on Airdrop Alert on my blog.. be sure to have a look.

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@slobberchops/airdropalert-com-exclusive-airdrops-are-these-the-cream-of-freebies

I'm married to a Filipina lady so have some connections to the Philippines, namely Bacolod, Negros Occidental and Manila.

Why are you using a silly name 'Slobberchops'? Well that's a long story and one for another day! However you can find me on the PlayStation network with the same name.

I have not been a member of Steemit for long but the things I have learned in my short tenure are:

  1. Your wont get rich here, so don't expect to.
  2. If someone upvotes you and you earn some crypto, consider this to be a side benefit. The real point of Steemit is to write interesting informative content.
  3. Be original, just let us know about your life, pictures, cool interesting stuff.
  4. If you like something, always upvote. I will always upvote good material.
  5. Be patient. It takes time to build a following on Steemit. You wont get a lost of attention to start with, just persevere.

Hope to connect to lots of you.

Signing off, Slobberchops.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @slobberchops!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Yes, I love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hi @slobberchops how are you? Really nice intro, i love it ! I would like to connect with other cool and creative steemians, artists and musicians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Hi @communicasound, I will keep an eye on what you are blogging, thanks for the comments!

Same here, glad to connect with you and i also look forward to reading your next posts. Peace.CS

Your publication has made me think, we are here to write interesting things and we will not become rich here, is correct, but there are some differences between cultures that will come to enrich our humanity

Hello saulus, I agree there are huge differences between cultures on Steemit, but that doesn't really matter to me.

My wife is from the Philippines and I have seen what it is like there compared to the UK. I have stayed at her mother's house that is considered 'the province' and there's a lot you can learn from a place like that.

Be happy and share!

welcome to steemit where all the interesting writing will be get the rewads

I will surely try!

Hey 😀🙌 welcome to steemit! Enjoy your steemit journey

You can follow my blog @jofomaja on how to do creative marketing even here on steemit

I promise I won’t waste your time.

I am glad to welcome you here on steemit. I do hope you would enjoy this social media platform as much as we do. It is true that you would not get rich here but somehow it is able to build different communities as a lot of whales or the big shots support their cause.

I am glad to know that you too are willing to support different content writers here by giving your upvote sir. Enjoy it here!

Thank you @gailbelga, I like your work and can see you put a lot into it. I'll be following you as my wife will surely be interested in what you have to say :)

Oh thank you sir. I followed you back as well. Enjoy Steemit! 🙂

Nice intro, welcome to the funny farm ;)

Welcome to Steemit Slobberchops. You'll find lots of friendly people around here. You raise very important points towards the end. The quality of content is the most important thing.

I do think you could get rich but it would be with hard work and talent. ;-)

Thank you jrej, great cartoon by the way. I'll get my daughter to look at these, should loves this kind of content.

It's never too late for a nice introduction like this, so welcome here ^_^

Thank you @silviabeneforti, I see your are from Italy. I have been to Venice and plan to visit Milan this year around maybe April or May. I do like my city breaks :)

If someone upvotes you and you earn some crypto, consider this to be a side benefit. The real point of Steemit is to write interesting informative content

Yes! Totally agreeing to this! 👍👍👍

Hello and thank you for the welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60562.69
ETH 2903.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34