Introduction Mark 2 - A Taswegian adventure to the Gold Coast

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

So it has been only a week or so since I joined the world of SteemIT and only a few days since posting my introductory post. Now in my haste, excitement and newness, I posted something very inadequate and, in hindsight, a little embarrassing. After getting some fantastic advice from @krystle, I have decided to give it another shot!

My name is Scotty J and I live in the awesomeness that is Australia. Growing up on a small island south of the Australian mainland, Tasmania (insert two-headed jokes here), provided me with a small town grounding and sense of community, which is probably why I am drawn to SteemIT to connect with like minded people and share ideas.

tasmania.jpeg

Why-cant-any-crimes-in-Tasmania-get-solved-Because-there-are-no-dental-records-and-everyone-has-the-same-DNA-.jpg

I grew up in a family of six, me being the oldest of 2 brothers and a sister in a small town on the North-West coast of Tasmania and it is here that I caught the surfing bug.

Image10003.JPG

After gaining a tertiary education in Zoology and Geography, and meeting the love of my life, we decided that Tasmania wasn't big enough for the two of us and left the confines of the 'Apple Isle' and headed to bigger pastures on the 'mainland'.

We travelled up and down the East Coast of Australia in our little yellow van, following in the footsteps of many backpackers and grey nomads, stopping in towns such as Hay, Wagga Wagga and Nimbin (well maybe not so many grey nomads heading to Nimbin) without an agenda or a care in the world.

177. Toyota LiteAce Van.jpg

scan0045.jpg

We picked strawberries on the Sunshine Coast, but the Queensland sun was too strong for our pale Tasmanian skin, so 3 days of hard labour was all we mustered on our east coast adventure. We continued to drive north until the tarmac stopped at Cape Tribulation where we swam with crocodiles (unknowingly) the beach and fled the water once we knew what lurked beneath.
scan0036.jpg

After a few months of adventure, we turned around and headed south to find a new place to settle and call home.

After spending some time on another island, Bribie Island, we decided to give Brisbane a go and setup shop in the city centre in Kangaroo Point. After a number of different jobs, I decided to head back to university and follow my heart to become a teacher. After teaching across the areas of Biology, Geography, Mathematics, ICT and Business, I discovered a passion for using technology to enhance education. This is something that I plan to devote some time to here on SteemIT, hopefully sharing ideas, making new connections and enhancing the education of students across the world. I hope that I can spread my sphere of influence through this platform.

We spent 7 years living in Brisbane before following our hearts and heading back to be closer to the ocean and moved a little further south to the Gold Coast. We had previously visited the Gold Coast on a different trip from Hobart on old CB900 motorcycle (that is a different story for another time). We love the beach and the ocean and as surfing is a passion of mine (which you can see in some of my posts so far: Empowering Women in Papua New Guinea and Surfing in PNG) it was the logical place to settle down. We bought a house that needs some tender loving care so I like to get into some DIY around the home. (As I write this I am waiting for the rain to abate so I can finish installing a new window)

510414739.jpg

So, in a nutshell, I love family, travelling, surfing, guitar, sharing, connecting, educating and hopefully making the world a little bit better for somebody every day.
Two beautiful daughters and 22 years of a loving relationship later and here I am, sharing a little bit of myself with you.
IMG_8263.JPG

I hope this second attempt at introducing myself outstrips the first effort. Thanks for taking the time to read and learn a little about me.

You can follow me here for more articles: @scooter77

Sort:  

Welcome fellow Aussie, that meme is a classic, thanks for that it gave me a good laugh. Cheers

Glad to put a smile on your dial. Thanks for reading!

I'm still having a bit of a giggle. Cheers

Welcome from a fellow Australian! Found you through the teamaustralia tag

Thanks for reading.

Great post and great to have more Aussies posting.

Thanks. Appreciate the read

wonderful introduction... 😊

Thanks. The first effort was not great!!

Welcome to Steemit Scotty. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

Cheers and thanks for reading

You are welcome to steemit! A great community to be part of.
BTW, you both look cute.
Feel free to check out @GLOBALFOODBOOK

Welcome to Steemit, scooter77!

Here's a short page of links that will help you find answers to the basic questions people have about Steemit.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@doule/a-steemit-faq-especially-for-newbies-the-most-helpful-pages-start-here-and-get-up-to-speed-fast

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you like it as much as I do. I'm following you to know you better. Feel free to connect with me @lulita 😀

I do like your intro … nice one … future posts are been waited so hope for you the best in this new & challenging environment. I like writing/posting about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life to science and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/nice-island-beautiful-beach-lots-of-aquatic-sports-to-do-still-the-best-part-of-the-trip-was-been-in-family-all-together

https://steemit.com/steemit/@indepthstory/i-was-almost-convinced-but-what-happened-what-on-earth-is-going-on

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/rio-de-janeiro-is-one-of-those-items-that-must-be-placed-in-the-bucket-list-and-one-day-definitively-visit-we-did

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my upvote tick for the welcome, and of course hope you will tick on the follow link .!!

Txs. & Rgds.

@indepthstory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67749.41
ETH 3262.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64